We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Searching for Moose.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Lakes Helicopters

Southern Lakes Helicopters
79 Lakefront Drive, Fiordland National Park 9640, New Zealand
03 249 7167
Improve this listing
Type: National Parks, Tours, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Based in Te Anau we offer an array of exciting helicopter experiences to areas often inaccessible to most.Options include sightseeing, heli-hiking, photography, hunting, fishing, boat charters and personalised tours catering for families or small groups. Our dedicated team is committed to providing all our clients with a truly memorable helicopter experience to see all the World Heritage Fiordland National Park has to offer.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Searching for Moose.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

The perfect end to a seven week New Zealand trip. My daughter and I, joined Southern Lakes Helicopters for a 90 minute scenic flight “Searching for Moose”
Departing Te Anua Lake front we travelled across Lake Te Aua and then over flew New Zealand most beautiful lake, Manapouri. From here we flew to Supper Cove in Dusky Sound. It is here that 6 females and 4 males where released on 6 April 1910. We then traveled up into Moose Lake, Herrick creek, site of the last confirmed Moose sighting 1952. Landing beside the lake and we spooked a red hind and landed for a walk and look around. Trail cameras are positioned here in the hope of a Moose sighting.
What an experience and insight into a bit of New Zealand history coupled with a great scenic flight and perfect pilot guide, thanks Rod. All in all a highlight give it a go!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLHELI, Front Office Manager at Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent helicopter flight. We appreciate your comments. We have loved for you to see a moose - maybe next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    0
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A sensational view over the lakes and mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

A friend who was travelling around New Zealand with us surprised us with a 35 minute helicopter ride, 'Mountain Magic', over the mountains and lakes of Fiordland. It was absolutely spectacular. The mountains are so much more complex, in their range and quantity of peaks and the hidden lakes, than you can ever imagine from the ground. We were nervous about landing on the top but our pilot instilled so much confidence and had so much experience that we were soon eager to get out and explore. I took some great photos. The trip was worth every penny of the $320 per person and had non stop wow factor.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLHELI, Front Office Manager at Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
It was our pleasure to show you the spectacular mountains and scenery of Fiordland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gouda, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fabulous Flight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Today's Doubtful Sound flight was unforgettable! Stunning views all the time, excellent commentary from pilot Rod, and absolutely amazing in general to see such a beautiful place from above. The flight (60 minutes), was scenic from the start, with two stops in between at places you'd never have seen if you'd gone on one of the walking tracks or on a boat cruise in the area.
Amazing, amazing, amazing. Go do it if you can.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLHELI, Front Office Manager at Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We appreciate your kind comments and are pleased to hear you had a great time on the flight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durango, CO
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I went on a tour of Doubtful Sound today & it was by far one of the highlights of our time in New Zealand ! From beginning to end, our experience was wonderful. Mike was our pilot and we can't speak highly enough of what a thoughtful, kind and incredibly knowledgable guide he was. The booking was easy and we were able to get a flight on pretty short notice. After touring the Sound we made our way back to the Luxmore Hut where we got dropped off and then hiked down to Brod Bay. Southern Helicopters had booked a water taxi to pick us up and we got down *just* in time to meet it and get a lift back across the lake to Te Anau. Overall, a WONDERFUL experience with this company. If the pennies are in the budget, definitely go for it!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLHELI, Front Office Manager at Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments, we appreciate you taking the time to post your review. Really pleased to hear you enjoyed the flight.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bribane
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I will be back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

I had planned to take a flight from Queenstown, but when we arrived it was way to busy for my liking, so we headed to Te Anau. Weather was bad, so I had figured a flight would not be possible, but put an enquiry through thanks to the kind folk at Te Anau top 10 holiday park. I wanted to fly milford sound, and do a glacier landing among other things. The staff at Southern Lakes Helicopters were more than accommodating and made a flight plan to suit both weather and my requirements. In the end, we scored perfect weather. Our pilot was Michael, who provided a great commentary and displayed an excellent knowledge of the area. We got a nice surprise on the glacier too (I wont give that away!!)

During the flight, we passed over the most amazing glacial lake. I was so impressed that I am going to make plans to come back just to visit the lake. Hoping to get a charter with Southern Lakes Helicopters from Queenstown to Te Anau sometime in the near future.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLHELI, Front Office Manager at Southern Lakes Helicopters, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Glad we were able to organise your flight to suit, and pleased you enjoyed the treat on the glacier! We look forward to meeting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Southern Lakes Helicopters also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
Fiordland National Park, Southland Region
 
Milford Sound, Southland Region
Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 

Been to Southern Lakes Helicopters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Lakes Helicopters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.