We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great New Years Eve party and stay 2013” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bradford Road, Bingley, Bradford BD16 1TU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bingley
england
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A great New Years Eve party and stay 2013”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We booked for hotel's White Tie and Tiara party for New Years Eve and it all happened last night. We had a great night. The hotel room (a Classic) was spacious, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was pleasant if a little dated but the bathtub was very long, I could nearly lay out flat in it and I'm 5'10, it was lovely and with lashings of hot water.

We had a room overlooking the fields and the road but the fields and the hills above gave a pleasant outlook (room 142) it was at the very end of the corridor so only neighbour on one side but it was quiet by the time we went to bed, but having said that it was New Years eve so it was well after 1 a.m. when we finally retired.

The party was great, lots of fun, and although we were a table for two we werent shoved in a corner as often happens at these sort of events, the tables for 2 were right at the front at the edge of the dance floor which was great for us. The DJ could have been better with the flow of his music but he did have us up there having a boogie many times.

The 5 course dinner was quite good but they may have been a little ambitious with some of the offerings, the goats cheese tart starter was a bit of a non starter I'm afraid but the rest was quite good.

Comfortable and quiet sleep and breakfast (which was fabulous) was being served til 12 noon which was very considerate. Would recommend this and we'll probably book for next year.

Room Tip: A quiet room with a half decent view is room 142
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
004GM, General Manager at Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a wonderful review, it is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guests.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed the New Years Eve event, I will ensure your feedback regarding the evening is taken into consideration as we begin to plan for next year!

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back again on the near future.

Kind regards

Emily Cox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    119
    79
    35
    31
See reviews for
54
165
18
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I work in the area throughout the week, and have stayed in a variety of local hotels - I wish I'd picked the Mercure from the start. I haven't needed to use the restaurant as I work long hours and tend to eat at my workplace, but the room's have been clean, comfortable and peaceful with everything a business guest is likely to need. Wifi could be faster, but it's free which is better than offered by some other local hotels. For the price range, this really is the best option by far. I imagine that I'll be staying here during the week for the duration of my contract.

Room Tip: I've been advised that rooms in the new block (where I stayed) are better than those in the old...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
004GM, General Manager at Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am very pleased to hear that we meet your needs and expectations.

I will ensure your feedback is reviewed with the team as we seek further ways to continue to make improvements.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind regards

Emily Cox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Our company Christmas Party was held at this hotel on Saturday and whilst the evening was enjoyed by all there were some surprising issues but first , the good points. The bedrooms were pleasant and very reasonably priced for bed & breakfast. The Hotel itself was full of character and the reception was swift and efficient when checking in. On the evening the photo booth was good fun and well organised and the DJ kept the dance floor bouncing all night. The food served on the evening was generally well received and served hot which is not easy when you consider that there were two parties in two rooms totalling what must have been around 300 people. All in all a good party, however, the bars, especially before everyone went into the party rooms were inadequately staffed and long queues quickly formed. More surprisingly, the bar in our party ran out of vodka before 9.00pm, one of the beers was unavailable and apparently other spirits were also out of stock by the end of the night. Surely a hotel that hosts Christmas parties for that many people should not run out of alcohol in its bars.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
004GM, General Manager at Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind feedback regarding your recent stay and Christmas party. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the evening and I will ensure your feedback is reviewed with the team.

I can only apologize for the service in the bars, it was a very busy weekend and despite planning, ordering and staffing to the best of our ability we unfortunately under estimated the level of demand. I would like to assure you that we have now reviewed this issue and have implemented direct action to ensure no future repetition.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Emily Cox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

I stayed there for my friend's wedding, but there was just problem after problem. The heating was broke in our room which after asking was still not fixed. Staff were impossible to find when you needed them. A week after I stayed I discovered that they had taken £50 out of my account without my permission or knowledge, for something I did not order. The thing that was ordered was paid for by one of the people I was sharing with and they are now insisting it was not paid for and now saying we never checked out, refusing to give my money back for something I never bought and calling me a liar is not acceptable, you couldn't pay me to stay there again after all the problems we had and are still having even after our stay.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 263 unless you like arctic conditions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
004GM, General Manager at Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, I am very disappointed to hear that there were some issues with your billing and your room.

I can only apologize for the temperature in the room in which you stayed, the problem required an external contractor to correct the issue which unfortunately we were unable to provide during your stay.

I am also very sorry that you feel the payment on your account was not handled correctly. As previously discussed if you would contact the hotel with the receipt of payment for the order then we will certainly arrange the refund for you. As a standard we do ask guests to pre-authorize a credit card to guarantee payment for all additional extras charged to the room account, this authorization is then charged for the total amount which is confirmed with our guests upon check out.

Once again I can only apologize that on this occasion we did not meet your expectations.

Yours sincerely

Emily Cox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed there one night in October. Plenty of car park space, reception was slick and staff very helpful.
The room was fine and clean and the bed comfortable. I did not use the restaurant therefore cannot comment however breakfast was well presented and very nice.
Check out was efficient with very polite and helpful staff.
I would certainly use it again if I was in the area

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
004GM, General Manager at Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review, it is always a pleasure to receive feedback from our guests.

I am pleased to hear that we met your expectations, I will ensure your comments regarding the team are discussed and reviewed with the team as I am sure your comments will be motivational as we continue to make improvements to our service and standards.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Emily Cox
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel

Address: Bradford Road, Bingley, Bradford BD16 1TU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford > Bingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unwind in Gothic grandeur in the heart of Yorkshire Bronte country at the Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel. Set in a Gothic style mansion house surrounded by landscaped gardens, the Mecure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel is a peaceful retreat and a short stroll from the banks of the River Aire. The Mecure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel is two miles from Bingley railway station. The Haworth & Bronte Parsonage Museum, celebrating the life and work of the Bronte Sisters, is five miles away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bradford Ramada
Ramada Bradford Leeds
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel Bingley

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.