We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A soothing experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akti Taygetos Resort

Save Saved
You added Akti Taygetos Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Akti Taygetos Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Mikra mantinia, Kalamata 24100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Kalamata
Athens
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A soothing experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2009

This hotel is perfect for a relaxing family holiday. The location is very quiet, yet only ten kilometres from the city center, with easy parking. The interiors are a bit dated and unexciting, but clean and welcoming. What makes this hotel is its impeccable, lush garden and pleasant pool area. Our 'family bungalow' was located next to the pool, which made it very easy and safe (and exciting) for the boys (aged 9 and 6) to go to and from on their own. The poolside restaurant is convenient for those not wanting to leave the hotel, but the food was very mediocre (not recommended). Across the street from the hotel, perched on the cliff, is the hotel bar, possibly one of the best kept secrets in Kalamata: comfortable setting (large deck for drinks, snacks, and sunbathing), spectacular views (and sunsets) across the bay to Kalamata - a great place to sip cocktails and play word games while admiring the scenery. From the deck, a staircase takes you down the cliff onto a tiny pebble beach, which is shady for most of the morning. An elevator and tunnel lead from the hotel's parking lot directly onto the deck (safer than crossing the street). I highly recommend Akti Taygetos. If the interiors were upgraded and the restaurant food improved this would be an absolute gem.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akti_taygetos, Manager at Akti Taygetos Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2009
Thank you for your helpfull review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    33
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
15
34
1
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Malmö
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2009

Albeit situated on a slope, but you get help getting your luggage from the parking up to your room. The room we had was at the back row of the hotel, i.e. furthest up the hill. It was, however, not that hard work walking up and down. He view from the adequately sized balcony was fantastic overlooking the Messinian bay and Kalamata.
The hotel has its own little stretch of beach and pool bar on the other side of the road, that you pass in a tunnel underneath, all very safe.
The pool area is nice, clean and just beneath the poolbar/restaurant.
The staff was friendly and service minded, albeit a bit on the slow side - but it's Greece and they can't be considered to be any slower than anywhere else.
Kalamata is a nice change to the islands and the food was very good and moderately priced, compared to Athens or the islands. A car is nice to have as there are a lot of things to see and go to, and especially since the hotel is not exactly in the center. Drivng along the coast road to see the other beaches and having lunch in the numerous restaurants is not a bad way of spending a week, or more.
We had a 2,5 year old with us and it was not a problem at this hotel at all.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2008

We were so pleased to finally get here and just relax! The walk up to the room was breathtaking enough, but as you turn around when you get to the pool there's a view of the sea, a bar/restaurant at the pool and very easy beach access across the street. It was perfect. Unfortunately our room didn't have a beach view adn neither did the breakfast room which was beautiful. We spent a lot of time at the beach which was shady and pretty private and also at the pool which wasn't too crowded. The staff was wonderful. Room was slightly small.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2008

We arrived to this resort to a reception that was very unwelcoming.
When we were told we had a bungalow room we headed down there to be bitterly disappointed. This resort classifies itself as 4 star, but these rooms are not. They have 1 bedroom with aircon and the other room which they converted as a room for my kids had no aircon. For a resort to classify these rooms as 4 star it wasnt any thing near it, more like 2 star. We were then told we had to pay extra to stay in a better room. If we hadn't paid a deposit we wouldnt of stayed there. I thought they were very deceiving.

  • Liked — free internet, nice breakfast
  • Disliked — various types of accommodation at similar prices
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

I spend a weekend at this hotel at mid September.

The hotel is really great. Has very nice rooms. I stayed in one of the bungalows rooms and it was very nice. Big enough with full equiped kitchen, safe and really great view.

The hotel offers quite good breakfast and the food at the swimming pool was really good.
What I liked most was the gardens of the hotel. A lot of trees, plants and flowers make this hotel really nice.

The swimming pool with the Hydro-massage was a place to relax. Very quite away from noises.

I didn't visit the beach so I cannot comment on it. But they told me that they are making a tunel that connects the hotel with the beach underground (see the photo).

The staff and the owner of the hotel were really kind and helpful.

If you visit Kalamata I really suggest to spend some days there. You won't regret it!

  • Liked — The gardens of the hotel
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Akti Taygetos Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akti Taygetos Resort

Address: Mikra mantinia, Kalamata 24100, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Kalamata
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 18 hotels in Kalamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Akti Taygetos Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in one of the most beautiful spots of the Messinian Bay, under the shadow of Mount Taygetus and only a few minutes from the centre of Kalamata, Akti Taygetos Conference Resort provides the perfect setting for your vacation or your business trips.To complement your stay, we offer free wi-fi, satellite TV, a spacious parking lot, a large swimming pool, relaxing Jacuzzi and a magnificent, organized beach perfect for swimming, fun and games.All rooms and apartments are painted in warm colours and are elegantly decorated, reflecting quality and luxury. They all have large balconies with a panoramic view, and are equipped with air-conditioning, anatomical mattresses, refrigerator or mini-bar, safe and hair-drier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Akti Taygetos Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akti Taygetos Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.