We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After an intense cardio workout, PARADISE!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Double Decker Living Root Bridge

Double Decker Living Root Bridge
Nongriat Village, Cherrapunjee, India
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Attractions in Cherrapunjee
Type: Bridges, Landmarks
Attraction details
Guwahati, India
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“After an intense cardio workout, PARADISE!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

It's a long way downhill from where the tarmac ends and walking down the steps is the only way to commute. I'm a bulky guy with a very poor sense of balance and walking downhill was a challenge that I undertook wearing slippery flip-flops! Well, the Living roots Bridge was not on our itinerary and was a sudden decision - but I do not regret one bit of it!

Meanwhile, once you manage to reach the bottom without tripping over the shaky rocks or bum-sliding over the loose muddy surface (I survived, so 99.99% of you will be fine!) you will witness one of the most beautiful sights ever, and I am not exaggerating! The bridge, the rich green forest in the background and the crystal-clear water flowing underneath with a hint of a reflection of the blue sky above together make for a heavenly and more-than-postcard-perfect picture! I don't need to say more.

The trip back uphill will comprise a lot of puffing and panting and a sudden crave for beer, which is a far cry from that location! What you get though are bananas in the nearby stalls and they should replenish most of the lost carbs!

Just remember to wear grippy trekking shoes and make it a point not to visit after noon.
But visit, you gotta!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    13
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Shillong, India
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Living root Bridges”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

These bridges were made by families living in the foot hills of the Khasi Hills whereby the roots of the trees are woven together to form these amazing structures to cross the very Rapid rivers of the hills. These structure are use as means of communication for the villagers to travel to fro to get their basic commodities from the nearest motorable village. The main attraction among these bridges are the Double deck Root Bridge to get to this bridge one has to do a treacherous trek downhill through 3000 + stairs at almost 60 to 80 degrees slope then pass thorugh a rugged foothpath cross the suspended bridges through the amazing river rapids (not for the faint hearted) whereby you will reach small hamlet called the Nongriat Village and see these amazing structure.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guwahati, Assam, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“the natural bridge”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

you wouldn't believe the beauty in words! the route to the bridge is long and tedious but in the end, worth it! the sound of the waterfall, the silence of the jungle and the bridge itself are reminders of how beautiful nature is and you just fall in love with it. Although we traveled in the monsoon season, and the heavy rain and slippery mountain road dampened our spirits, i would definitely love to go again

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A marvel..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

This one is a trekking challenge .. one that I could not complete. Yet I encourage all fellow trekkers to attempt and compete.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Living Root Bridges”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

The double decker should not be missed. The experience cannot be captured in words, however i have snapped the experience in www.pagalindian,com

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Double Decker Living Root Bridge also viewed

Cherrapunjee, Meghalaya
Cherrapunjee, Meghalaya
 
Cherrapunjee, Meghalaya
 

Been to Double Decker Living Root Bridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Double Decker Living Root Bridge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.