We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Belated review” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anastasia Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Anastasia Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Anastasia Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 33199, Protaras, Paralimni 5311, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 67 Hotels in Protaras
Sleaford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Belated review”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of a party of 7 adults 1 child and a toddler for a 10 day stay in October last year.. The whole experience could not be faulted.

On arrival the staff in reception dealt with room allocation quickly and efficiently and made us all feel really welcome. Although the hotel had plenty of guests they remembered you as individuals and were more than happy to spend a few minutes of friendly banter.The atrium in the reception area was a pleasant space to sit and chill out of the heat of the day.

Our rooms were all on the first floor and were well appointed and clean. The hotel itself has only 2 lifts and the default setting always seemed to be the top floors so being on the first floor was a bonus in not having to wait. Any problems were dealt with rapidly by in house staff.
The food was basic but there was an excellent selection at main meal times and buffet available throughout the day.

The pool area was fantastic with plenty of sunbeds and activities if you wanted to join in. The evening entertainment was a bit repetitive but ok.

The staff who were mainly Eastern European were fantastic. They had a smile on their face from early morning to late at night and even waiting staff took kids under their wing and nothing was too much hassle.

Staff were also a good source of information about the local area and the cheapest way to get around. Local buses were frequent and by far the best value with a ride into town or even Nissi Beach just a few Euro for the entire group. Taxis however can be quite pricey with some [ not all] drivers quoting a price then trying to wring out a lot more at the destination. Unfortunately one taxi driver seems to be well connected at the hotel and hovers at the entrance and he does fall into this category.

On the whole though I would give this 10/10. I understand its closed this winter for refurbishment and name change but as long as it keeps the same format you can’t go wrong. I would happily return, in fact I fully intend to take my other grandchildren in 2013.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

839 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    293
    283
    134
    65
    64
See reviews for
423
190
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We booked this as a quick getaway for a week of autumn sun in the October half term and I felt it was a good choice. The hotel looks pretty up together from the outside but inside is a whole different story! Previous reviews had mentioned peeling wallpaper and they were right there was evidence of this throughout the hotel and although it was a bit tatty it didn't affect my holiday at all, in fact because we only had a week we got on with enjoying ourselves and a great time we had too. There is one pool directly outside the hotel, a waterpark behind the hotel which is free for Thomas Cook customers to use which was great fun. You could also use the pools in the neighbouring hotel which also belonged to the Tsokkos chain. The rooms were basic but served their purpose. The hotels location was brilliant, it was right by the beach and there was a promenade from Penera right along to Protaras. We walked along into Protaras a few times and it was much needed after the abundance of food to eat at dinner time! This was my first visit to Cyprus and would definately consider returning sometime in the future if the price is right.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

Lots of negs on here about this hotel, yes a bit of updating needed and the hotel pool area was in need of a good clean...... The rooms were very spacious and kitted out well, the food was of a good standard all day everyday (could of had a roast dinner very day) if wanted, snacks were good,drinks good (queuing was a problem at the bar especially in the evening) staff good, entertainment some good some poor but the entertainment staff tried hard to involve people and were easy to get on with and didn't push you to join in if you didn't want too, location was ideal with a nice 20 - 30 min to protaras strip, boat trips use the Shirley valentine trip........ Superb, the other trips are rushed but the people who run this one really want you to enjoy and relax and talk to you, stops off at the Greco caves for ages for a swim and a beer in the turquoise water and the captain shares his love potion with everyone which is just a bit of a giggle being a Cypriot, his wife was great too and took time to talk to everyone so highly recommend that trip over the others....... We did it twice with our 2 teenage boys who loved diving off the boat at the caves. Get a massage on the beach then if you can walk after it go for a meal out for a change at the "taste of Cyprus" which is 5 mins away and very good local food at a good price too, very reed atmosphere and the owners were nice too. Points on the hotel are honest points and we had a great time in our 2wk break ps(watermark pool is miles cleaner )

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilwern, Wales, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

we originally booked the tsokkos garden but were placed here, we were taken to reception and told to take a seat as we were in the apartments (everyone on the coach was except one) we had to walk past another hotel and along the road, in the apartments we were given our room key but had our passports taken off us for the night.

when we got in the room we had 2 single pushed together, the dirt under the bed was awful, you could have wrote your name in it, the bed sheets we had the 1st day were the ones we had all week,

the hob only worked on high heat

we were lucky to have working safe and air conditioning other people we spoke to didnt have it

check out is 12 but they lock the rooms at 11

the resort was shutting down around us - by the 5th november there was no sun beds on the beach and only a few left around the pool

a good place to visit is the western bar just up the road and mojito was a nice meal

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed at the anastacia apartments for 10 days for a friends wedding! We had a great time , lovely and clean apartments . Great entertainment : in facwt everything was spot on . Can't understand why there is negative reviews about this place! . Waterpark great .we hope to go again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northwest
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Staff were friendly and helpful,
Food was excellent at breakfast and evening meal and the restaurant was very nice, polished and clean, often the vodka and coke was too strong to drink.
The lunch area was awful, old, worn out furniture, and the floor was dirty, this is were the drinks are served, be prepared to spend time queing and queing and queing for a drink, it could of been better organised by having a selves service for the soft drinks. The dinner time menu was mainly pizza, chicken nuggets, fish fingers, chips, and salad. Great for the kids.

The reception area is clean and bright.

The gym and indoor pool is clean, and nice, and very much under used.the gym is good, everything you could use.

The pool area was very busy, we always found a sun bed on the grassy area, as the pool area was too busy, and the awful music was blaring out, couldn't hear my iPod at times.

I was disappointed with the room, we had paid for a 4 star hotel room, but was put in the 3 star apartment, it had a kitchen and living room bathroom and bedroom and was very spacious, but very dated and tired.
I don't know if the hotel rooms were nicer as I never saw inside one, reception staff said they had up graded us to the 3 star room because it had a pool view ???

The beach is quite small and right outside the back of the hotel.

We were quite disappointed with this hotel and wouldn't stay here again.
It is very much full of families.

There is a lovely walk along the sea shore to protaris, suitable for wheelchairs, buggies, bikes, walkers, joggers.

We went on a boat trip for 2 hours for €5 each, were you could go down stairs and look out of the porthole windows to spot the sea life, this was very good value for money.
The Shirley valentine boat trip looked popular, it takes you to see the ghost town, were no one has been in since the war with the Cypriots and Turkish in the 1970s.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

we stayed at this hotel and must say that we had a great time , the food was very good and a great choice was put on by the chefs. The food varied from freshly cooked joints of beef,gammon,turkey joints along with all the condiments ,roast potatoes fresh veg , pasta dishes, cooked fish , curries you can say that there was a very good choice along with a full salad bar and lots of fresh fruit, cakes and gateuxs there were different themed evenings from barbecue night , italian , oriental night and so on ,the kids snacks were ok from chicken nuggets to kentucky fried chicken , beans chips etc
The beer has three different choices of leon,carlsberg or keo the local beers all good and although some times they had run out of one other of the brands it was soon replenished .
cocktails were also good a full list is at the bar, the hotel is in a prime position only a stones throw from the beach and about 30 mins steady walk along a good board walk into the centre of protaras , the pools were great although after one storm the drains did overflow and go into the pool although im sure this wasnt the only pool it happened to as after talking to one of the locals they had a complete months rainfall in one day , we saw what had happened and stayed out of it until it cleared although its very hard to keep our daughter out of it but we did.
The room we had was a little dated but even so spotlessly clean and a full sea view so we couldnt moan , it was cleaned everyday our only critiscism was that the maid was knocking on our door to clean most days between 8.30am and 9 oclock so couldnt get a lie in
Queing at the bar was not a issue you just have to wait your turn, didnt see any trouble only people enjoying themselves , entertainment was great, boy they all work hard and bingo was giving good prizes average of 180 euros for the house hats off to gerry ,mimo ,gary and tony they
worked hard to keep us all happy, its really a family orientated hotel in my view but anybody could have a good time if they wanted , the hotel is great ,needs some maintanenceworks but we make the most of our holidays and try not to let anything spoil it all in all fab time

Room Tip: try for a suite overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anastasia Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anastasia Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 33199, Protaras, Paralimni 5311, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Protaras
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Anastasia Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort, quality, hospitality and relaxation are the foundations of Anastasia Beach Hotel. The stylish Anastasia Beach is situated in a picturesque setting overlooking the peaceful and golden sands of Marlita bay, and just a short stroll from the lively area of Pernera. The impressive atrium in the lobby perfects the ambiance to enjoy your favorite cocktail, while the elegant and peaceful surroundings of the hotel appeal to both families and couples. A few meters away you will find the brand new coastal pedestrian footpath, which leads to Protaras center, a great opportunity for an afternoon walk... Next to the hotel you will find the famous Anastasia Aquamania Waterpark offering exciting rides and splashing fun for all ages. An ideal choice for those wishing to combine a relaxing holiday along with a hospitable and friendly atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Anastasia Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anastasia Beach Protaras
Anastasia Beach Cyprus
Hotel Anastasia Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anastasia Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.