We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Hearst ontario.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Howard Johnson to your Saves list
Howard Johnson
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   915 George Street | P.O. Box 823, Hearst, Ontario P0L 1N0, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hearst
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Hearst ontario.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Great location one street off the main highway therefore you don't hear the big trucks. Very reasonable rates. Customer service is awesome. Rooms are very clean and no bedbugs. Free breakfast is bonus.

Baljeet

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    2
    6
    13
See reviews for
10
9
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, New Brunswick, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Staff was very friendly and helpful and room was nice. Inexpensive and good local restaurants. Doors inside hotel and to the parking lot for each room very convenient for bringing in luggage. Glad we stayed there! Not on main throughway road but very worth it to find.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojohearst, General Manager at Howard Johnson, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
Thank you for taking time to write the review, we are so happy that you enjoyed your stay, your views are a great encouragement for us, we assure you the same hospitality and service in future, Just as a token of thanks, you have free upgrade at our property in Hearst, on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

These people really understood my needs, and I must say they went out of their way to make my stay superb..... clean rooms, truly a five star staff, they just make you feel like you are with your own family. thank you and keep up the good work.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojohearst, General Manager at Howard Johnson, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
I am pleased to read the remarks and am thankful on behalf of staff and myself for taking time to write for us, we at Howard Johnson Inn Hearst strive for the high standards of service and are continuously working towards improvement.
Remarks like yours always boost the Moral of all the staff members, and they are further looking towards being encouraged in the same manner, I am sure you would enjoy your future stays with us and look forward to welcome you and all other guests with open arms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

i stayed at the Howard Johnson hearst twice on my way to Winnipeg and back in march and april 2012, the room was spacious, clean and had all the amenities. the service was exellent and very personal. I would reccomend it to anyone going to Hearst or passing through to stay there worry free for business and pleasure.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms are very convinient
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojohearst, General Manager at Howard Johnson, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
I am pleased to read the remarks and am thankful on behalf of staff and myself for taking time to write for us, we at Howard Johnson Inn Hearst strive for the high standards of service and are continuously working towards improvement.
So we look forward to your future visits and assure same high quality service.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

A great stay includes a hotel that is safe with building code reassurance. The hotel is in a good central location close to all anemities ie.restaurants and a cinema. The hotel is surrounded by by a large parking lot. The bathroom is cleaned daily. The rooms are spacious and well ventilated. I have resided here for a week and patrons can expect hospitable and professional service.

Room Tip: Affordable and excellent rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojohearst, General Manager at Howard Johnson, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
I am thankful on behalf of staff and myself for taking time to write for us, we at Howard Johnson Inn Hearst strive for the high standards of service and are continuously working towards improvement.
the encouragement and boost which our staff members get out of the remarks like yours are of immense value and help us keep working in the right direction to provide even better service for our future guests.
we look forward to serve you again with the same warmth and quality of service and provide you the most safe and home like atmosphere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Antoine Newbrunswick
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012

I have very high standards and was pleased with the service and exceptional cleanliness. We very much enjoyed the free continental breakfast and will stay here on our next visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojohearst, General Manager at Howard Johnson, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Valued Guest!
we are delighted that, you wrote about us, we always strive for the highest brand standards and it is our commitment to fulfil our promise keeping every guest Happy.
We thank you and look forward to serve you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timmins, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Horrible....absolutely one of the worst hotels I've stayed in...I paid for 2 days and left after the first night. Beds were hard, the room was dirty. There was even an old pizza in the microwave.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hojohearst, General Manager at Howard Johnson, responded to this review, March 27, 2012
We are thankful to our valued guest for taking the time to let us know about their experience so that we could know How we are doing, every review is taken very seriously, and improvements are suggested and executed, so that our valued guests do not have to face any of such situations in future & their stay is more comfortable.
Being humans we make errors and in order to avoid such happenings,there is always a room for improvement, I on behalf of Howard Johnson Inn Hearst do apologize for the inconvenience to the valued guest and can assure a positive improvement and a pleasant experience on their next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hearst hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson

Address: 915 George Street | P.O. Box 823, Hearst, Ontario P0L 1N0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Hearst
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hearst
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your Northern Ontario getaway. Located just off of Front and 9th Streets, the hotel is situated away from highways, railroad tracks and the pollution and noise associated with both. It is right in the heart of Hearst -- close to the most attractive shopping and across from the best restaurants and bars in town. Our comfortable lobby is equipped with a seating area where you can relax or just watch television. The lobby also offers an internet equipped computer and printer for guest use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Howard Johnson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Hearst, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.