We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in good location, perfect for couples and families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SunConnect Protaras Beach - Rising Star Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Protaras
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
SunConnect Protaras Beach - Rising Star Hotel
Save
You added SunConnect Protaras Beach - Rising Star Hotel to your Saves list
6 Feidipidou Street, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 67 Hotels in Protaras
Chepstow, UK
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in good location, perfect for couples and families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

Just returned from a week stay at the Rising Star Beach Hotel in Protaras. I had read all the reviews before booking and was not dissappointed when we arrived. The rooms, pool area and hotel in general were very well kept and clean. During our week stay the room was serviced everyday, bins emptied, beds made etc and the towels and linen were changed twice while we were there. We had a 1 bedroom apt for 2 of us and found it spacious as we had a seperate bedroom, living area with kitchen area and a balcony. The hotel is well placed, right next to the beach and close to the town for restaurants etc but far enough away that you are not disturbed by late night music.
Although we travelled as a couple without children it was obviously a firm favourite with families. I would say it is ideal for families with children as the entertainment team work hard to ensure all needs are catered for.
We booked self catering but people who had booked all inclusive said the food was excellent with a good choice. Eating out was not as expensive as we had anticipated and there is plenty of choice. Personally I enjoy the experience of trying different restaurants rather than being restricted by all inclusive. However many restaurants were offering a set menu option for around 9 - 10 euros and the local wine is surprisingly good (approx 10 euros for a litre carafe). I would recommend the food at Zucchinis and the meze at Nicolas Tavern was very good (but be warned there is lots of it). Overall I don't think you will be dissappointed if you choose the Rising Star. Yes there is some building work going on nearby and the diggers don't enhance the scenery but we really didn't find it a problem.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    75
    27
    11
    2
See reviews for
116
80
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
newport
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

I have just come home from a weeks stay at The Rising Star and i have to say every aspect of our holiday was amazing! I would highly recommend this hotel to everyone as they really do cater for all.

The Hotel: We arrived about 2am and were greeted by the very lovely Costas! 1st impressions were good. We were guided to our room (314) which was overlooking the pool/beach. The rooms on the poolside of the hotel have the sun until around 12 on the balcony. Rooms were cleaned everyday although not too sure how many times bedding was changed but it was made everyday. Rooms were spacious and i have to comment on the kitchen, i was so impressed! I have been to many places self catering but this hotel has got to have the best facilities i've seen, We had a kettle, toaster, 2 x hob's (built into the work top) and there was also a grill! Also have plenty of utensils. Beds were also very comfy!
The staff: All the staff we came into contact with were very polite and nothing was too much trouble, especially Elios (restaurant manager) and Sergei (barman). there was also a latvian girl behind the bar who was really nice but really cant thiink of her name.
The food: we stayed self catering but ate at the hotel quite a few times during our stay and have to say we never had a bad meal. I can recommend the village salad and chicken souvlaki and also tzatziki! We did eat at the yianna Marie restaurant (the one overlooking the beach owned by the hotel) but although the food was edible it wasnt the best. a good restaurant to go to is Georgia steakhouse - they have 2 courses for as little as 9.40 euros! Food was delicious! Service excellent!
Protaras in general: There are plenty of bars, shops restaurants about and so im sure will have something for everyone. There are also 2 or 3 chemists on the main strip of which i visited 2 and i would recommend the one on the corner by waves bar - they were far more friendly and sorted out our issues pretty quickly!
Flamingo beach (the one nearest the hotel) was very clean and we paid 10euro for 3 sunbeds and a parasol which i thought to be reasonable. In my opinion though it is worth the extra few mins walk to go to Fig Tree Bay, there are less stones in the water here and it is a bit quieter as you are away from the boats.

I also want to quickly mention building work as this seems to be putting a few people off staying at this hotel... we were told 3 days before we were due to leave about the building work and had a few reservations but really wanted our holiday and so we went. I have to say im glad we did as we didnt hear any building work until the day before we came home! Even then it was prob about as noisy as drilling a wall to put a shelf up! They are working near the beach to put up a new jetty and were also putting concrete into something that i assume will eventually be a bar or something looking onto the beach but again this was practically noiseless and caused no disruption to us during our stay.

Apologies that this is so long but i wanted to let everyone know have fabulous both the hotel and Protaras is!!! Enjoy your holiday!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

after reading the reviews was so looking forward to this holiday. i booked it form holiday city teletext on tv.i booked my mother my partner and her daughter who is 6 .my mother decided she wonted a room on her own because i had booked a apartment room only with a liveing room with two small beds and a bedroom for all of us and she wonted her own privacy .so i phoned to say how much it would cost 4 her to have her own room but after speaking to the most rude and horribly people in the world i was more or less told that if i wonted a room a extra 450 pounds id need to pay and i could not cancel it and if i did id loss all my money. so my partner was upset and my mother was upset also so i.decided id phone the hotel and talk to the manager (sorted)he said when i arrived a extra 120 euro .for the room .so 2nd may came all smooth flight no prob arrived in protaras .off bus into hotel arrived yesssss.reception was nice a friendly lady at reception .told her about phone call that i had with manager .NO problem. my mother had her keys and i had mine lifts to the room and was impressed to start on arrival. my mother had a room next to me with a door adjoning it if i wonted to walk straight from our room into hers .on entering our room i was so happy she had her own room she is 65 and the beds in the living room are basic and small you have a kitching area in the livinl room tv basic channels world news .bath clean tidy ,main bed two small beds and it was ok i read in reviews take storage i did. i dont think you need it .i would advice beach view over looking pool. first day woke up 5 30 in mornin looked out from balcony sunrise was breathtaking red sun with a glow that beamed over the sea .first year for all inclusive at the hotel i think the hotel as a lot to learn,arrived first night needed food after booking into room i am fussy with my food and was given a menu steak and cod gammon etc chips home made very nice impressed and thought if this is what we got for a wk happy days .next mornin got up buffet brekfast no cereal we was told no cereal today and not much fruit.at all buffet very poor could not have menu in eve and not a lot of fruit about and buffet small no choice.lots people looked at what was on offer and walked away .after a couple days you can see it is a three star hotel the pool no problem clean with a juacuzi entertainment in day time was music around pool with them asking you to join in if you wont 2 join in with them and no pressure .entertainment in eve quiz and karoke .a scottish lad trying his best but no entertainer.protars is a nice place and beach is a stone throw away it has a grass area then a small stroll to the beach and the beach by the hotel is rocky so a walk up to where sand is at bottom of your feet is best .ice creams for kids after 12 and no cake and tea no shower gel shampo little things that make all inclusive holiday good .id like to thank adrian the manager for sorting the extra room .but beds uncomfortable and basic rooms BUDGET FOOD .AND THATS THE TRUTH.good service at tables everytime.but also given wrong flight time by holiday rep also asked for wake up call because of early flight did not get one

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

The Rising Star hotel is an excellent apartment hotel for everyone to enjoy, fantastic location, great people, centre of resort and on the beach!!! This is our second time to the rising star and looking to re-book as soon as we can. i would recommend going on an all inclusive or half board basis as the food is ace!!! Spent alot of time around pool, entertainment was excellent, kids were looked after, all staff were smashing!! a must do whilst there is the waterpark! and the jeep safari, great value and great fun!! book with rep, as same price as everywhere else, more organised and picked up from hotel, kids loved it so did we!!! Supermarkets can be quite exspensive but you can find cheaper larger ones aroubd resort!!
whoever stays at the rising Star has great things to say about it and i can definatly see why!!! see you there!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

My first time in Cyprus and I wasnt dissapointed. Protaras is a fantastic place with plenty of restaurants and bars. More for Familys and couples i would say. The hotel itself was in an excellent position with the beach on your doorstep and the boardwalk also.
Town was just a few minutes walk and you were never hassled to go into bars, etc.
The staff at the Rising Star were always very helpfull and polite.
The swimming pool was much better than expected but fairly cold haha.
Watch out for the hidden water fountains in the pool as the staff tend to have abit of fun during the day by waiting for you to go near it then all of a sudden they flick the switch haha. All good fun though.
The Bridge you can see on the photos is not safe to be walked on so its closed off.
We were their during the volcanic ash problem, Eventhough we wernt effected ourselves other guest were and in my opion Thomas Cook did more than they could to insure their guests were properly fed and looked after.
Staff in the local supermarket were also very friendly.
We went self catering with the intent on making the odd meal in the room but as the supermarket prices are so expensive we found it cheaper to eat out.
All in all a fab holiday and very highly recommended.
Oh the only downside was that i think they should change the towells in the room more frequently than they do.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

Yes, Everything is true, all the good comments on this hotel is well deserved, although very quiet this easter (very start of the season) in my opinion it must be set in just about the best area of protaras right between the beach and the fabulous promanade walkway.

We had a double room which was basic but large and very clean with free air con, centrally controlled, TV which we found had a foreign channel that played english films every night, we even watched a couple one night when we stayed in (sad I Know), we had brilliant 4th floor pool View, looking over the pool straight down the beach - fantastic. The rooms were cleaned every day and sheets and towels changed regularly.

We loved the walkway that meandered along the coast and even the beach was great, we expected it to be poor because of what people said about fig tree bay, but it was lovely too.
Protaras was dead during the day, but we went for relaxation so it wasnt much of a problem, like others have said, food and drink wasnt too bad - if you looked around you could get a beer for 1.75 euro, cocktails for 2euro and set menu meals from 10-12 euros. Even the Hotel beers were only 2 euro although I thourght the other prices were slightly more expensive than the strip, but not excessive. We were dissapointed they didn't hold the Barbeque or carvary nights, must have been too early in the season.

Our favorite Resturaunt was Paladela where Stellios and the boys were excellent hosts, the food was beautiful especially the Pork loin in Bernaise sauce (3 courses for less than 12 euros) with a bottle of house wine for 8 euros. The Greenary was good if you fancied a snack and they had free WiFi there too.
We ate in lots of resturants and most were very nice, the only bad meal we had was at the Red Indian Diner where the service was attrocious and the food mediocre, it took over half an hour between courses (even the ice cream) and there was only about 3 couples in the place, the staff diddnt seem interested after you had ordered.

An Absolute must is to walk up to the little church on the top of the hill, it is beautiful with a fantastic 360 degree view.

Hope this helps and if you have booked to stay in the Rising Star, you certainly wont be dissappointed.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2010

Been to Protaras on numerous occasions and all hotels I have stayed at have been very good including Lantiana Gardens and Pernera Beach. Was self catering at Rising Star but upgraded for some of the stay to half board as it was excellent value for money. Although hotel quiet in May there was still lots to do. I would certainly recommend going on the Catamaran. Protaras is lively although the shows in some of the bars gets pretty repetitive as the acts move round the bars. Aya Napa is a 10 min taxi ride away if you are looking for something a lot more livelier with some sights to see! The beaches are beautiful. Plan to go again this year.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SunConnect Protaras Beach - Rising Star Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SunConnect Protaras Beach - Rising Star Hotel

Address: 6 Feidipidou Street, Protaras, Paralimni 5296, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
Number of rooms: 106
Also Known As:
Rising Star Beach Hotel
Rising Star Beach Protaras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SunConnect Protaras Beach - Rising Star Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.