We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Milford Sound

Milford Sound
Fiordland National Park, New Zealand
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Special Offer
$189*
and up
Queenstown Super Saver: Milford Sound Nature...
Type: Outdoors
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
87 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Recently visited New Zealand with Princess Cruises and after two days at sea Milford Sound was a welcome site. We arrived shortly before 7am and as the sun rose over the mountains the granite lit up and it was an amazing experience. Dolphins followed us and the waterfalls were running and it really was a breathtaking experience

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    23
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shawnigan Lake, Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“GoMilford tour to Milford Sound from Te Anua or Queenstown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We had a delightful and informative trip to Milford Sound with GoMilford. The tour group is limited to 15 persons and Rhys (or Rees) the driver we had was very friendly and informative. The tour included a 3 hour cruise, a substantial buffet lunch aboard and entry to the underwater Discovery Centre, a most marvelous natural aquarium. Great value for the money!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“A good day out - if you fly there and back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was my third trip to Milford Sound, all done as flight package with Glenorchy Air from Queenstown. I've heard stories from others who have visited Milford Sound and found it shrouded in cloud and mist but I've been lucky every time and had mostly clear sky and sunshine.

The boat itself, on this trip The Pride Of Milford, is a good size, with plenty of seats and tables inside and free coffee. The cruise to the ocean and back takes about two hours. On the way you pass a number of waterfalls. The biggest is Stirling Falls in to which the boat noses in. The first two times I did this I got just a light drizzle on me and some great pictures. This time was a soaking and a run for cover, so best stay on the upper deck and a bit more rearwards for better photos. You may also see basking seals and penguins. On one trip we had dolphins cruising alongside the boat for some time.

It’s a good way to spend a couple of hours

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
43 attraction reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

I took my camer can along to this absolute beauty of a spot! One of the signature postcard places of NZ. It was fabulous, infact it was just awesome!

The drive along is pretty interesting too, you can stop off at various places and find out how the place was formed and their is a story of a guy at the end who made this place his home!

One of my favourite places in NZ!

Defo worth a visit!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Milford Sound, New Zealand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

One of the main attractions that draw visitors to New Zealand, this is a spectacular area. The drive there is worth the trip by itself, but nothing surpasses the boat tour out to the Tasman Sea. You will see waterfall after waterfall all the way out, some you may even get to experience a little close for comfort - take a good raincoat & keep your camera dry,...don't worry, the Captain gives you lots of time to prepare. You will also see sea lions sunning themselves on the rocks.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Milford Sound also viewed

Te Anau, Fiordland National Park
 
Milford Sound, Southland Region
 

Been to Milford Sound? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Milford Sound, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.