We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buttermere at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bridge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bridge Hotel to your Saves list
Bridge Hotel
Buttermere CA13 9UZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Buttermere at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have recently returned from a wonderful,relaxing 3 night break at the Bridge Hotel in Buttermere. The service from all the staff was absolutely first class. The food at breakfast and at dinner was prepared to excellent standards, a perfect blend of different taste experiences combined with the traditional. An 'intermediary' provided something that little bit special each night.
The room was very comfortable, decorated tastefully to high standards.
There are many choices for walkers, from the easy stroll around the Buttermere lake to the challenge of Haystack and Red Pike for the more energetic walkers. The Cake/Coffee shop opposite the Bridge Hotel provided a wonderful cup of coffee (Flat White) and delicious toffee cake, just what you need to replenish your energy levels after a hard days walking!
We are already planning our next trip and cant wait to return to definitely one of our favourite places to stay in the Lake District.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear annmjohnson1957,
Thank you for your very kind words - I am delighted that your experience of The Bridge was what we strive to deliver.

Buttermere is a fantastic part of the world and The Bridge is thrilled to be part of it.

We hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future.

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    52
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
24
148
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chorley, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Have just returned from a two night stay at The Bridge Hotel in Buttermere. Our room was lovely and the hotel lounge and dining room are very country house style that I love. Food at dinner and breakfast was delicious and some of the best eaten for some time. Service and attention from staff was top class. Weather during stay was great - not a drop of rain and enjoyed lovely walks around Buttermere and Ennerdale Lakes. We love the Lakes and have stayed many times in Keswick and Bowness but now feel that Buttermere and The Bridge is our new favourite and we will be back.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front overlooking stream and woods and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Saraj34

Wow - What a compliment that you feel you enjoyed your stay so much that we can now become a new best destination for you! Fantastic news: we do also have a facebook and twitter page if you would like us to keep you up to date in a social manner.

I am delighted that all was good, yes you had some fantastic weather and long may it continue!

I truly do look forward to welcoming you back.

Steven
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hexham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

You absolutely could not ask for better service, a friendlier group of staff (nothing is too much trouble and everything is done with a cheerful smile), better food (delicious three course meal in the dining room or something less formal in the bar and excellent breakfasts), a more comfortable room (4 poster bed, chairs, tea making facilities and shortbread to eat whilst looking out over the beck and a lovely bathroom with bath and shower) or a better location. Set just a few minutes strole from two lakes which you can walk round if the weather is not good enough to go up high or if you just want something gentle; surrounded by majestic fells if you want to be more strenuous and just a short drive from Keswick if you feel the need to find new climbing gear, this hotel is a real jem. They went a long way further than the "extra mile" to make sure that we enjoyed our stay. We really look forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear AndrewD

Thank you again for your kind comments - It was a pleasure to have you with us during your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back.

I have had to extend the staycaition promotion as it is proving to be so popular - Delighted that you enjoyed the food and service.

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We have just returned from a two night break at this hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The room (17) was spacious, comfy bed & bedding and large bathroom with bath & shower. We were on the bed, breakfast & dinner special offer rate which really was value for money. Breakfast was lovely with a good choice and cooked to order. Dinner was equally as nice with a good choice and a different special each night. The restaurant could do with some background music as it did lack any atmosphere but not a huge deal some people may prefer this! The bar area is great there is a section for walkers so no problem with muddy boots! The food looked great in the bar as well.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Sherburnlil

Delighted that you had a great time - Sorry that you missed the snow but then again maybe you would prefer that! ...

I will ensure your kind comments are handed through to everyone as we all enjoy a pat on the back.

Thank you


Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Spent a weekend (from 04/01/13) with my fiancee to celebrate her birthday and do some walking. The location in Buttermere is superb and the hotel quality is good despite the age. Our room (22) was clean, warm, a nice size, tastefully decorated, comfy bed and good bathroom, with a bath and a ridiculously low shower - I am 6'1" though. We had a small balcony overlooking the stream and car park, tea & coffee facilities, but no TV.
There is no mobile phone reception, but free wi-fi is available in the lounge downstairs. We stayed for two nights on a B+B & evening meal basis. Breakfast was lovely, lots of choice, good quality and waitered service. Dinner was nice although a bit fussy for my liking and there were staggered dining times, although the hotel wasn't very busy. The menu was very similar on both evenings which I found odd, but maybe it was due to the hotel closing down for a couple of weeks after our stay. Drinks were a little on the pricey side in the hotel but normal prices in the adjoining public bar.
Most of the staff we met were friendly and efficient apart from one senior member who waltzed around the place like he owned it - maybe he does! Instead of sitting back and letting the rest of the staff get on with their work he buzzed around taking food orders, speaking in a condiscending tone to the guests and generally being annoying. I would have given an 'excellent' rating for the hotel if it hadn't been for his attitude, although he did give us much amusement during our stay!
If you're planning a special weekend away I would recommend this hotel. It's certainly on the pricey side and don't waste your money on either of the four-poster rooms as the slightly cheaper room we stayed in was better in my experience, having stayed in one of them three years previously. Buttermere and the surrounding hills are superb and offer excellent walking opportunities.

Room Tip: Room 22 is nice & bright and has it's own balcony overlooking the stream & car park. Fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Steve B,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The bridge, I am delighted to read that your overall experience seems to be that you enjoyed your stay.

The Housekeeping team work very hard to ensure that all of our rooms are kept to a very high standard, clean and comfortable and it is great that you noted this- I will ensure they get to read your kind words.

I am not sure what has led you to believe that we have a two tier price system for our drinks - We operate all drinks service from the bar into the Hotel and with one price throughout; was there some charge that made you think this was not the case?

Hopefully we would be able to welcome you back at some point later this year.

Steven Langley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We had a quick lunch here before walking round the lake. The famous Fish Inn was closed but this was an excellent alternative. Right in the middle of the village (though you have to pay for parking), this is a real pub - i.e. unpretentious and dog-friendly where muddy walkers can come without feeling out of place (they even have a drying room). Lots of local ales. The food came quickly and was excellent - a prawn sandwich and generous salad with a basket of real HAND CUT chips - not the tasteless frozen things you find everywhere else. An excellent start to our afternoon in Buttermere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Manchestersherlock,

Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to us. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your lunch. The hand cut chips are very time consuming (I am sure you can imagine how many we use daily!) but they are indeed much better than any we have tried already prepared, I am happy your appreciated them!

Just as a note for future visits, we have our own car park that is to the right of the Hotel and as a patron of the pub or hotel you are very welcome to park for free during your stay, please do make use of this in future.

Yours Sincerely


Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

What a fantastic break this was. We arrived Christmas Eve and spent three wonderful nights over Christmas, fantastic location, service, food was to die for brilliant and all very reasonably priced. I would definitely recommend this Hotel, to anyone who wants a peaceful break in a fantastic location, with fine food dining. Thank you again to all of the staff. Brian

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge H, General Manager at Bridge Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear helenabrian,

Today I have had the pleasure of replying to 9 very positive reviews of the Christmas period!!!! It is such a wonderful read having just returned from a week away to recover some of the spent energy!

It was a pleasure to be able to welcome everyone over what was a fantastic 3 days with good people and I can only hope we have as many of them return this year! At times like this it is the guests that make the Hotel and not the other way round.

Thank you again

Steven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bridge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bridge Hotel

Address: Buttermere CA13 9UZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Buttermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set between two lakes and surrounded by Fells in an area of outstanding natural beauty, the Bridge Hotel is situated on a site which has been occupied for over a 1000 years. Licensed as a Coaching Inn in1735 it has evolved into a luxury traditional Lakeland hotel offering a warm welcome, comfort and attentive service. Innovative chefs provide excellent, freshly prepared, locally sourced, quality food both in the dining room and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bridge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bridge Hotel Buttermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bridge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.