We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location - but thats about it !” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Debbie Xenia Hotel Apartments

Save Saved
You added Debbie Xenia Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Debbie Xenia Hotel Apartments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pernera, Protaras, Paralimni 5312, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 65 hotels in Protaras
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice location - but thats about it !”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here in December, we are from cyprus originally but we live in the UK, we was greated nicely on arrival by the night porter Nikos, he was great made very nice cocktails! in the morning, the maids who came in to clean our rooms were very nice however they didn't know that we could speak the language, and the chef was cleaning the rooms aswell as cooking, so I would definitely not recommend to eat their as the maid said to the chef whilst cleaning our room "there is a food order at the bar you can go make that" which she went to do after cleaning our toilets! we were discusted, and I think the maid was too when she knew we could speak and understand the language. The pool area was ok. However the pool inside was dirty and could do with abit of TLC. I would definitely not reccomend this hotel to any one - its dull and boring and definitely not what cyprus is about!!..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    26
    35
    18
    6
    0
See reviews for
19
40
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Slimbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We spent two weeks at the debbie zenia in room 303. It was spacious and well furnished. The cleaners came in every couple of days wereupon the bedding and towels were changed. Yes some of the fittings were dated, but fully functional. The fridge was adequate and the freeer froze. It wasnt a top of the range fridge and had received a touchup of paint. The pool and surrounds were always clean and there was no need to sneak down in the night to put towels on your sun bed. People who read these reviews need an honest opinion. Mine is. Helpful. Quite, when I was there. Clean. Cheap and cheerful. Close to all the facilities you could ask for. For 1 euro you can ride on a bus as far a field as Aeya Napa to the south and as far north as Farma gusta {sorry about spelling}. For 3 euros you can ride all day. We will return as the big Calafornian would say.

Room Tip: FRom the top floor of three you can see the sea ans surrounding areas
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

i stayed at the debbie xenia last october, as a single traveller, i was welcomed by nicos and his beautiful wife helen. the hotel is in need of up dating, but the hospitallity of the owners out shined that, the bfood was gr8 and i enjoyed my breakie every morning. nicos would often bring me the bananas of the trees in the grounds, the area is perfect, the pool is clean a nd i spent a lot of time around the pool during my stay i miss placed my credit card, and nicos being the gent he is, let me have all my food and drinks on credit untill the end of my stay,a nd payed with my partners card... very very nice quite place to stay, my room was cleaned, and towels were fresh and clean people who moan about showers and bugs and stuff like that, should stay at home.. YOU ARE ABROAD.. love to nicos and his beauttiful wife helen. karen xxxxxxxxxx.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We came home from Cyprus yesterday 29th October :( The apartments were as other people have said a bit old fashion, But, clean, loads of space and the staff we met were all very helpful. The pool was clean and easy to use. I cant recommend this enough, I have read other reviews and they were all complaining about it needing a refurd, while this is true what do people expect for the price you pay?? The area is great and loads of places to eat and drink, beach about 5 min walk and the clearest water I have seen.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odiham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Have spent 2 weeks here on holiday with my partner. One must be aware, Debbie Xenia is not located in Protaras, but in a village that's about a half an hour's walk from Protaras. If not the walking type, the bus which goes frequently all day, only charges a small fee. Nevertheless, you will find everything you need (2 beaches, shops, restaurants etc.) here in Pernera as well. Just don't expect a bustling nightlife. About the apartments: furniture a little outdated but they seem to take care of the necessities like regular painting, repairs etc. in the rooms. Our room was cleaned everyday, apart from Sundays, and clean towels and bedlinen were provided every 3-4 days. Food was good but portions could have been bigger:) If you choose to come here, don't forget to try their moussaka. It's truly yummy. Back to the location: it's best to hire a car/buggy/scooter to discover the plenty of beaches and sights the area has to offer. We loved Konnos Bay just outside Protaras and Ayia Napa's Nissi Beach.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We spent 10 days with my husband at the hotel by the end of September 2012. It's true it needs refurbish, especially the bathroom and it can be cleaned better but we found it good. We were on budget, we ate few times at the hotel and it was correct, sometimes tasty. We didn't have breakfast, we catered for ourselves most of the times. We had the linens and towels changed frequently and the room superficially cleaned but it was fine with us as we couldn't but bring some sand from the beach in our shoes how ever we tried not to. The beds were comfy. We had extra pillows with no cover and we simply asked Nicos who gave us what we needed immediately. The staff were very nice. The pool was clean when there was clean people around, not leaving smokes, etc everywhere. Anyway, the gardener cleaned every day at 7h in the morning around the pool and he missed some places sometimes. With all kinds of people coming to Debbie Xenia, it's a miracle the furniture is still in this shape. I understand why Nicos wouldn't put new kitchen tools. We saw people trashing, spitting, eating and drinking in the pool while it was forbidden.
We went to Lidl (by the bus to protaras - ask the driver to point out the best place to reach it) to buy our food because it was much cheaper than the supermarkets around and more fresh.
We will definitely go back to this hotel because we were not looking for a luxury stay. We simply wanted to feel at ease and not worried about spotting or damaging something. We could hang our towels and wet clothes everywhere on the chairs and on the balcony without worries. And a nice beach was just nearby. It was a wonderful relaxing holiday and we enjoyed every moment of it. We went to the airport in a bus-taxi arranged by Nicos for around 12 Euros per person. It was rather quick. Oh and we came to Debbie Xenia by bus, it cost us 4 Euros (together instead of 55 Euros by taxi) from the airport till the hotel. We had prepared our maps and researched everything and got the bus times at the information desk at the airport. The bus had AC and a place for luggage and it was comfortable. If you are on budget look for "Cyprus by bus' on the internet, it might be very helpful, they give you also all the details at the information desk at the airport but it's better to be prepared.
Hope you have a nice stay like we did!

Room Tip: "The rooms ending with 01 will have the sun all day because they are on the corner and it might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Yes its basic, but what do you expect for the money pay. The rooms are not very clean if you look closely, like the top of the splashback tiles in the kitchen, thick with grime. The shower is the worse ever, hanging off the wall and the water dribbles out, nightmare when you have long hair to wash. They don't have bath plugs either so if you like a bath then little tip for you, take a plug. There is only one small frying pan or a huge pan but as the only meal we eat in is breakfast this was sufficient. The pool was cleaned a few times but the pool side wasn't so every time you put your feet on the floor and then back on your sun lounger your towel would be full of grit. The hotel was full while we were there, but it was very quiet. We didn't pay for the air conditioning, instead we left our balcony and room door open and this created a wind tunnel right through the room, this worked great because the hotel and its guests were so quiet. Another tip, if you book your accommodation direct with the hotel it is cheaper and they include the air con in the price. I would stay here again if I went to Cyprus purely because I only use the room to sleep and get changed but if you like your home comforts then its not for you

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Debbie Xenia Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Debbie Xenia Hotel Apartments

Address: Pernera, Protaras, Paralimni 5312, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Debbie Xenia Hotel Apartments 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Debbie Xenia Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Debbie Xenia Protaras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Debbie Xenia Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.