We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish I had checked tripadvisor before checking into this hotel!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson to your Saves list
Howard Johnson
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   915 George Street | P.O. Box 823, Hearst, Ontario P0L 1N0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hearst
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wish I had checked tripadvisor before checking into this hotel!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

After checking into this hotel and seeing the state of the room I decided to read the reviews on tripadvisor. A bit backwards I know, but we were traveling and didn't have internet. All the comments about bed bugs had me feeling like I should have spent the extra $10 and stayed at the Queen Motel on the highway. I'm happy to report we manage to get a room without bed bugs but the condition of the carpet was terrible. There were stains throughout the room. The shower and other bathroom fixtures were very clean, thankfully!!! The condition of the rest of the building is terrible. The halls are dark, the carpet, paint etc. very old....the whole motel is very TIRED to say the least!!! I will not be staying in this hotel again. Take my advice, stop at a McDonald's or Tim Horton, use their internet and check tripadvisor, once you know which city you will be staying in at the end of a day's travel...that is exactly what I will be doing in the future.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojohearst, Manager at Howard Johnson, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
Thanks for taking time to highlight the problem areas at our property during your recent visit, we highly appreciate your comments, all the rooms rented or not rented are checked thoroughly by the house keeping staff on daily and weekly basis, I am happy to hear that you did not have any issue with the cleanliness of the room, bathroom, and your bed/bed linens.
Please do also consider the positive comments left on this site by quite a few valued guests, this is to assure you that you would have a positive experience on your next stay, as we at Howard Johnson Inn Hearst are committed to provide the best service and the most comfortable stay to our guests. Your comments have prompted us to take an immediate action on areas needing attention.Thanks again and we look forward to welcome you at our property in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    2
    6
    13
See reviews for
10
9
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We went across Northern Ontario and stayed at various chain hotel/motels during the trip. This hotel is by far the worst place we've ever been to.

We were settling into bed when we saw bed bugs crawling on the night stand. I freaked out and pulled the sheets and mattress off. There were pieces of food, old ear plugs and random crap under the mattress. It was disgusting!!! Stained carpets, smelly and dusty we could do, but this motel topped it off with bed bugs and random disgusting crap in sheets. We ended up sleeping in the car. If we didnt have a car, it would have been cleaner/safer to sleep on the street.

This place was also terribly unorganized; when i went in to complain about the bed bugs the next morning, the receptionist didnt have record of our payment from the night before or anything. Good thing, I kept a copy of my receipt.

This place is horrible, absolutely DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojohearst, Manager at Howard Johnson, responded to this review, September 12, 2012
First of all we apologize for the inconvenience you had to experience during your stay with us, at the same time we are thankful to your comments which prompted us to take an action on an emergency basis, The Housekeeping staff definitely did not perform to the required standards due to which you had to go through all the hardship. We can assure you that your next visit would not be the same. All the problem areas highlighted in your comments are fixed.
we are therefore requesting you to please provide us another chance and your stay would be on the house, Your FREE night has been entered into computer records and you could redeem at any time until June 30th 2013. We look forward to welcome you at our property soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hearst hotels

1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel last week on a trip across Canada. I always read these reviews and think that people are overreacting. Well, this is hands-down the absolute WORST hotel I have ever stayed at.
Our dog was travelling with us, so we were given a "pet friendly" room. We were put in a room that is in a closed off part of the hotel- you have to drive down the street and on to a back road to get there. There were no other people staying in any of the rooms around us (totally deserted). The deadbolt on the front door did not work and the light switches did not work either. Carpets looked like they had not been cleaned ever. It was apparently a "non smoking" room- but reeked like cigarettes and ceiling stained yellow. Holes in the walls that had been filled in.....I could go on but you probably get the picture by now!
Do not book at this hotel!!!! Howard Johnson should be embarrssed that this is one of their properties!!
P.S. We ended up opting to sleep in our car instead of the room (as all other motels in town were booked)

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

My husband and I agree this is the worst hotel either of us had ever been in. Very run down, the carpets were terribly stained and there was an inch of dust on top of the TV. Bath, toilet and sink were clean but we were not sure if the bed had been changed from the previous guest. I have stayed in many hotels and have not found another Howard Johson like this one. My one positive comment is that the hotel clerk was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

We were put in a section of the hotel that was closed. Room was dirty, blood stains and dirt on the walls, weeds everywhere outside, husband wore clothing to bed as didn't trust the bed covers. The room had a really bad smell. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: not recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Me and 2 other travelers just wanted a place to stay. We got great customer service from the front desk clerk they even walked us to our room! Clean, comfortable and free WiFi. We didn't get a chance to check out the TV because we were so tired but I did notice there are all the major channels. Nice place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

hotel was dirty and worn out. Web site called it refurbished - must have been another part of the place, our two rooms were awful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson

Address: 915 George Street | P.O. Box 823, Hearst, Ontario P0L 1N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Hearst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hearst
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Northern Ontario getaway. Located just off of Front and 9th Streets, the hotel is situated away from highways, railroad tracks and the pollution and noise associated with both. It is right in the heart of Hearst -- close to the most attractive shopping and across from the best restaurants and bars in town. Our comfortable lobby is equipped with a seating area where you can relax or just watch television. The lobby also offers an internet equipped computer and printer for guest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hearst, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.