We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as good as previous stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Memories

Save Saved
You added Sweet Memories to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sweet Memories
Protaras Road, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 65 hotels in Protaras
barnsley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not as good as previous stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed 3 years ago and can not believe the change, Although the staff are way more friendly and pleasant this year the hotel has seemed to have gone down hill slightly, the maintenance and cleanliness is a big issue, as stated in previous comment the pool was dirty as was the loungers around them not that we had chance to use them as many of this was already toweled by 6am, the cleanliness of the apartments have also suffered as not only us but several apartments appeared to have a collection of ants turn up, I think they was having issues with the pool as several mornings maintenance was pumping the drains around the pool,The entertainment is also questionable and has a family hotel i feel the female singer at time was rude, crude and inappropriate, and something that went off until the early hours, i think the night staff need to take a stand sometimes as well as being woken up at 4 in the morning by drunken guests jumping in the pool was not ideal neither was the false fire alarm at 3am the following morning,

not all bad though it didn't ruin our holiday and cant wait to return in 2014 but i know one place i wont be returning and that's sweet memories, Unfortunately this time my memories of the hotel wasn't so sweet!

Room Tip: 322 or room 324 -nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    56
    23
    9
    12
See reviews for
57
68
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

this was our first time at sweet memories and will not be our last, we have had a fantastic time, people go back year after year and we can see why.the rooms are spacious and cleaned every other day. every one was so friendly and helpful, Charlie is the manager he was fab. Caroline is on reception very welcoming, George is all over the place, the bar staff are up there with the best. Tina makes the place she is fun friendly and abit of a NUTTER right up our street, Marie made sure what ever we wanted to drink weather it be soft drinks or alcoholic drinks it was there Sophie young and pretty what more does a bar need!!!! the entertainment is a Cypruit night on a tuesday not to be missed the food was beautiful and the dancers we brill! then NOT to be missed is the fabulous Michelle who is also abit of a NUTTER with a fantastic voice and alot more to her act the singing what more do you need on a holiday. there are all different age groups young to old families and couples, we feel like we have made really good friends. we will be BACK Marianna Mandi Nikki and Sue xxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

i Sayed the same time as CreamCake38 and was one of the six that went to the Lawsonia Hotel APTS and i agree with her completely, shame you book a holiday and feel you have to use another hotels facillitys the pool at sweet memorys was very cloudy and at some stage in the week you could not see the blue line that ran the length of the pool not a good sign.pool are did need a good power wash and the sun loungers needed a deep clean having said that our apt was large and clean infact was just like the pictures dated yes but have stayed in worse. reception staff all ok reception area ? dated the whole place needed that something a lick of paint and bring upto date decore. families who were there seemed to enjoy the pool area and its condition with disregard to the clenleness?.the best caractor there was the night porter what a pleasent man (greek ) . we didnt eat at the hotel due to the lack of basic clenliness.

Room Tip: hotel apts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, Lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my 23 year old daughter for a quick week away-never again!
The only room left was a studio. Which was tiny.
I'm not snobby by any means, I stay in Calis, Turkey in 2/3 star hotels, but they are always clean.
The pool area was disgusting, filthy sun loungers, broken umbrellas, I wouldn't even venture in the pool as it was
So dirty looking.
I stayed a week, in a studio overlooking the pool. Not once did I see them hosing/cleaning the pool area, the floor needed a good jet washing, it looked like it hadn't been done since the place opened!
We used the Lawsonia Hotel next door, very clean pool area, clean sunloungers with armrests, clean pool. Most days there was only 6 of us round the pool-all from Sweet Memories!
The guy that served you round the pool looked/sounded like Columbo! Really friendly and brought us ice cream in the pool!
Get the bus outside the hotel to Paralimni Village, stop off at Pernera beach on way back, 1.50 euro, well worth it.
Overall a horrible holiday-dont feel refreshed at all!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was a last minute booking and as a 2* we knew it would be basic, but just assumed it would be clean. How wrong were we. Reception was small and dated and the public toilets were dirty and the smell was disgusting. The pool was small, which wasn't a problem, but it was dirty with slime at the bottom of the pool,
There were plenty of sunbeds,but the cushion coverings were really dirty and although there were umberallas, there were no pins or hooks to keep the umberellas up.
Our one bedroom appartment was large but again very dated. A cleaner came in every 2 to 3 days to change the towels, but the appartment was never cleaned The bedding had holes in it and there were layers of dust and dirt everywhere. We had an infestation of ants and had to buy a spray
to try to get rid of them.
We love Cyprus and have been coming to Protaras for 8 years staying in different star hotels, but I can honestly say we have never stayed in such a scruffy dirty hotel. We will definitely not be going back. to sweet memories.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballymena
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Sweet Memories is a basic hotel but is good value for money. We have stayed there twice and will stay there again on our next visit. Its about 10 min walk max to protaras centre.Its a good location. There is even a Lidl store not too far away. The staff are nice and friendly and the maids are lovely.

Room Tip: You can ask for a sea view apartment but we had one overlooking the pool which was nice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We booked this for a last minute break in the sun. Apartment was big and spacious but SO HOT! Air con is a must (payable at reception, roughly £50 for week for one room). Staff are all very friendly, which really compensates for the rather ugly first impression of the buidling / reception area. In fact, all the public areas are quite unattractive in terms of decor but all are spotlessly clean. Pool was nice and warm and plenty of sunbeds available.Bar was good for snacks and breakfast (all a bit English though, would have been nice to see more Cypriot food options rather than Sunday Roasts, Full English etc!). Mini market by reception was good, wish it stocked more fersh stuff though! Fresh bread and fruit seemed to be like gold dust in a lot of the supermarkets.
Housekeeping was minimal - sheets & towels changed once in the week we were there.
Pillows are awful - if you have space, pack your own. I was glad to get home to my own bed.
It's the staff that make this place - a lovely team :)

Room Tip: brochures seem to say most rooms have inland view. Ok, our balcony faced inand but we had the most b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sweet Memories? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Memories

Also Known As:
Sweet Memories Hotel
Sweet Memories Protaras
Sweet Memories Cyprus
Sweet Memories Hotel Protaras
Address: Protaras Road, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 65 hotels in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sweet Memories reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Memories, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.