We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but could be great!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smartline Protaras Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Smartline Protaras Hotel to your Saves list
Smartline Protaras Hotel
7 Mantaliou Street, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good but could be great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Well I write this whilst waiting got the coach to take us back to the airport. The hotel is clean and comfortable and had undergone modernisation. The staff are generally helpful and friendly, Stelios behind the bar is very good and professional. Overall I would return to this hotel if they improved one thing... The food!! Although I do agree it was ok but it's so boring sand thing everyday with a different twist (lots of pasta) we upgraded to all Inclusive simply for the drinks it was great value €20 per day per person (£16) this included lunch normally (€10) so definitely worth the money. The local drinks are ok and the draft beer excellent I would certainly recommend this. The local area is pernera and about 15 minute walk into Protaras however there are a few bars and restaurants near by that are very good and reasonably priced. If you want to go into Ayia Napa it is €2 on the bus and runs until 4am or €14 in a taxi, overall for a 3* hotel it was good.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas P, Owner at Smartline Protaras Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Rbradbury,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We are happy that you have enjoyed the facilities and you were satisfied with the service of our staff. We have taken note on your comments regarding the food, we are reviewing our menu again and we are introducing additional elements such as live cooking for breakfast, lunch and dinner in order to enhance the satisfaction of all our guests

I am glad that you enjoyed your holidays and we look forward to having you back again with us soon.

Kind Regards,
Christos Papouis, Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    43
    23
    13
    3
See reviews for
30
43
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Me and my boyfriend went there in April for 7 nights. The staff were amazing, so helpful, welcoming and friendly.

The food was different every evening to give you a variety of meat, soup and salads. Desserts were soo delicious.

The hotel room was spotless, cleaned every day by the friendly cleaners. The view from the balcony was breathtaking. Seeing the sun rise every morning over the sea is the best view when waking up with a cuppa tea.

It's a short walk to the beach and to fig tree bay where there are lots of shops, bars and restaurants to choose from.
If you don't like to walk you can rent out Dune Buggies just 2 mins down the road and create your own adventure.
There's a boat ride to the ghost town where you learn the history of what happened 40 years ago and then they'll take you to the blue lagoon, where you can dive in the clear blue sea and swim up to the volcanic rock. Nothing better than relaxing on a boat with your partner, new friends and a good selection of beer from the boat's bar.

There was so much to do and the weather was fantastic.

We will be back again to the same hotel, same time next year.

Thank you Smartline for a memorable holiday :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas P, Owner at Smartline Protaras Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear 2Hammonds,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. The staff and I are very happy to read your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your holidays.

We look forward to welcome you back to Smartline Protaras.

Kind Regards,
Christos Papouis, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Very clean and modern; looks like the hotel has just undergone a major refit as all the furniture and fittings were brand new when we arrived. Bedrooms clean, comfortable and well equipped with aircon, fridge, and tea/coffee making facilities. Fast, free wifi available throughout the hotel, including out by the swimming pool! The pool itself is beautiful, as are the large secluded gardens. There is also a tennis court next to the car park. Staff were friendly, courteous and helpful, and the food was great!
My wife, youngest daughter and I had a great holiday - happy to recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are likely to be a bit noisier at night than ones on the car park side, b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andreas P, Owner at Smartline Protaras Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Andy J,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. The staff and I are very happy to read your comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your holidays.

We look forward to having you back again with us soon.

Kind Regards,
Christos Papouis, Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Spent a week in a very comfortable friendly, relaxing atmosphere. Loads of refurbishing been carried out. Everything clean and tidy. Staff friendly but not pushy. Knowledgeable and helpful.
Food plentiful and a wide choice; Well prepared and presented.
Tea and Coffee provided in room and a fridge was a great asset, Free WiFi.
Beautifully clean generous size swimming pool, surrounded by lovely gardens, ample number of Sun-Loungers and shades.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper choose a room that doesn't overlook the Pool and Bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We booked this holiday with friends and family as we needed a warm sunny break from the
dreadfull UK winter. Having had good reports from members of our family regarding this hotel we booked for a weeks hoilday. The hotel also runs a Coach Tour business and we were met at Pafos airport and taken to the hotel in Protaras that is not far from Agia Napa. We found the hotel had been very recently refurbished. The staff and owners Andreas and Keddy made us very welcome. The room was comfy with an on suite that always had hot water. The food was excellent, providing a wide choice of Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner, together with a poolside bar in the afternoon and evening.The private pools and gardens are well looked after, providing ample chair loungers.A huge main pool plus a smaller childrens pool. We loved it.

Room Tip: Most rooms having odd numbers face to pools and gardens and have balconys. Even number rooms face th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liskeard, United Kingdom
1 review
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Thank you Smartline Protarus, for making our holiday so memorable. The hotel is excellent, clean, modern and very comfortable, so delighted that we had tea/coffee making facilities and a fridge in our room. The staff friendly and very helpful, nothing was too much bother.
The food was very good with plenty of choices, so have to be careful not to put too much weight on over the holiday!!
Outside in the beautiful gardens it is an oasis of calm and relaxation, but for those with plenty of energy there is a games room, tennis courts and of course the swimming pools.
A great place, will be back again.

Room Tip: Our room was facing East so we had the sun in the morning and shade in afternoon, it was very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Smartline Protaras Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Smartline Protaras Hotel

Address: 7 Mantaliou Street, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated 2 km from Protaras centre, in the resort of Pernera, Smartline Protaras Hotel is within walking distance to the beach, the boardwalk which connects with Protaras and all local facilities. Smartline Protaras' rooms include a satellite TV and are simply furnished. Each includes air conditioning, tea and coffee facilities, free Wi-Fi and a fridge. A scenic view of the coast and the Mediterranean Sea can be seen from the balcony in most of the rooms, while the rest have a view to the beautiful gardens of the hotel. Free Wi-Fi in all public areas, a swimming pool and a tennis court are available.International and Cypriot cuisine is served at the Pavilion Restaurant. Beverages are offered in the garden by the pool in the Windmill Tavern.Guests can enjoy a game of squash or relax with a massage treatment. Smartline Protaras offers a well-equipped gym and a sauna.Daily entertaining programme is offered including live music 2-3 times a week. Children playroom and Games room with table tennis and pool table are available.Staff at the 24-hour front desk can arrange car rental. Larnaca Airport is a 45-minute drive away. A bus to the town centre stops 200 metres away. Free private parking is available at Smartline Protaras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Smartline Protaras Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smartline Protaras Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.