We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific value for money!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Five Rise Locks Hotel and Restaurant

Five Rise Locks Hotel and Restaurant
Beck Lane, Bingley, Bradford, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 45 Restaurants in Bingley
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bingley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Terrific value for money!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

My wife and I have visited Five Rise Locks Hotel many times over the years especially with friends, this December (2011) we ate there on three occasions.
The meals were absolutely wonderful and make the AA rosette a very justified award. Presentation was superb and the food cooked to perfection. Portion sizes were just right, not too small to leave one unsatisfied yet not overfacing - and it's always worth having plenty of room for a dessert!
The service was efficient and friendly without being over fussy. The wine list has a very good selection at very reasonable prices.
As this is a very convenient place for us and our friends we're delighted that it is such good value that we don't have to think before booking a table.
Looking forward to lots more visits in 2012!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    9
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Befordshire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Plenty of choice for a small hotel. I loved the scallops with fried courgette & chorizo (starter). The venison was perfectly cooked and not too strong. The rump of lamb was superb and the honey-glazed vegetables were excellent.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Food appalling!.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I had visited this place once before for a family do and wasn't too impressed with the food, however when I heard that there was another family do was planned there I was sceptical but thought I'd give it a go!. Worse decision ever! The supposed pate was like a bad mans slop! They should have bought in from the co op. When I asked for my rump steak medium rare, I received a well done piece of frying steak with greasy chips cooked in old disgusting oil, the taste was vile! I couldn't eat any of my food and contemplated not paying, however I did not want to cause a scene so I payed anyway. These people will carry on serving horrible food which you wouldn't even expect to pay for in a greasy cafe! Service not that good with and certainly no service with a smile

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nantwich
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2011

We visited the Five Rise Locks Hotel and Restaurant for Sunday lunch, and were very pleasantly surprised. It's in a quiet location, with views across the Aire valley.

The food was good and the cost was £14.50 for 3 courses, which we thought was excellent value for money.

Best of all was the service, which was attentive without being obtrusive.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food in a quiet backwater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

For a late mother's day treat we didn't want to travel far and found this restaurant, part of the hotel and were pleasantly surprised we hadn't heard of it before. Great choice on the menu, beautifully presented and cooked and we thought good value for money (we went in happy hour -between 6.30-7.30pm) The staff were very accomodating and would definately make another visit. The place was within a residential area and so very quiet but with good views across the valley.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Rise Locks Hotel and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Five Rise Locks Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Rise Locks Hotel and Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.