We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another fine establishment ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bay Horse Inn, Roughlee

The Bay Horse Inn, Roughlee
Blacko bar Road | Roughlee, Nelson BB9 6NP, England
+44 1282 696558
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Nelson
Price range: $9 - $36
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Bay Horse Inn at Roughlee is in an ideal 'destination pub'. This country inn provides a spacious mix of modern comforts with traditional features and values. Our culinary team have created a selection of menus which reflect the quality and attention to detail that we strive for and you would expect from a top class establishment. Food at The Bay Horse Inn is cooked fresh on the premises here in Roughlee using the finest local ingredients, prepared to the highest of standards, providing the ultimate in gastro dining. Combine all of this with top quality country inn hospitality and you will find The Bay Horse Inn at Roughlee is the obvious venue for all occasions. We now welcome dogs in our bar and lounge areas.
barrowford
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Another fine establishment ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

This was our second visit to this fabulous venue. It's so nice to have another place to dine & enjoy in the pendle area. The place is so welcoming, clean & contemporary with a nice amount of locals to make it feel neighbourly.

We had our main courses (one rump of lamb & lobster special) both were presented beautifully & cooked perfectly. The service was excellent, as it had been on out previous visit, plenty of check ups & always available to take a drinks order. They have a really nice team.

The pendle area is spoilt with lovely places and this is another welcome addition. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    24
    12
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food in fab surroundings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I was taken here by a friend as a treat for some work I had done for him so there was 2 couples dining and what an amazing experience it was. I’ve read some of the more recent reviews and quite frankly I don’t know where they’re coming from. Where do you get oversized portions these days? I suggest you try a few cafes on Burnley Market if that is what you want!!

We each had starters and mains which was more than sufficient and the sizes of the portions were perfect. The prices were reflective of the quality of the food on offer and in every way offered value for money. We also drank some of the best red wine I have ever had and again it wasn’t expensive.

Credit must also go to the people who designed the interior as it is an amazing restaurant to sit in and the bar area is equally striking.

Finally, I’d like to single Neil out for personal praise as he was very efficient at what he does and attentive without going over the top like you find at some restaurants.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrowford, United Kingdom
1 review
“VALENTINES DAY MEAL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

I expected the food and the service to be as proffesional and outstanding as always after re-opening and I was not dissapointed.
Being from the local area, myself and my partner travel to many local establishments to dine or just take sometime out of the village of Barrowford.
I heard a rumour that an ex manager of another local pub was taking over the bay horse inn at roughlee so we decided to give it a try as we knew the kind of service and hospitality the manager provided.

My fiance was not dissapointed at all. The food was outstanding. We ordered a starter and a main meal. All which came to the table in reasonable time, which you expect when ordering fresh food made to order.

With plenty to choose from and a great drinks list. I have no hesitation to take the time out and write a review (which i usually don't). I think its worth while giving credit to the new Manager and his staff for the outstanding job there doing in what is a difficult time for the pub industry. Long may it continue.

Excellent all round. Thank you.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very small portions for large prices”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Booked a table for valentines meal as it's pretty local and have eaten at the craven heifer and really enjoyed it there.when speaking to a few locals wished We hadn't booked but We always like to make my own mind up as everyone is different.on arrival was met by the very friendly phoebe who explained the menu and dishes which sounded amazing,how ether on paper yes on the plate no.we had the valentines platter to share £12.95 for a tiny amount of food.the main was the same,We very rarely order 3courses but tonight we did, I have got to say the little amount we had tasted nice but the price and amount left a bad taste.our waitress Jennie was very good when I complained and we got 15% discount of our bill.but we've got to agree with the locals,not worth a second visit.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Staff nice, food dire!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

The place is ok. Need the bright lights toning down. One of our party had a headache with the bright light! Service was good however the food was awful!! I had salmon roulade which was obviously shop bought! The duck cooked 2 ways was overdone unseasoned and like leather. I left most of it. No questions asked when they took my plate away!! The other person in our party having duck text me afterwards to say we should have complained. On reflection I wish we had however it is v difficult when you are in a group for a night out. I asked other people what they thought of the food and average or below par seemed to be the response. Mine was truly awful and I will NOT set foot in the place for food again. We did remark that it was v quiet in the restaurant for a sat night!! Obviously the quality of the food is the reason!!! Get some decent chefs or close down!! It is one of the worst places to eat in fence barrowford area!!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bay Horse Inn, Roughlee also viewed

Burnley, Lancashire
 
Burnley, Lancashire
Burnley, Lancashire
 

Been to The Bay Horse Inn, Roughlee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bay Horse Inn, Roughlee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.