We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food took forever and came with a hair in it” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Norm's Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Norm's Restaurant
198 10th St, Hanover, Ontario N4N 1N7, Canada
(519) 364-1380
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 24 Restaurants in Hanover
Restaurant details
Mississauga, Canada
1 review
“Food took forever and came with a hair in it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I went to Norm's with a couple of locals for a normal, quick, sit down breakfast. We ordered our breakfast at 11:30am. At about 12:15pm our waitress came up to us and apologized for the super long wait. We watched most other customers come in after us, be served and leave. Finally at 12:30pm our food came. I ordered the egg burger. It was incredibly wet, mushy and completely flavourless. The worst part though was one of the people I was with ordered a BLT. He ate 1/4 of it and then found a really long hair in it which he had to pull out of his mouth. It was beyond disgusting! We told our waitress who apologized profusely and asked him if he wanted something else, anything quick? He said no, mostly because he had totally lost his appetite but also because after waiting an hour for his food he had no idea what "quick" actually meant. It was probably the worst restaurant experience I have ever had and would never recommend it to anyone, EVER!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    2
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walkerton, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Classic Dinner - nothing fancy, just good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

not much has changed here over the years, that could be a pro or con, depending who you are. This is a decent little place, good food and good service, nothing special and I think that is their appeal. If you are looking for bells and whistles, this is not your place, but if you are looking for an old-time diner, this should meet your needs

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owen Sound, Canada
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Just like Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Norms has been there forever. Remember Happy Days? Old style booths, and sparkling clean. Good old homestyle cooking. Mashed potates made right there, and home cut fries cut that morning. Milkshakes to die for. Hot turkey and hot beef sandwiches....excellent. I have never left hungry.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Left Hungry”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

I had been working all day throughout Hanover, and noticed the sign outside in the parking lot that was featuring the days special: "corn beef and cabbage - 8.95 " well i knew what i was having for dinner that night and was looking forward to it! -not a huge cabbage lover but love hot corn beef- well i walked in around 6.30pm on a midweek night, there were 2 other diners at seperate tables, right away i was kinda thinkin i should walk out, but was looking forward since midday, so i sat down in the old 50's era booth. The ambience was kinda like a hospital caf. The service was pretty quick (as it should be since it was virtually empty ) . When I was served my dinner , i noticed it was a pretty small portion...1 small scoop of mash, and i mean small, the corn beef seemed microwaved , since it left a pool of water in the plate, and the cabbage which was mixed with broccoli i think seemed tasteless, could have used some seasoning or even some butter! i also had a coca cola so with tax and tip i spent around 14.50 there...waste of cash , and left hungry. Would never go back, and would never recommend, sorry Norm.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Can't believe no one has written about this local gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I lunch at Norms whenever we are in town
Think of eating at your Moms kitchen table- clean casual nothing fancy -red leather booths and arborite tables!
Comfort food,homemade soups and burgers,sandwiches cut off the whole turkey and roast beef- fresh pies
Everyday there is a special like meatloaf and mashed potatoes,roasted chicken,pot roast for around 8bucks!
The gals are super too! Probably been working there for years!
It's next to the movie theater on the way to Walkerton
No surprises here,always good and cheap to boot!!
They know everyone

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Norm's Restaurant also viewed

Hanover, Grey County
 

Been to Norm's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Norm's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.