We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good value for money option for someone that prefers to avoid travelling by boat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Filoxenia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Filoxenia to your Saves list
Filoxenia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Navarinou st., Kalamata 24100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Kalamata
Athens
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A good value for money option for someone that prefers to avoid travelling by boat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

This hotel is highly recommended for familles. A strong advantage is the location of the hotel, by the sea, as well as its swimming pools and its garden.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    74
    30
    12
    3
See reviews for
77
55
2
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

The hotel has the perfect location in Messinian Bay. Close (just 2km) from Kalamata but in the best location of the seashore with "almost" private beach, crystal clear waters.
Renovated and belonging to Classical group of hotels, offers for a reasonable price a perfect family location. Very friendly personnel, willing to help and smiling. Rooms are small to average size but satisfactory equipped.
The only negative point is the "kitchen" Even in the messinian night kitchen dedicated to Greek food the quality was just acceptable. Anyway there are many nice places outside the hotel for dinning so, unless you don't want to move from the hotel, which I don't recommend because kalamata and surroundings are beautiful, this should not be the critical factor for someone to decide to spend a few days at Classical Filoxenia hotel.

Room Tip: Regular rooms have just enough space for two adults, so if travelling with kid(s) make sure to ask f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

we stayed at Filoxenia with my husband
the place is clean very well serviced and the staff is very kind and helpful the hotel has direct access to a very nice beach i visited the spa daily and indulged in very calming massage
the rooms are clean with nice views The hotel is very reasonable priced for tha services they offer The only little remark is that air condition in corridors is very freezing and as we do not like air con this was very disturbing as we had to cover up as we exited the room
kalamata is a wonderful place to stay
we only had break fast at tha hotel the buffet offers a variety of things more local products will be appreciated and all coffees espresso etc are free of charge sadly the wifi is not functioning will certainly come back

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Stayed for weekend business trip. For the star rating breakfast buffet was poor in comparison with other hotels around the country. No fresh fruit available, bread and pastries not so fresh. Other hotels provided complimentary tea/coffee making facilities in room, but this one doesn't, which seems mean considering the price of the room. On returning to our rooms after breakfast at 9.30am Sunday we could not get back into room using our pass cards. The cards had been deactivated even though check-out time is 12 o'clock. Fortunately found member of staff with pass card to let us enter, otherwise we were expected to walk all the way to the reception area to find help. Beach in front of hotel had just been excavated to plant sunshades which were not yet in service. Not the best beach in Messinia. No internet access was available.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2011

We stayed at the Filoxenia for a friend's wedding. The hotel did a great job accommodating all guests and the wedding reception was absolutely fantastic, with stunning decorations and delicious food.

The rooms were large and comfortable, though the decor felt a little dated. The breakfast (self-service) was fantastic, but the service at the bars/restaurants throughout the day was very slow and inefficient. Food and drinks were good when they arrived, but we frequently had to wait a considerable time to order and then again for the food. And the prices were high compared to elsewhere in Kalamata.

The pool was lovely, as was the sea and beach, and there were plenty of sunloungers provided. The hotel was also an easy walk from other hotels and bars along the seafront.

Kalamata itself didn't seem particularly interesting, but there's some beautiful beaches and waterfalls within a short drive, with Olympia and Sparta slightly further afield.

Room Tip: I would recommend a balcony room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Philoxenia is part of the Classical Hotels one of the most prestigious hotel chains in Greece. Unfortunately, this hotel bares very little resemblance to the other hotels across the country.

On May 21st, with the tourist seasonin full swing the beach area in front of the hotel was all dug up, dirty and the umbrellas and deck chairs had not been set up.

This hotel advertises itself as e-Filoxenia but there is to e- to be found anywhere in the hotel. After having checked before noon I was assured that the wifi connection would be re-established by 2pm, then 5pm, then 8pm. At 11 pm when I confronted the 3rd different receptionist I was told that my room 315 had a problem but there was wifi in the main building. I immediately moved to room 105 in the main building only to find out there was no net connection. The receptionist assured me that there was internet in the reception area so I moved there: guess what? Nothing! For a business hotel and the year 2011 this is unacceptable.

In terms of cleanliness the room was just ok but there was a dead swallow on my balcony decomposing for the 2 days I was there.

On the day of my departure from 8 o' clock in the morning I had no access to my room. I had my card recharged twice at the reception and tracked down the cleaning ladies another two times to open the door for me. At 11 o' clock I was told off by a cleaning lady for not having vacated my room earlier!!!!!!!

Overall the hotel is dated and the staff and management require a serious attitude re-adjustent. The garden of the hotel is wonderful, the breakfast is decent but the hotel is dated and it shows. I would not have made an issue with the internet had I been told from the beginning that there was none at the hotel from starts and the pool was nothing to write home about.

There is no real value for money at this hotel. Maybe it is a good place for families to come on vacation but on the other hand Elite Hotel is just across the road perfect for both business and holidays, with wonderful staff, organized functional facilities and far far better prices.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

The hotel was very nice and clean. It is just on the beach and has a very nice garden around the swimming pool. The room was spacious with a view to the pool and the sea.(The bathroom though was kind of small related to the room)When I was there it was quiet (1-3/09/2010).The breakfast had variety and the lunch was average. I would peak this hotel if I had to go again to Kalamata

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Filoxenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Filoxenia

Address: Navarinou st., Kalamata 24100, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Kalamata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Kalamata
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kalamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Filoxenia 4*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Filoxenia, the perfect Family Getaway in Kalamata. With gorgeous beach and crystal clear waters right in the front, and plenty to do within stroller-pushing distance along an exotic riviera with palm trees to Kalamata town, magnificent Filoxenia is the perfect family getaway. Located on the beachfront of Kalamata, under the magnificent Taygetos Mountain. The Messinian Gulf with its crystal clear azure-blue waters and 300 meters of smooth pebble beach is ideal for luxury holidays in the Peloponnese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Filoxenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Filoxenia Hotel Kalamata

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Filoxenia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.