We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay in self-catering cottage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kepler Mountain View

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fiordland National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kepler Mountain View
130 Hillside Manapouri Road, Fiordland National Park 9643, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay in self-catering cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We had a lovely stay in the 'cottage' in the grounds of the main house. When we arrived, Jesse made us feel very much at home. There was a small terraced area outside the cottage, and a BBQ was also provided. The views from the terrace are beautiful as the light (and rain) changes so much.

The cottage itself was very comfy. There is a double bedroom, and also a sofa bed in the living space. There was plenty of crockery and cooking utensils. We paid extra for breakfast provisions which were very ample, with lovely eggs and good quality produce.

Bathroom was large with a great shower.

There is also a small laundry area off the bathroom which was very useful.

We stayed a couple of nights, and would definitely return again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2010

We were nearly 2 weeks into our trip when we arrived to stay here in the little cottage-type apartment behind the house. At this point in the trip, I was badly missing my home and needed a place to just regenerate and reorganize. You get to that point on an extended trip. This was perfect . . . had everything we needed including a laundry and kitchenette! Lots of thoughtful amenities---all the comforts of home plus peace and quiet! The decor was cheery, there were plenty of windows with beautiful views of the moutains. We were very comfortable here, and it was honestly my very favorite place we stayed the whole two weeks we were in NZ. I loved everything about it!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

We stayed with Ray and Jesse in December, and it was just wonderful. We needed a place in Manapouri, as we were taking an overnight boat trip on Doubtful sound early the next day. Kepler Mountain View was the perfect place to do this since it is only a couple of minutes to the docks. When we arrived we were greeted by "Tiger", the cat of the house, who jumped in our laps and purred. I took a bath in the gigantic bathtub, put on a robe, and we relaxed in the bedroom. Even in the rain, the view from the house was lovely, and the house itself (designed by Ray) was modern, homey, and inviting. Both Ray and Jesse are warm and friendly, and made us feel incredibly welcome in their home. We were big fans!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2010

This B&B is a very modern house the owners built themselves around 2007. Everything in it is very tall. The stand alone accommodation is an older building I did not see. We stayed for several nights. One of the hosts is a Department of Conservation manager for the Milford Sound area, so we got expert advice on the area. They helped us book a nice kayak tour and suggested some good hikes for us. Breakfast was good and they were very patient when we arrived late or slept in after long hikes. When the weather is good there is in fact a good view of the Kepler mountains. We also enjoyed the very large bathtub.

I did think it was a bit odd that such a new and fancy house did not have attached bathrooms for each bedroom, but since that is as advertised I cannot legitimately complain. The location is not really convenient to anything, but that's the point of going to a national park.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenster, Germany
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

We (unfortunately) stayed only one night in Jessie and Rays wonderful, stylish and modern arranged house because we left for a doubtful-sound-overnight-cruise on the next morning.
Our room was one of the two double rooms. The shared bathroom is very huge, super modern and has a bath tub, shower and toilet. (On this time we had been the only guests, so we could use it by ourselfs.) The breakfast was fantastic!
When we returned from doubtful sound we've had a nice, long conversation and watched a DVD about fjordland. Ray told us where we could get this DVD. So we made a small side trip to the „Fjordland Cinema“ in Te Anau after we left them ;-) For everybody who is interested in the film: It's called „Ata Whenua - Shadowland“ and they show it in an hourly sequence.
Next time we will definitely stay for longer on this nice place. The accomodation is the perfect base for exploring the many delights of the fjordland.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed in the out house and it was amazing. The highlight of our stay was the fantastic breakfast with breathtaking view of the mountains. The location is perfect. Very quiet and peaceful yet only a 10 minute drive from where the boats leave to the Doubtful Sound. Jessie was very helpful in booking our trips and provided us useful tips for the trip.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kepler Mountain View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kepler Mountain View

Address: 130 Hillside Manapouri Road, Fiordland National Park 9643, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Southland Region > Fiordland National Park
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Fiordland National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two double B&B guest rooms, fully self contained 1, 2 and 3 bedroom en-suite cottages situated on the doorstep of Fiordland National Park at New Zealand most scenic Lake, Lake Manapouri surrounded by Fiordlands majestic mountains. Ideal base for visiting Doubtful or Milford Sounds. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kepler Mountain View, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Kepler Mountain View to your Saves list