We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SAFETY AND SECURITY More info

“Beauty and graciousness at Los Dos B and B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Los Dos Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jocotepec
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Los Dos Bed and Breakfast
191 Calle Rico | Nestipac, Jocotepec CP45800, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Jocotepec B&B and Inns
Santa Cruz, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beauty and graciousness at Los Dos B and B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2008

Los Dos B and B was a wonderful, relaxing, secure, artistic setting. It sits uphill from the small, friendly town of Jocotepec and has four apartments with kitchenettes, all of which are beautiful, with arced alcoves, lovely tile work, wonderful colors and the art work of Georg Rauch, an internationally recognized painter. His widow, Phyllis, maintains the property and is an extremely gracious, friendly, genuine and informative host. She was always available to advise us on travel and dining. We had delicious breakfasts out on her porch, with a great view of the things below us--the solar heated swimming pool, which was large enough for lap swimming and a favored activity while we were there, the many fruit trees on the property, and Lake Chapala and the mountains on the other side. We also really liked the people who worked on the property and helped make the atmosphere so friendly. It was a rich and relaxing stay.

John and Wilma Chandler jochandler@aol.com

Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    12
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
20
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2008

If you are looking for a place to relax in the quiet and still be close enough to go do everything you want, this is the place for you. A hidden paradise with excellent service. Can't recommend it highly enough. Enjoy the solar heated pool, colorful gardens and incredible art that surrounds you, as well as the gracious hostess and staff.

  • Liked — Staff and location
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2008

Last month, my husband, our 12 y/o granddaughter, and 4 friends spent two amazing weeks at Los Dos B&B. Los Dos is a paradise at the edge of the small town of Jocotepec, Mexico. The property is beautifully designed and landscaped with wild orchards growing in front of the doorway to the main house. It is on the side of a hill with a view of Lake Chapala and the surrounding area. There is a heated swimming pool which at times was warm enough to swim in at night. Plus each of the suites had a small kitchenette so that we did not have to eat out every night.

But the bonus for our stay was Phyllis, the owner, and her staff: Rita, always helpful and friendly; Mari, a character and comedienne, and Manuel, who was ever so patient as I struggled with speaking my broken Spanish. All were welcoming and before long, we became friends.

Phyllis and her husband, Georg, now deceased, built Los Dos 30 years ago. Georg was an incredible artist and his paintings are everywhere at Los Dos. If you are interested, you can ask to see where the gallery of his paintings is, which is truly amazing. And if you do decide to visit, be sure to say hello for me. ~ Jozeffa

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2008

We stayed at Los Dos for 10 days this past May and June. We were on a trip to assess Mexico as a retirement spot. Though we visited other places we enjoyed, the combination of the beautiful "Marble Suite", Phyllis' hospitality, the beauty of the grounds, the prevalence of art, and the kindness and attention of the Mexican staff made us feel as though we had come home.

We look forward to returning again in the near future, and there's not enough I can say to praise Phyllis for her insight and warmth as well as her knowledge. This experience is a winner!

  • Liked — The beauty of the gardens and Phyllis' company
  • Disliked — poor CNN reception on the TV
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GDL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2008

We had such beautiful weekend at Los Dos,the pets are so well educated and the variety of plants, I've never seen before, it's just amazing. The view, the food, the atention, the silence, we couldn't ask for more. The only thing that we hated, was to leave. Los Dos is a creation of love, everything fits just perfectly.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — No comment
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sorrento BC
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2008

We spent four wonderful weeks at Los Dos B&B this past winter. What a treat to stay at this special place which is a member of the Historic Hacienda Inns Association. Our hostess Phyllis is a warm, gracious, generous and talented woman and it was a treat to get to know her as well as her wonderful staff Mari, Rita and Manuel and her lovely pets.

Everything was as advertised on the website if not better and all the suites are unique with amazing art in each. The pool was most relaxing on warm afternoons, while garden areas offered shady nooks to escape the sun. The nearby birdbath was always a flurry of activity and we enjoyed the great variety of species which made use of it.

The community of Jocotopec offers an authentic taste of Mexico with a number of charming restaurants, a colourful market, and the downtown plaza perfect for a cool drink while people watching. If you plan an extended stay there are numerous day trips to choose from.We checked out some of the mountain towns nearby, other communities around the lake, Guadalajara and a remarkable 3- day tour to the neighbouring state of Michoacan to view the wintering site of the Monarch butterflies.

We hope we will be able to return to this remarkable “piece of paradise” in the future.

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chilliwack bc
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

Our stay at Los Dos was a wonderful experience. The Casa where we stayed is a self contained 3 story house with a beautiful view of Lake chapala from the 3rd floor balcony. The owner and hoast of Los Dos, Phyllis Rauch, was so helpful and accommondating. Phyillis has lived at Los Dos for over 30 years and is very knowledgable about the surrounding area and has wonderful suggestions on where to go and what to see. Her staff are friendly and keep Los Dos so neat and tidy. We had full maid service and a full breakfast on the patio of the main house every morning. If we didn't want to tour around we relaxed by the heated pool at Los Dos. A very fine vacation at a very reasonable price. We will return again in the near future.

  • Liked — the peace and quiet and scenery
  • Disliked — can't think of a thing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Los Dos Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Dos Bed and Breakfast

Address: 191 Calle Rico | Nestipac, Jocotepec CP45800, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Jalisco > Jocotepec
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Jocotepec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on a hillside overlooking Lake Chapala, and just a few lakeside miles from Ajijic and Chapala, Los Dos B&B offers visitors a tranquil location with 4 separate suites offering private bath and kitchen, a heated pool, and secure parking. Over thirty years of living in and loving Mexico make writer and artist Phyllis Rauch the perfect host for sharing insights and experiences as well as for answering your many questions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Los Dos Bed And Breakfast Jocotepec, Mexico - Jalisco

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Los Dos Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Los Dos Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list