We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Money stolen and other issues” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Landmark

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Landmark to your Saves list
Hotel Landmark
47 Manik Vilas Colony | Near Railway Station, Gwalior 404002, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Gwalior
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Money stolen and other issues”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

I stayed here for an extended period, so I should share my experiences. The rooms themselves are not awful, if lacking a little in refurbishment: decent size, a/c works, TV, fridge (noisy!), no mosquitoes. The restaurant, if expensive, also produces very good food although I have been reliably informed that this has declined somewhat since the old chef left in 2012.

Now on to the problems. There are so many it is easier to list them.

1. I can confirm earlier posts that the rooms facing the back of the hotel are very noisy, particularly at night, with the aforementioned factory, and particularly packs of barking dogs throwing in their two cents' worth. Housekeeping staff work noisily on the second floor from 4am. If you are given a room facing the back, or anything on the second floor, refuse it for these reasons.

2. I had money stolen from my room while I was out. To be fair to the management they did agree to knock the stolen amount from my bill, although I wonder if this would have been the case if I wasn't staying at the arrangement of my friend who is a relative of somebody high up in the hotel management. If it wasn't for his persuasion I would have left. The hotel reception did not bother to tell me that they have safety deposit lockers at reception until AFTER the money was stolen.

3. The room boys, despite being prime candidates for stealing my money, still hankered for tips after the incident for providing things you don't ask for or need. A particularly sneaky tactic is waiting until you return to the hotel in the evening where they follow you into the room proffering fresh towels when they have been replaced earlier in the day!

4. After having the cheek to actually complain about having money stolen, I did not have my room cleaned for 4 days despite requesting this every day at reception, and then only at periods of roughly three days following this.

5. I had "prank" phone calls early in the morning from reception at 6:30am two mornings in a row. The explanation was that they misdialled housekeeping - odd as two of the three digits were different.

6. Room service food choice is poor outside of breakfast and dinner meal hours - effectively either a salad or cheese sandwich.

7. The bathroom is not the cleanest I've ever seen and they are very stingy on the loo roll and shower gel (particuarly if you're not getting your room cleaned!)

8. The restaurant and breakfast bar lets itself down with its overbearing staff, sometimes outnumbering the customers by 3 to 1, and often these staff do not let you eat your dinner in peace.

9. Very few of the hotel staff speak good English, or even understand basic spoken English.

Normally, with the exception of the stolen money, most of these things in isolation wouldn't bother me. Yet, it is the combination of factors, the fact that the hotel gets almost everything it tries to do wrong, and the pretense that this hotel holds itself up to be something it isn't that makes me expect much better, and charges exorbitant prices to match. I got what was apparently a big discount on the listed price due to my long term stay and through my friend, but still paid way over the odds.

Do I expect too much? I don't think so. I have stayed in hotels in India which have been much better in both quality and service, and of course paid a fraction of the price.

Hotel Grace is practically next door. It is cheaper, has better reviews, and really it would have to try hard to be worse than this place.

Room Tip: Avoid second floor and rooms ending in 08-12 which face the noiser back side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    18
    4
    10
See reviews for
8
21
4
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I am a bit surprised by the other reviews because we had a pretty good experience at Hotel Landmark. We walked in without a reservation and managed to knock off more than half of what she quoted us (bonus) and for one night it was perfectly sufficient. We didn't try the food at the hotel so I can't speak for that, but the service was average, and the room was clean and there was hot water and wi-fi.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Hotel gets its marks based on its location. Railways is the most efficient transportation system to reach city & Landmark hotel is just 5 mins drive from railway station.

Staff is courteous & well behaved.

Food is ok but don't expect wonders out of kitchen.

Rooms are poorly maintained. Forget about the view out of your room window. Room service is quick though.

Looks like its the best you have got in the area. If you can afford, stay in the palace. ;)

Hope it helps.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stay one night in this hotel booked by a travel agency in Delhi (Forvol), this hotel is located near the highway and the train station, the area is dirty with a lot of beggars, the rooms are very basics rooms and dirty.
Avoid this place

Room Tip: avoid this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Nice facade, lobby is small but nice, at the entrance to the guard with a gun. smoking in the hotel can not, therefore, smoking in front of the care ;) The room is not fresh, not very clean. The room has two beds, refrigerator, TV, fan, air-conditioning.
Bathroom - this is another story. Middle of the bath itself was a hole. But it slipped some putty.
There are even shampoos lotions. At half. What is not smeared with the previous guests. And it is true, then change the bottles, there still remains the same...Mold on the ceiling. There is one towel and no toilet paper.
Number of friends was a little more size. Mold was absent. Toilet paper was. So, not all such numbers as we went.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Very nice 3 star hotel at affordable cost at prime location. Very much near to railway station at the same time isolated from city crowd. Ample parking place. A choice of buffet breakfast. Bigger rooms, lift, dinning hall. Good hotel for a stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

This hotel is located very near to the railway station ( walking distance) and they offer railway station pick up and drop at your convenience.

The rooms though is in need of urgent make over and toilet hygiene leave a lot to be desired.

The TV runs mostly Hindi channels and the bed linens are run way past their retirement.

Over all an avoid unless you want something very near to railway station.

The business center for this hotel is not meant for customers but for hotels official purpose.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Landmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Landmark

Address: 47 Manik Vilas Colony | Near Railway Station, Gwalior 404002, India
Location: India > Madhya Pradesh > Gwalior
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Gwalior
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Landmark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landmark Hotel Gwalior

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Landmark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.