We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as some people make out” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Memories

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Protaras
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sweet Memories
Save
You added Sweet Memories to your Saves list
Protaras Road, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Protaras
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not as bad as some people make out”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Just come back from 10 days at sweet memories and found that the rooms were very clean, staff there made you feel welcome and the food was great. Every one spoke to each other around the pool. The only down side was that the swimming pool was freezing and filthy. if you lean against the side I had green algae stuff on me. the kids pool was also dangerously dirty, also the beds were like sleeping on concrete but over all we had a fanatic stay and would defiantly go back

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    74
    35
    11
    12
See reviews for
73
84
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I just don't get some people! Six of us stayed at Sweet Memories for the first time in September, and I'm wondering if we were at the same place as some of the other reviewers who only saw a negative side of their holiday. Of course it's basic and would benefit greatly from a facelift, but I totally disagree with those that say it wasn't clean. The cleaners were on site daily, and beds and towels were changed at the same rate as any other hotel we've stayed at..........including 5 star hotels. The pool area was washed down daily and the water was crystal clear. We had no trouble getting sunbeds at 9.30am even though there were 6 of us! Around the pool, the atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. We met and talked to loads of folks who had returned to Sweet Memories year after year.The food and service could not be faulted. Well priced, generous portions, and served by friendly and courteous staff. Caroline the receptionist was cheerful, helpful and informative and Tina, Marie and young Sophie behind the bar made sure everyone that wanted it, had fun. We will return next year for sure. I suggest that those who want 5 star accomodation with the anonymity that goes with it, go elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hull
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed at Sweet Memories for a week with my boyfriend, we were so happy with our holiday. The hotel has lovely friendly staff, who were always very helpful. Rooms were very nicely done out and they were cleaned on a regular basis. Really enjoyed our stay, so much so that we would like to go beck again next year.

Room Tip: If you have small children I would suggest asking for a ground floor or second floor room, as the to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just returned from Sweet Memories and have to totally agree with the comments posted by Steve T and ches37/ It was my first stay at Sweet Memories, but it certainly won't be the last.
My partner and I had a absolutely lovely week, from the minute we arrived, to the minute we left. We could not of been made more welcome. All the negative comments I have read, are those peoples opinion, as mine is with this review. However I have to say, I as I fine and I found the staff absolutely brilliant. They were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. The pool area was clean as the pool itself. The rooms were spacious and kept clean, We had a maid service 5 days out of the seven and if we wanted anything extra or changed, we just asked and got. The room could do with a make over, but then so could my home here in the uk

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the complex as they are quieter and have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just visited sweet memories for the third time and had another great holiday.You must remember this is only two star accommodation so don't expect five star like some people who have written negative reviews.If you want five star pay for it.The accommodation is comfortable,clean and tidy.Pool area fine with plenty of sun beds.The massive plus for this place is the staff who are worth five stars on their own.The whole team make you feel welcome they are so friendly and will make your holiday one to remember.Will not hesitate to book again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
runcorn
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

my wife and I have just returned from another great holiday at the sweet memories,once again the staff were brilliant from the cleaning ladies to the bar staff tina,marie,george and sophie who were very efficient and full of fun,not forgetting charlie the bar manager also the ladies on reception, caroline who always had a smile on her face and could not do enough for us and was very knowledgable and the young greek cypriot girl ,the rooms could do with a refurb but were otherwise clean,some people did complain because they could not keep their rooms for three extra hours after 12.00 and they tended to blame caroline on reception but it was down to the manager (adonis ).
we are now looking to book another 2 weeks next september

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

On arriving at the hotel we were slightly disappointed by the décor and location of Sweet Memories, However we spent a very lovely week with my sister and husband visiting Protarus for their first time. We did not eat in the hotel apart from breakfast which was very good.
The staff were so lovely, very helpful and good fun. The entertainment was great and we joined in quizzes and karaoke evenings. The apartments were clean but just in need of decoration and upgrading.

Room Tip: We were given a room on the ground floor, and could not leave our balcony open due to the numerous c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sweet Memories? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Memories

Address: Protaras Road, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 67 Hotels in Protaras
Number of rooms: 216
Also Known As:
Sweet Memories Protaras
Sweet Memories Cyprus
Sweet Memories Hotel Protaras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Memories, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.