We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Diefenbunker - Canada's Cold War Museum

Diefenbunker - Canada's Cold War Museum
3929 Carp Road, Carp, Ottawa, Ontario K0A 1L0, Canada
+1 613-839-0007
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Carp
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit one of the most unique tourist attractions in Canada! Built to protect top officials of the Canadian government from nuclear attack, this once-secret underground bunker is now a museum & National Historic Site of Canada. Explore over 100,000sq ft of bunker secrets and relive the experience of the Cold War. With its extraordinary engineering and architectural features, the Diefenbunker is a poignant reminder of one of the most turbulent periods of modern history.
Stittsville, Canada
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
485 helpful votes 485 helpful votes
“A little bit of history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This was an enjoyable visit/relive to see a little bit of history from the Cold War. The guide was very knowledgeable and it is interesting to see what has remained.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    95
    18
    8
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Step back into the past”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Interesting place to visit. A real step back to the past...furniture, computers, medical equipment all from a long past era. Some interesting tidbits of history to read through. It is out of town though...not the most convenient spot to visit as a tourist. We did a self guided tour, which was nice, it took us about 2 hours to wander through the exhibits and read the information...we didn't see anyone else while we were there which added a a cool, isolate feel to the tour.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Diefenbunker Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I admit that I live 5 minutes from the Diefenbunker, but I still love going. I think I may have been 9 or 10 times. Everytime someone comes to visit I take them to the Diefenbunker and it seems that something new is always revealed. On this trip (I took a bunch of work colleagues) I discovered that there is a separate bunker underneath the guard house. It would have protected the gate guards if they failed to make it to the main bunker. (apparently they had 30 days of rations down there).
Make sure you allocate enough time to do this tour properly. Honestly, you need 2-3 hours to get you through everything. One hour means you will miss a lot. Yes, the gold store is fascinating and so is the medical centre and the control room and the decontamination area, but there are so many things tucked away in here. The computer room is great and the CBC broadcast facility is cool, the kitchens, the officers mess, the barrack rooms. I did not see the escape hatch on this tour, i hope health and safety have not ruled that one out! (It looks like the engine room is now off-limits due to H&S). There are lots of exhibits that help explain what it was like living under the threat of nuclear disaster.
This place is terrific for the kids and the family. A must-see if you visit the Ottawa area.
Quiz your tour guide to death, there are great stories and nooks and crannies, that you'll be fascinated by, but you might have to ask to see them....

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Window to the cold war”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We visited the Diefenbunker for the Remembrance Day service this year. What an eye-opener! I remember the sixties, but had no idea how serious our government was about the Cold War. The facility is almost all underground, entered through a long, corrugated blast tunnel designed to deflect damage from the bunker itself. The rest of the facility is on four levels, with a hospital, cafeteria, living quarters (spartan of course), comm centre, meeting rooms, offices, media centre and perhaps best of all, the Bank of Canada vault, where the service was held. Very impressive, with a walkable space surrounding the vault, encased in concrete, with monstrous doors, where the country's gold reserve could have been protected. From the decontamination area to the escape tunnel, it was fascinating, with a surreal ambiance that was more than a bit creepy.

Thank goodness someone had the foresight to save the Diefenbunker for future visitors to marvel at.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Chilling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

It's a lost era. When you walk in you can just imagine the life of fear one lived in the cold war era. The panic.

A lot of things aren't authentic (they had to buy it off somewhere else), but they give you the feel of the era. The tour was great, because you had an idea of what would have happened if there was an attack.

So what if there's a bit of dust? I thought it was much more authentic that way (actually I hadn't noticed dust much). This would be a great place to take teenagers and the like. My parents, who have survived nuclear bombs, thought it was great too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Diefenbunker - Canada's Cold War Museum also viewed

 

Been to Diefenbunker - Canada's Cold War Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Diefenbunker - Canada's Cold War Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.