We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Camp Waipu Cove

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Camp Waipu Cove to your Saves list
Camp Waipu Cove
4.0 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   869 Cove, RD2, Waipu 0582, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Northland NZ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We found this wee gem last Tuesday evening, wow what a neat spot right bu the beach at beautiful Waipu Cove. We rented a self contained one bedroom cottage, which was super clean had an amazing shower and we listened to the ocean waves as we drifted off to sleep.
I highly recommend you make the effort to drive out to Waipu Cove - to stay at this charming spot. the beach was opritine and we enjoyed a nice wlak along it the next morning.
There is a popular pizza style cafe right next door but unfornuately is closed on Monday and Tuesday nights.
We would love to stay here again the staff where helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: As for Cabin 7 it is right near the beach!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    27
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
66
33
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

Was great like always. Quiet place. friendly staff. Rooms are great value for money. All cabins are close to the beach and close to the bathroom. Bathrooms are always very clean which is good. Rooms are warm and spacious, also very nice to have the little deck.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Very helpful and pleasant staff. Really enjoyed our stay here. Facilities were clean and tidy. Close to the beach and there is a convenience shop located next to the camping ground. Highly recommend for families as there are playgrounds to keep the kids entertained.
Would definately stay here again.
We stayed in a campervan for our stay and used the camp amenities which were always clean.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We started our camper tour of nz at camp waipu cove over Easter. We were thrilled with the facilities and cleanliness of the place. Perfect corner store nearby for the essentials, gorgeous beachside townships along that way. Close to great walks and adventurous cave activity ( abbey caves ). Can see why lonely planet recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

We love this spot & camp there every easter this we we even stayed an extra night this year we noticed that all facilites have been upgraded a littel the new owners have obviously thought about it I just find this spot is the best in the world!! A++

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights and the cabin was so comfortable and very new. the decor was really lovely and stylish. The bathrooms were very close and the rates very reasonable The cabin is set just behind the grassy sand dunes and so is sheltered and quiet but really close to the sea. There is a very good restaurant about 20 metres away behind a ponga fence which we really enjoyed our breakfast in

Room Tip: There are also cabins which have a bathroom and separate bedroom for a slightly higher fee whch woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is a lovely camping ground situated near the beach, with a well-stockeddairy near by and 2 licenced cafes, so something for everyone. The facilities at the campare very good, and it is a family friendly camp. The tent spaces are nice & big so had plenty of room for our big tent.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camp Waipu Cove? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camp Waipu Cove

Address: 869 Cove, RD2, Waipu 0582, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Waipu
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Waipu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Camp Waipu Cove 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find Camp Waipu Cove nestled at the southern end of the beautiful and unspoiled Bream Bay. Our Northland holiday park’s and cabins great facilities, supreme beach location and well-kept Waipu Cove accommodation create the ideal setting for a classic Kiwi getaway. Our Waipu Cove camping ground has been a Northland holiday haven for generations of Kiwi families, and continues to offer one of the best camping environments in New Zealand to visitors from near and far. We look forward to seeing you here at Camp Waipu Cove, Northland! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Camp Waipu Cove reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camp Waipu Cove, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.