We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok hotel, nice view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Messinian Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Messinian Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Messinian Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Almyros Verga, Kalamata 24100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Kalamata
larissa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“ok hotel, nice view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed at the end of July for 2 nights. Average hotel, nice view from the balcony, the stuff was really nice and helpful at all times (we asked for a baby bed in our room which was provided at once and with no extra charges e.g.)
The room was a little bit small for a couple with a baby but it was clean and with nice colors.
The breakfast buffet was nothing really special and the food as well.
Really Great view, nice location near down town, nice and clean pool.
The price for this period was so 'n so!
I would expect more for the money given!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    30
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
21
33
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

The best resort near the city of Kalamata, that I´ve been so far.
Prices are reasonably set in conection with the high quality of stay that this hotel offers.
No doubt, this hotel has the most magnificent view over the Messinian bay, placed at the inner point of a natural bay with crystal clear water and equipped with a clean swimming pool.
Use the restaurant to taste real traditional greek food.
Personnel is well educated and professional.
This hotel guarantees a high quality of holidays at a quiet and yet unspollt greek resort.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

Great view over Messinian Bay but some 10 minutes from city centre. First thing is you will need a car to stay here as buses are not frequent enough.

Rooms are spacious enough. Breakfast is adequate but do not arrive to late as they do not top up food and not much left after 9.15.

Had dinner in restaurant first night- was nice outside but half the menu was not available. Food was average and a little overpriced for what you get.

We found a restaurant right next door (towards town) which was lovely - great service and reasonably priced.

Be careful walking to restaurant or beach bars as there is no footpath and cars can get close!!

Be careful as laundry is outsourced and it took 2 days t get back - you have to ask for it at reception and pay for it there.

Not sure if it was like this as not many people around this summer.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

At first glance this hotel doesn't look anything like a 3 star hotel. Elegant lobby, lovely grounds, nice pool, great waterfront location and beach and wonderful views. The rooms are nicely decorated but small, same with the bathroom - 3 star size? The breakfast buffet was extensive and tasty and the food in the restaurant was good. The problem is with the staffing - not enough. All the staff are very polite and good at what they have time to do but they're rushed. The person at the reception doubled as a barman at night, the woman by the beach front bar was by herself and had to rush up 2 flights of stairs to the restaurant whenever someone ordered a sandwich. This actually ruined our stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

We stayed at this hotel with my wife as we had a wedding to attend to and the travel agents had booked the hotel for us.

Unfortunately, the first impressions weren’t very good from the minute I stepped in.

The parking was constantly packed, forcing us to park in a second parking lot about 300 meters from the entrance of the hotel, but only if we were lucky to find a spot. Upon arrival, as my wife had already checked in earlier that day, they went ahead and issued a 2nd magnetic key for myself and handed it over to me. The receptionist didn’t even bother explaining where the room is located, so I won’t even complain about not getting some help carrying the luggage, suits, etc. to my room.

Located at the basement, in the end of a long corridor with another 6 – 8 rooms neighboring it, all of them located next to each othe, the corridor floor was covered with a cheap carpet that reeked and could only make you anticipate reaching your room in hope of some fresh air.

Entering the room on the far end of the corridor, I think it would be safe to say that it could be even worse than the corridor. The room seemed as if it was shut for ages (although fairly clean) and as if there were some forgotten sneakers somewhere inside. (I even tried searching for the source). No balcony, fair view, empty mini bar, no glasses, the list could go on. The bathroom was fairly sized, and the water was very decent, although there was an exposed socket that had managed to get detached from the wall next to the shower, which I feel was quite dangerous. I left it as is in order to see if anyone would bother repairing it or sticking it back to its place, but it remained as I found it upon our departure.

Our friends that were staying in the room next door, and other rooms in the hotel also had issues with the smell in the rooms, the service, not to mention that we could have an open discussion with closed doors and we could hear everything perfectly. At least we saved some money on telephone bills when arranging at what time we should meet at the lobby. ;-)

Apparently, the hotel was refurbished, but that was only a small attempt to disguise the serious issues the hotel has. I believe the owners probably want to make some changes, but wouldn’t know where to start from. I’d start from the pricing and the get rid of that disgusting carpet. Although a lot of the exterior furniture was new, along with the lights, floors, tables, etc. the pool area still had the old umbrellas, and the service at the restaurant by the pool was terribly slow and of very low quality. It would take at least 35 minutes to get a plate of scrambled eggs, 10 minutes for a drink, and another 15 to get attended by the waiter, and all that with only a few guests seated. I would hate to see what would happen if it was packed. Unfortunately, no staff was available towards the late hours to fix you a drink at the lovely veranda available by the reception in order to enjoy the view.

No value for money whatsoever. All our friends and/or family that happened to stay at the hotel because of the venue we had to attend to also agreed with all of the above. The smell in the rooms, (no) quality of service, etc.

Thanks for taking some time to read my review.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kalamata hotels

Leiden, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Stayed here for 2 nights with a family of four in the heart of the summer. Staff was extremely helpfull and even though there were diners for hundreds of people both evenings the managed to make an execellent diner en give us all the attention as if we were the sole visitors. Two pools,and the sea gives you of wide choice where to swim. Since it has "only" 74 rooms it's never crowded ans there's always plenty of room to sit or take an sunbed. But the unique selling point is indeed the view. From your room, from the restaurant, or the excellent lounge bar at the second pool: the view of messinian bay and kalamta (especially at sundown) is unbeatable. One of the other reviewers wondered wether the greek habbit of rising prices during summer to a sky high level would go for this hotel as well. No it doen't. In the email excange we agrreed a price of 90 euro a room including breakfast. Considering what you get it's cheap.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

Stayed here for a week towards the end of June.
The views from the hotel are great with the mountains behind and the sea in front - all rooms have sea views. Kalamata is a short taxi ride away (approx 8 euro) and there is a restaurant and 2 beach bars within walking distance.
All the hotel staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were of a good size and standard. A pool bar is due to open for this Summer (July 7th) and a gym is close to completion to improve this hotel even further.
Would definitely recommend anyone to stay at the Messinian Bay hotel

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Messinian Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Messinian Bay Hotel

Address: Almyros Verga, Kalamata 24100, Greece
Location: Greece > Peloponnese > Messenia Region > Kalamata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Kalamata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Messinian Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Messinian Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Messinian Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.