We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Memories of Cyprus” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Memories

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sweet Memories to your Saves list
Sweet Memories
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Protaras Road, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Staffordshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sweet Memories of Cyprus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We were there the same time as Mandi A along with Marianna, Nikki and Sue, we totally agree with their review and had a fab time too. The hotel was basic but very clean and everyone was so helpful and friendly. Caroline was an excellent Receptionist and Tina and Marie we brilliant behind the bar. We did not see any dirt or slime in the pool and it was very clean whilst we were there, the sunbeds have seen better days, but we watched them being cleaned everyday and have to say that although they looked a bit shabby they were one of the most comfortable sunbeds we have lay on!!! We had a one bedroomed apartment at the back of the hotel so we had a sea view and it was very quiet, the rooms were very basic but clean and with a decent shower - what more do you want for the time you spend in there. We went to the Cypriot night held on a Tuesday which was good and the food was excellent, on Sunday and Friday the wonderful Michelle entertains you in her special way - not to be missed!!! with some audience participation of course!!! The hotel is ideally situated only 10-15 mins walk to the beach and the main area (shops bars restaurants) of Protaras. You really must consider what you are paying and we think it was more than value for money, we have travelled widely and if you want 5 star accomodation you have to pay five star prices, but we think that Sweet Memories was good value for money and hope go back again sometime soon.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room asked for a room at the back on the first floor so to get a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    74
    33
    11
    12
See reviews for
73
81
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
barnsley
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed 3 years ago and can not believe the change, Although the staff are way more friendly and pleasant this year the hotel has seemed to have gone down hill slightly, the maintenance and cleanliness is a big issue, as stated in previous comment the pool was dirty as was the loungers around them not that we had chance to use them as many of this was already toweled by 6am, the cleanliness of the apartments have also suffered as not only us but several apartments appeared to have a collection of ants turn up, I think they was having issues with the pool as several mornings maintenance was pumping the drains around the pool,The entertainment is also questionable and has a family hotel i feel the female singer at time was rude, crude and inappropriate, and something that went off until the early hours, i think the night staff need to take a stand sometimes as well as being woken up at 4 in the morning by drunken guests jumping in the pool was not ideal neither was the false fire alarm at 3am the following morning,

not all bad though it didn't ruin our holiday and cant wait to return in 2014 but i know one place i wont be returning and that's sweet memories, Unfortunately this time my memories of the hotel wasn't so sweet!

Room Tip: 322 or room 324 -nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

this was our first time at sweet memories and will not be our last, we have had a fantastic time, people go back year after year and we can see why.the rooms are spacious and cleaned every other day. every one was so friendly and helpful, Charlie is the manager he was fab. Caroline is on reception very welcoming, George is all over the place, the bar staff are up there with the best. Tina makes the place she is fun friendly and abit of a NUTTER right up our street, Marie made sure what ever we wanted to drink weather it be soft drinks or alcoholic drinks it was there Sophie young and pretty what more does a bar need!!!! the entertainment is a Cypruit night on a tuesday not to be missed the food was beautiful and the dancers we brill! then NOT to be missed is the fabulous Michelle who is also abit of a NUTTER with a fantastic voice and alot more to her act the singing what more do you need on a holiday. there are all different age groups young to old families and couples, we feel like we have made really good friends. we will be BACK Marianna Mandi Nikki and Sue xxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

i Sayed the same time as CreamCake38 and was one of the six that went to the Lawsonia Hotel APTS and i agree with her completely, shame you book a holiday and feel you have to use another hotels facillitys the pool at sweet memorys was very cloudy and at some stage in the week you could not see the blue line that ran the length of the pool not a good sign.pool are did need a good power wash and the sun loungers needed a deep clean having said that our apt was large and clean infact was just like the pictures dated yes but have stayed in worse. reception staff all ok reception area ? dated the whole place needed that something a lick of paint and bring upto date decore. families who were there seemed to enjoy the pool area and its condition with disregard to the clenleness?.the best caractor there was the night porter what a pleasent man (greek ) . we didnt eat at the hotel due to the lack of basic clenliness.

Room Tip: hotel apts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, Lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my 23 year old daughter for a quick week away-never again!
The only room left was a studio. Which was tiny.
I'm not snobby by any means, I stay in Calis, Turkey in 2/3 star hotels, but they are always clean.
The pool area was disgusting, filthy sun loungers, broken umbrellas, I wouldn't even venture in the pool as it was
So dirty looking.
I stayed a week, in a studio overlooking the pool. Not once did I see them hosing/cleaning the pool area, the floor needed a good jet washing, it looked like it hadn't been done since the place opened!
We used the Lawsonia Hotel next door, very clean pool area, clean sunloungers with armrests, clean pool. Most days there was only 6 of us round the pool-all from Sweet Memories!
The guy that served you round the pool looked/sounded like Columbo! Really friendly and brought us ice cream in the pool!
Get the bus outside the hotel to Paralimni Village, stop off at Pernera beach on way back, 1.50 euro, well worth it.
Overall a horrible holiday-dont feel refreshed at all!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was a last minute booking and as a 2* we knew it would be basic, but just assumed it would be clean. How wrong were we. Reception was small and dated and the public toilets were dirty and the smell was disgusting. The pool was small, which wasn't a problem, but it was dirty with slime at the bottom of the pool,
There were plenty of sunbeds,but the cushion coverings were really dirty and although there were umberallas, there were no pins or hooks to keep the umberellas up.
Our one bedroom appartment was large but again very dated. A cleaner came in every 2 to 3 days to change the towels, but the appartment was never cleaned The bedding had holes in it and there were layers of dust and dirt everywhere. We had an infestation of ants and had to buy a spray
to try to get rid of them.
We love Cyprus and have been coming to Protaras for 8 years staying in different star hotels, but I can honestly say we have never stayed in such a scruffy dirty hotel. We will definitely not be going back. to sweet memories.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballymena
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Sweet Memories is a basic hotel but is good value for money. We have stayed there twice and will stay there again on our next visit. Its about 10 min walk max to protaras centre.Its a good location. There is even a Lidl store not too far away. The staff are nice and friendly and the maids are lovely.

Room Tip: You can ask for a sea view apartment but we had one overlooking the pool which was nice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sweet Memories? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Memories

Address: Protaras Road, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Hotel Class:2 star — Sweet Memories 2*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Sweet Memories reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Memories Protaras
Sweet Memories Cyprus
Sweet Memories Hotel Protaras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Memories, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.