We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Wining & Dining in Bingley” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Foundry Hill Bar and Lounge

Foundry Hill Bar and Lounge
Arden House | Wellington Street, Bingley, Bradford BD16 2NB, England
+44 1274 566144
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 45 Restaurants in Bingley
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Barbecue, British, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated opposite Bingley railway station. We are open Wednesday to Sunday from 12 Noon until late. All our food is freshly prepared and cooked to order. We have a great selection of quality wines, complimented by new world lagers and ciders. We have been awarded a place in Camras good beer guide and always have five well kept hand pulled beers available. We also have an extensive cocktail menu and over 100 spirits to choose from.
Bingley
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Wining & Dining in Bingley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Another fantastic visit to Foundry Hill.
This place cannot be faulted!
The food is first class, never had a bad meal - everything is fresh & home made by a very enthusiastic chef.
They have a good wine selection & a variety of hand pulled ales that changes regularly.
The atmosphere is relaxing with service that is friendly & professional. What more could you want?!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    18
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Brilliant burgers! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Popped down to Foundry Hill after seeing the new burgers on Facebook. Even though we booked late on Father's Day and it was really busy, everything still arrived in good time.

Veggie nachos for starters were great, with 3 different dips round the outside.

Had one of the burgers for a main and it was great. Homemade buns, cheese slice, the lot. They don't come better than this. The veggie burger was great, according to the missus and the kids Mac and cheese went down a storm.

And with some really nice new ale on tap also, Foundry Hill is still our favourite place to eat.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Went to the foundry for a lunch, was a bit quiet but the staff were very nice and welcoming. we had a starter of nachos and calamari, both of which were lovely. I then had a main of rump steak which was gorgeous and offered 2 sides and a sauce, though the peppercorn sauce was quite strong so you wont want to much on that steak. The chunky chips were fantastic as well, plus a lovely rocket salad on the side. My other half had a cheese burger in a brioche bun, I have to admit neither of us are a massive fan of brioche as a bun and would have preferred multi-seed or granary roll. The burger was okay but both of us felt we had had better elsewhere, as the pattie lacked a denseness to it and could have done with being a bit thicker to.

Overall we really enjoyed are time there and would go again.

Mark and Claire

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“Good, freshly cooked food, but........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

I ate here tonight on the strength of the previous reviews and, after finding my way downstairs to the rather basic dining room, was pleasantly surprised. From the menu the food looks like goodish gastropub fare, with not too much to excite the appetite, but, when it came, my pork loin wrapped in red onion chutney and parma ham with a mustard cream sauce was absolutely delicious. I soon realised that by ordering sides of French fries and parmesan green beans I had overestimated my appetite by a long way as the dish came with roasted sweet potato wedges and beans, asparagus, carrots etc!! So I made do with the one course, accompanied by a nice house NZ Sauvignon Blanc and a house grenache, equally quaffable. My only real quibble is that my table was quite sticky, and clearly not properly cleaned. PerhapsI should have complained; I hope they take note!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent quality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Although I've been enjoying the food, drinks and generally lovely ambience at Foundry Hill for almost ten years (and "Loafers" before that) I am always pleasantly surprised when we sit down to eat. I have never, EVER come away feeling anything less than fully satisfied, regardless of the occasion. If it was in Leeds, you could expect to pay almost twice the price and not be guaranteed their level of quality. The steak was divine, the chips as awesome as ever. My co-diners thoroughly enjoyed the duck and supreme of chicken. Massive choice of draft beers/lagers/ciders. Wine, too. You are always guaranteed a warm welcome and the service is consistently excellent too. So, fair to say I LOVE this bar/eaterie. My only complaint? I no longer live close enough to walk there and back.....

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Foundry Hill Bar and Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Foundry Hill Bar and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Foundry Hill Bar and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.