We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pint, should of tool pack lunch!!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fish Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Buttermere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Fish Inn
Save
You added The Fish Inn to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Buttermere CA13 9XA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good pint, should of tool pack lunch!!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

After the walk round the lake we stopped in the Fish for a sandwich and a pint. The local ale was just the ticket to quench the thirst. We all had soup which was homemade. Food was above average. Was overpriced but expected that. They know you will be hungry after the walk.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    37
    8
    7
    12
See reviews for
20
65
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have just returned from a 3 day break at The Fish where we have been coming each year for the last 24years for our wedding anniversary. I guess coming for 24yrs says it all...... A fabulous place run by professional polite people where nothing is too much trouble. The hotel is situated in lovely, peaceful location and has breathtaking views of the fells and Buttermere in the distance. Food in the bar is excellent with plenty of choice and you get a very good portion for your money....ideal if you've had a hard days walking!! Rooms are clean and inviting with tea/coffee/hot chocolate/fruit teas and a decent selection of biscuits! Breakfast is also first class with plenty on offer to set you up for the day! All in all a very enjoyable stay and yes......we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annecy, Rhone-Alpes, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stopped there with my wife for a drink, eventually had lunch surrounded by sheep. fabulous spot, really peaceful, great view, the food was quite good (salmon and cumberland saussage) and affordable. We will go back as son as possible.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed for one night whilst on a walking holiday in the fells. Big room, nice bathroom, polite staff, professionally run. Food in the bar was good value, nice selection of beer, breakfast was good.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We called into the Fish around 3pm just missing lunch! But we were offered scones, jam and cream and enjoyed those with a pot of tea whilst once again admiring the views. Same wonderful service, a welcoming hello and a cheery goodbye, see you again. You definitely will! Peter and Myra.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Routinely stop here for light lunch and drinks when walking as buttermere is one of my favourite lakes. One would imagine that the owners would capitalise on the fabulous location but my opinion is that they simply rely upon it. Decor tired and shabby . Toilets basic and outdated. Bar staff monosyllabic. Food ok bar food. Prices average. I would still return as I m in love with the location so clearly the owners are rather savvy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I came to buttermere with my female friend and young son, we opted for the fish to have lunch. The food was fine and location lovely although the staff were dreadful! My son has a special diet and so I asked if it would be possible to have an egg sandwich the lady behind the bar said it would be to much to boil the eggs although my friend ordered a salad and when it arrived their was boils eggs on it?! When I went to drive my car on leaving It would not start and had no signal on my mobile so went back in to the fish to ask to borrow their phone to ring the AA the barman refused and told me their was a pay phone the pay phone used all my change and didn't make any calls. The staff were of no help to us so we left and went to another opposing cafe who were happy to help.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fish Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fish Inn

Address: Buttermere CA13 9XA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Buttermere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Buttermere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fish Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Fish is a small family run inn offering a comfortable and informal base from which to explore The Lake District. Nestled between two lakes Buttermere and Crummock with views towards Haystacks, Fleetwith Pike and Red Pike all are just a short stroll from the inn. Our rooms offer a cosy and comfortable stay and we serve lunch and evening meals in our bar along side real ales. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fish Hotel Cockermouth
The Fish Inn Buttermere, Lake District

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fish Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.