We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family Run Hotel - Perfect Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Domniki Hotel

Save Saved
You added Domniki Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Domniki Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   13 Thaleias | Pernera Beach, Protaras, Paralimni 5297, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 65 Hotels in Protaras
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Family Run Hotel - Perfect Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2009

Brilliant family run hotel. Excellent location and staff a credit to the hotel itself.

Quiet in the vening which suited us with young children and only to be expected at end of season.

We ate breakfast and snacks in the hotel and they were very good.

We had an excellent holiday and would definitely return.

Thanks to all at the Domniki - We hope to see you all again soon !!

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    15
    6
    1
    5
See reviews for
43
33
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

I've been to the Domniki 3 years running and can't believe some of the recent bad comments. Overall the property is kept very clean with a lovely pool/sun terrace area, this then leads down pretty much onto a beautiful horse-shoe bay. The apartments are basic but very clean , all you would need for a 14 night stay. What makes this property unique is the family and staff, who year after year make you feel that you've come home. If you're looking for a good standard of apartment , the cleanest swimming pool you've ever seen, the friendliest staff on the island and a position that even a 5 star hotel would be proud of , go to the Domniki.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2008

Granted this is only a 2 STAR complex but there really is nothing I could recommend about Domniki. When we approached the apartments we noticed that there were letters missing from the front sign and we looked at each other and said hope thats not the standard for the rest of the place but our fears were realised when we got inside. I wont go on but do yourself a favour and drive by. Oh and I have have travelled with Olympic holidays several times and all went well but when we raised our concerns about the safety of the place they were so unhelpful and charged us to move hotels. DONT USE OLYMPIC

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

(THIS SOUNDS LIKE I HAVE MADE IT UP AND EXAGGERATING, BUT I ASSURE YOU THIS IS THE TRUTH, IF I COULD ONLY SHOW YOU ALL THE PHOTOS!)

anyone whho thinks this place is acceptable is insane, shop around and try something else. i couldnt garentee else where would be better, but I can garentee that this place is a dump.

we arrived at the domniki apartments and it looked average from the outside, but thats what were used too as we dont book in at 5* all inclusive posh hotels. we went inside and it was very much trapped in a 1980's time warp but thats ok no great expectations, all we wanted was a clean, self catering appartment just the basics. the staff were polite and helpful and showed us to the room. the room we were in was right next door to a building site... not good especially with a 1yr old who wouldnt be able to nap in the day as the bulldozers, trucks and plant machinery were passing 25ft from our window. we immediately asked if we could be moved, the staff were helpful and changed our room, so we were moved straight into a danger zone.
it was disgusting... the floors were filthy with thick dust resting on the skirting boards, with having a baby with us we didnt want to risk her choaking on whatever she finds on the floor. as we ventured into the other rooms it went from bad to worse. The fridge had been painted with Gloss paint??? weird! on the balcony the drain had no grid over it instead it had a sharp jaggered plastic pipe sticking upward which was very dangerous. the bathroom was just the pits, the sink was cracked, the whole bathroom was crawling in micro organisms...Yack!!! the metal ceiling pannels were falling in causing the celing fan to hang out with exposed wires. just awful oh and the babys cot was someting else the mesh sides had turned a yellow color in parts with filth and holes in the mesh where baby could get trapped or garrotted and there was no matress in it. we had to stay there for one night, Olympic were useless we showed the rep around our "penthouse suite" and asked her if she thought it was acceptable, she avoided answering but the look on her face showed she was very embarrassed and put very much on the spot. we were charged to move to another apartments much to our disgust, if anything they should have been paying us compensation.
we moved to the "konnos bay apartments" which was much better. it was clean with a decent and safe cot, very basic but it seemed like heven compared to the domniki.

  • Liked — there was nothing remotely nice about it
  • Disliked — poor safety and hygiene
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gateshead - upon-Tyne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2008

First time in Cyprus and i was not disappointed loved the Pernera Area and the Domniki have never been to an apartment that is so friendly happy and helpful staff the whole place is great best hol we have had for years It is family run and they really put themselves out for you never seen my other half so relaxed on hols we just use to get up and sunbathe on the grassed area then a few yards and into the sea location is brillant the rooms are basic but very roomy we were in room 5 on the ground floor just along from the reception area and we never heard a thing the bed was comftable and i slept like a log with the air-con on which you had to have with the tempratures in Aug .We are going to book to go back next year which is not like us as we usually never return to the same place but we loved it that much i can see why people go back year after year.

  • Liked — The staff cant praise them enough and the location
  • Disliked — There was nothing to dislike
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2008

just got back from the domniki would recommend this hotel to anyone excellent staff and well run hotel.spoke to many people who come back year after year, we had room 303 which had an excellent sea view which is a must if you can get it.the only downside is they need to put another air conditioning unit in the kitchen area as thier is only one in the bedroom area at present.but i do believe this is one of the things they are looking at after speaking to the owners.if you are thinking of going to this area of cyprus book this hotel you wont be dissapointed.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — only one air conditioning unit
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2008

We have just returned from an absolutely fantastic week at the Domniki. The hotel itself is family run and we were made to feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. The bar staff in particular were really friendly. Our one bedroom apartment was simply furnished, clean and quite spacious but by far its best feature was its beautiful view of the sea. Although our room overlooked the bar we were never disturbed by noise at night. The air conditioning, at an extra cost of 35euros, was absolutely essential in the Cyprus heat and the temperature of the room would have been unbearable without it. The hotel is in a good location right near the beach and a couple of minutes walk from the shops, restaurants and bars of the Penera area of Protaras. The pool area leads down to a grassed slope which goes right up to the beach. The centre of Protaras itself is a couple of miles away and is much more lively. We hired a buggy and travelled around the local area a bit. Everywhere we went the beaches were beautiful and the water crystal clear. In particular we would recommend a trip to Cape Greco and a boat trip round the coast.

  • Liked — Proximity to beach
  • Disliked — Room quite bare (no pictures on wall etc)
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Domniki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domniki Hotel

Address: 13 Thaleias | Pernera Beach, Protaras, Paralimni 5297, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#15 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#19 Family Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Domniki Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Domniki Hotel Apartments is exceptionally located in the area of Pernera. Its prime location provides unobstructed views of the crystal clear waters of the Mediterranean Sea. These Apartments in Pernera emphasise an aura of tranquility – a beautiful garden which leads down to the waterfront and the award winning blue flag Pernera Bay. Domniki Hotel Apartments has earned an enviable reputation with holiday makers for its friendly and welcoming service and attention to cleanliness within the guest accommodation and overall environment. It is a small Family Run destination with 35 rooms which caters for all guests and welcomes regulars and newcomers. The staff promise an unforgettable and enjoyable holiday to all guests who leave at the end of their holiday as part of the family. Our hotel apartments is an ideal holiday choice for a relaxing holiday in the East Coast of Cyprus. It has an excellent choice of facilities including an outdoor swimming pool, an outdoor child pool, Poseidon Scuba Diving Centre, Water sports and many more.Domniki Hotel Apartments is also on the doorstep of the new footpath they have created that links Pernera to Protaras. It is a pleasant and delightful walk with beautiful views and scenery and leads you into the heart of Protaras within ten to fifteen minutes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Venere and Otel so you can book your Domniki Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domniki Hotel Protaras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Domniki Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.