We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to chill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Icon Painter Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koroni
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Icon Painter Villas
Save
You added Icon Painter Villas to your Saves list
Kalamatas-Koronis, Koroni 24004, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Koroni
Skipton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to chill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We visited the icon painter villas with two other couples renting 3 of the 4 villas Mike and Maria own. We had stayed at there quaint apartments in Koroni (also good being in Koroni so you do not neccasarily need a car)and Mike had been good enough to show us the villas then, so we knew they were of an excellent standard with an amazing setting and views. We were not dissapointed.
The other villa was rented by another nice family from Russia but although the villas are all built round the pool they are incredibly private whilst at the same time we could meet with our friends for a drinlk by the pool and make use of the barbecue facillities.We could also walk 10 minutes to the local beach and its great restaraunt down through the olive groves
Mike and Maria have a wealth of local knowledge directing us to some little family run village restaraunts ,very Greek and not great English speaking which makes them even more fun.And incredibly cheap the most expensive meal being 140 Euros between the six of us and we do not hold back on the eating and drinking when we are out.
Maria also cooked for us on our first and last nights Very tasty and handy if you have had a long day travelling. Mike and Maria were good company and looked after us very well. Lots of complimentary produce from their fruit trees
Great place for a group of friends or familles to spend time away together

Room Tip: all the villas are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
28
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chippenham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We had a brilliant holiday with our family. The welcome was warm, the villa ideal and very pretty, set above the beautiful pool, around which one could barbeque and eat or relax and enjoy the stunning views of countryside and coast. The perfume of Wisteria and lemon blossom added to the ambience. To walk down through the vineyards and olive groves to the sea, passing goats and a friendly donkey amidst carpets of predominantly yellow spring flowers was sheer joy. Our cameras were very busy. Michael and Maria anticipated our every need and we feasted on delicious olives, oil, wine, chutneys and baking - all home grown and produced. Dinner on their terrace was a delight. Their recommendations for eating out locally were invaluable - the local cuisine was excellent. Surrounding areas - villages, countryside, coast and ancient sites provided fascinating variety, but often we were reluctant to leave the beauty on our doorstep.
All in all a fantastic holiday - Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This is one of the best family holidays we have ever had. Wonderful accommodation; beautiful views; great beaches a few minutes walk away; Koroni is a wonderful town - the best part of the Peloponnese. Great food made by Maria. Highly, highly recommended.
Johann and Hazel de Bono and family, Surrey, UK

Room Tip: Villas can easily take 4 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

A wonderful stay at the Icon Painter Villas. The weather was still good enough in October for days at the beach in the warm sea, great hospitality from Michael and Maria (fresh fruit on the terrace in the morning is a treat), quiet beaches, historic sites, lovely food and just all round relaxation. The pictures on the website reflect reality.

Room Tip: All of the villas are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We had a very relaxing week in the villa, swimming at the numerous local beaches, eating (with the help of Michael and Maria) at ‘real’ local restaurants getting an authentic experience of Koroni and its surroundings. The villa was ideally sized for us as a family of four – and the whole set-up, from the pool, the BBQ area and setting within an olive grove meant we could let the children explore in safety whilst we took in the view and enjoyed the local wine.

The hosts genuine warmth and passion for Greece, the local area, its food and history made this a very memorable holiday – we can’t wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gotnenburg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We have stayed at many places in Gteece but to no other place have we returned as often as to The Icon Painter's villas. There are many reasons for this. The villas, shaped by an excellent architect (Michael), have a wonderful view over the sea to the Mani peninsula. There is also a nice garden with fruit trees, oranges, figs,olives and vegetables. You can get the finest olive oil and olives here. From the garden you can also take a walk through the olive groves down to a nice beach.

Best of all: our friendly and hospitable hosts, Michäel & Maria, who make every effort to make you feel good.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

We stayed one week in mid-September 2011 at the Icon Painter's Villa, seeking rest and relaxation after two weeks visiting many of Greece's ancient sites. We found the perfect fusion of comfort and peaceful rural living Greek-style. The combination of self catering (delicious homegrown or local produce from our hosts and freshly caught fish from the sea front in Koroni) plus the possibility of an excellent meal prepared by Maria and served by Michael on the terrace, enchanted us.

Our host were exceptionally attentive to our needs though not at all intrusive. We relished Maria's home baked breads, Greek cuisine ,wonderful aubergine and tomato chutneys and ,by no means least ,their very own delicate olive oil. A generous platter of fruit and vegetables often appeared outside their door and was a godsend to self caterers who were invited to help themselves.

We valued their knowledge of the country and culture ,enjoying many interesting conversations on related topics. We were also impressed by the extremely cordial relations which Michael and Maria have built up with local people and which extended to us when it was known where we were staying.We experienced much kindness as a result.

The design of the villa and its location amongst the olive and other fruit trees, looking out over the Messenian Gulf towards the Taiyetos Peaks are stunning.The villa's natural air conditioning by dint of carefully placed windows and their shutters, reduces the need to throw a switch and is in keeping with a sympathetic approach to the environment.Such was the attention to detail that everything we needed was in place.

The pool,just a step from the front door, was a magnet- quiet and beautiful in its surroundings of colourful climbing plants ,birds and butterflies long since absent from the British countryside.It is artfully designed to ensure tht the water level appears to meet that of the sea as you swim,creating a blissfully tranquil sense of infinity. Our advancing age led us to think how nice it would be to have a handrail to help us climb out! Having done that a comfortable pair of sunloungers and elegant parasol tempted us to to spend lazy afternoons reading and swimming. Indeed it would be very easy to spend days there and not go out at all .However we enjoyed walks through the unspoilt coutryside down to the sea and along the beach to the taverna for a drink and a meal before taking a taxi back.

As travellers choosing to use public transport on our travels in Greece ,we were grateful to Michael for several lifts to Koroni which was just too far to walk comfortably.Koroni is the most lovely village, its waterfront picture perfect.We shopped there even purchasing English newspapers on the day of publication.and also explored the Citadel.

We can't wait to return to this little corner of paradise with its beautiful land and seascapes, dazzling starlit night skies and a warm welcome when we eventualy reach the Icon Painter's Villa ( local maps are a must for geographers and anyone wanting to find their own way). Next time we'll fly directly to Kalamata and hire a car so we can visit many more of those fascinating historical sites.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Icon Painter Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Icon Painter Villas

Address: Kalamatas-Koronis, Koroni 24004, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Koroni
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Koroni
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
the Iconpainter Villas are located 5km north of the picturesque village of Koroni close to Peroulia Beach and the unspoilt villages of Harakopio and Kombi. Four two room villas and a swimming pool nestle in a beautiful landscape of olive groves and vineyards with spectacular views of the sea, mountains and in the distance the village of Koroni. As well as the villas and pool you can eat delicious meals with us made with our own produce from the garden, or if you prefer there is daily a selection of fresh produce available for guests to cook for themselves. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Icon Painter Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.