We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A friendly hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Oakwood Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Oakwood Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Oakwood Hall Hotel
Lady Lane, Bingley, Bradford BD16 4AW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bingley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A friendly hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a family wedding. The wedding was very well organised by the hotel helping to make it a beautiful day. The staff were all very helpful and the wedding meal was excellent and served professionally and with great care. The room was comfortable and clean but not very warm, the heating seemed seemed ineffectual. Some effort is needed to improve the presentation of the hotel, large wheelie bins and skips at the front of the hotel give a bad first impression as does broken furniture on the impressive landing with the famous stain glass window.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    14
    10
    6
    10
See reviews for
23
31
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shipley
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

This visit was for a family Sunday lunch. There were ten of us dining and we all enjoyed the meal. The menu gave us a good choice of starters, main course and dessert (more than sufficient to cater for our group of varied ages and tastes). Later, we were served tea or coffee with chocolates. The atmosphere was pleasant and relaxed. At no time, were we hurried over the meal. Service was very good; nice timimg between courses; no long delays.

Oakwood Hall is an architectural gem; the dining room is very pleasant and after the dessert, we enjoyed our tea/coffee in an adjoining lounge which was ideal for our family get together.

All the staff were very pleasant and professional and we are happy to say that our experience was completely contradictory to that experienced by Julie H.

Our thanks to Oakwood Hall for making this a very successful family occasion

Room Tip: Not applicable as we were just dining
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Well what can i say apart from please please ignore the negative comments.This is a stunning Victorian hotel beautifully maintained in well maintained gardens. From the minute we arrived nothing was too much trouble. Our rooms were ready, check in was really fast. When we arrived in our room it was lovely and warm clean traditionally decorated with the most beautiful carved furniture. Our friends rooms were equally as nice very large with four poster beds magnificent. We ate in the hotel as we were on business a la carte or table dhote available all freshly cooked and served in the most stunning dinining room with crystal chandaliers hanging from the ornate ceilings.
Breakfast was included and the choice was fantastic, again freshly cooked to order.
The staff all were so friendly and funny and made our stay one to remember we wouldnt hesitate in returning again and would definatly recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: room 1 has a four poster bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

The building and grounds are absolutely fantastic, it is a complete shame that the management have allowed these beautiful surroundings to be totally denegrated by the unprofessional staff who were rude, disrespectful, and unhelpful. I recently attended a celebratory family function there, not only was the meal served very late, but the menu displayed incorrect celebration details. The final insult was that I was asked extremely curtly by one of the waiters (Mark) to take my seat in the restaurant as he was very obviously becoming impatient at the time it was taking for myself and another guest to assist a disabled member of the party into her seat - completely disgusting!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Stayed over night for a joint celebration of a friends wedding and our second wedding Anniversary in June 2011.
We arrived mid afternoon,the hotel from the outside and the exterior grounds where very pretty, once inside we had to wait about 10 minutes before anyone came to attend to us, when the man eventually arrived it was though we where putting him out, no welcome or greeting to straight to formalities.
After signing in, he pointed to the flight of stairs and explained we would probably need oxygen by the time we had reached our room as they had no lift? he wasn't joking, as our room was at the very top along several staircases and various corridors, which led us into the loft?
When we eventually reached our room hoping we would be able to relax and freshen up for the evening reception, it soon came apparent we has been placed in the Attic (is the best way to describe it) the room was so small and no proper window only a velux ceiling window,which made the very small space even more claustrophobic.
My husband who is l suppose ,is taller than most 6''4 laid on the bed which really only supported him from his head to his knees as the bed was so small.
The decor was dated and shabby and the carpet was very badly stained, and was in desperate need of re -decorating completely, the tea and coffee facilities was an old tea trolley stuck in the corner, which nearly put your back out,as it was so low to the floor!
The bathroom, again was in need of face lift, 70's decor, and you could see where the damp had peeled of old paint and then had been painted over yet again.
The television was badly attached to the wall and could not receive a full signal so kept going off.
By the time l had got ready for the evening reception l needed air as l felt so hot and sick due no proper ventilation in the room l could not bear it any longer.

When the following morning finally approached as neither me or my husband could get to sleep due to the bed being so small and uncomfortable, we went down to breakfast to be met (not greeted) by the most abrupt women l have ever met! I think she must have got out of the wrong side of bed, or maybe she herself had stayed in one of the other rooms? and got as much sleep as l did! but never the less, l was paying just short of a £100 for this whole experience, l think l should have been paid for staying here. l rushed my breakfast as l had now had enough and got the hell out of there, never to go back.
It certainly did meet my expectations of a romantic get away, it ruined the whole weekend.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Went up to Yorkshire for a family wedding, driving up the driveway to the main hotel reception was very beautiful and the building looks magnificent but when we took our luggage and went up to the reception, the man behind the counter did not want to listen to what we said. We had bookings but he refused, then he made a fuss about so many of us trying to stay at the hotel (so we went to the nearby radisson..some of us did).

Asking for a duplicate key for my girlfriend was like asking the man for the keys to his house and his car!!! he was soooo patronising!! the Showers did not work and when we complained he looked at us like we had messed it up - I had to walk ddown to reception 3 times before they even came upstairs to have a look!!! (I would not go as far as saying he was a bit rac*st but we all were NOT WELCOME AT ALL!! I travel around the world for business and have stayed at great hotels but during checkout he made us feel like we could not afford such fancy hotels and asked if someone else was paying for it..

To be fair, the two ladies working at the hotel were very very polite but sadly you have to face this one man everyday and any conversation or experience with him makes u feel so lowly and poor!! very very bad service and very patronising!!!

Would NEVER RECOMMEND this hotel to anyone !! Hate it, worst experience!

Room Tip: Try the Radisson around in the area. It was decent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

I stayed at Oakwood Hall on business , the hotel was recommended by the organisation I was working with the following day . I was made to feel very welcome and the receptionist was very friendly and chatty , as well as highly efficient . the room I was allocated ( 9 ) was spotlessly clean , warm and welcoming . The decor was fresh and modern combined with the historical character of the building , great big fireplace detail and modern plasma TV , also nice and warm . I believe all the rooms are different and have their own character . The gentleman in the bar / restaurant was equally as efficient and friendly - I really enjoyed my evening meal and I slept like a log ! I wished I could have stayed longer and certainley if I am in the area again , I would look forward to returning to Oakwood - where , no doubt , they would recall my initial visit - albeit brief , such is their level of customer service.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Oakwood Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oakwood Hall Hotel

Address: Lady Lane, Bingley, Bradford BD16 4AW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Bingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oakwood Hall, a grade 2 listed building, is a privately owned 20 bedroom hotel. Set amidst beautiful landscaped gardens, an ideal venue for wedding receptions and private parties. 1 mile from the centre of Bingley with excellant rail links to Leeds, Bradford and Skipton. 8 miles from Leeds/Bradford Airport, 4 miles from Haworth and 45 minutes from the Yorkshire Dales. A large free car park and quiet woodland surround the Hotel. The restaurant serves traditional lunch & dinner and the welcoming bar is well stocked with hand pulled ales, spirits & wine. Each room is individually designed, all with en suite bathrooms, tea coffee making facilities, trouser presses, hairdryers, irons & ironing boards, TV, radio/CD, and telephone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Oakwood Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oakwood Hall Hotel Bingley, Bradford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Oakwood Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.