We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, reasonably priced for what you get.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Companion Hotel/Motel

Companion Hotel/Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hearst
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Companion Hotel/Motel
Save
You added Companion Hotel/Motel to your Saves list
930 Front Street | P.O. Box 1658, Hearst, Ontario P0L 1N0, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hearst
Lindsay, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good, reasonably priced for what you get.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Was a bit concerned staying here because of the bar and restaurant in the motel and a bar across the street. And also the running locomotive behind the motel. We never heard any commotion from either location, except the humming of the running locomotive, but we didn't have to be worried. Had a nice meal in the hotel restaurant. Managed to get to sleep, it was like being a little one, going for a drive, to get to sleep. LOL Nice clean room,comfortable bed and clean well stocked bathroom. Would recommend this hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    11
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
3
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Was a bit concerned staying here on a Friday night because of the bar and restaurant in the motel and a bar across the street. We never heard any commotion from either location so we needn't have been worried. Had a nice meal in the hotel restauran. Nice clean room,comfortable bed and clean well stocked bathroom. Would recommend this hotel and we will stay there again on our return journey.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Mostly for the bar and restaurant, which is where the whole town seems to congregate on a thursday-through-weekend evening. Friendly people, well priced booze. Great restaurant buffet next door (great compared to nothing else in the town!)

Oh and if the bar empties out on a saturday night- just look across the street where the party has turned to a tiny dance club! cheers!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Clean rooms, dirty bar and ok restaurant. They are trying but it is an old hotel. Coffee makers in the rooms would be nice. Dont try to force me to your restaurant. After all you do charge full price for rooms

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The room was spacious and clean. The hot tubs were dirty and I would not use them. The food at the restaurant was okay, but the wait was 1 hour!!! They were aware of the fact that there were numerous hockey teams staying there, they should have brought in more staff. To add insult to injury, the few waitresses they did have working spent alot of their time outside smoking....SAD!! May stay there again in the future, but will be eating elsewhere!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
408 reviews 408 reviews
268 hotel reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

Pretty decent, considering the location. A full-service hotel from a bygone era. Helpfull staff. Paper-thin walls. Seems to attract a wilder croud. 6/10

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Ontario
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

My wife and I have travelled from our home in north-eastern Ontario to Thunder Bay several times each year for the past 10 years or more. We usually stay in Hearst, Ontario at the Companion Motor Inn.

While the Companion is not an ultra-modern facility and shows some signs of wear, we have always found the rooms and the hotel overall to be very clean, well run and a reasonably good value. The hotel's dining room, while a bit pricy, has always provided good quality food. The front desk and dining room staff have always been very competent and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Companion Hotel/Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Companion Hotel/Motel

Address: 930 Front Street | P.O. Box 1658, Hearst, Ontario P0L 1N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Hearst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Hearst
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Companion Hotel/Motel Hearst, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Companion Hotel/Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.