We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not worth what we paid” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Memories

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sweet Memories to your Saves list
Sweet Memories
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Protaras Road, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“not worth what we paid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

i Sayed the same time as CreamCake38 and was one of the six that went to the Lawsonia Hotel APTS and i agree with her completely, shame you book a holiday and feel you have to use another hotels facillitys the pool at sweet memorys was very cloudy and at some stage in the week you could not see the blue line that ran the length of the pool not a good sign.pool are did need a good power wash and the sun loungers needed a deep clean having said that our apt was large and clean infact was just like the pictures dated yes but have stayed in worse. reception staff all ok reception area ? dated the whole place needed that something a lick of paint and bring upto date decore. families who were there seemed to enjoy the pool area and its condition with disregard to the clenleness?.the best caractor there was the night porter what a pleasent man (greek ) . we didnt eat at the hotel due to the lack of basic clenliness.

Room Tip: hotel apts
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    74
    33
    11
    13
See reviews for
73
82
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bury, Lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my 23 year old daughter for a quick week away-never again!
The only room left was a studio. Which was tiny.
I'm not snobby by any means, I stay in Calis, Turkey in 2/3 star hotels, but they are always clean.
The pool area was disgusting, filthy sun loungers, broken umbrellas, I wouldn't even venture in the pool as it was
So dirty looking.
I stayed a week, in a studio overlooking the pool. Not once did I see them hosing/cleaning the pool area, the floor needed a good jet washing, it looked like it hadn't been done since the place opened!
We used the Lawsonia Hotel next door, very clean pool area, clean sunloungers with armrests, clean pool. Most days there was only 6 of us round the pool-all from Sweet Memories!
The guy that served you round the pool looked/sounded like Columbo! Really friendly and brought us ice cream in the pool!
Get the bus outside the hotel to Paralimni Village, stop off at Pernera beach on way back, 1.50 euro, well worth it.
Overall a horrible holiday-dont feel refreshed at all!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keighley
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was a last minute booking and as a 2* we knew it would be basic, but just assumed it would be clean. How wrong were we. Reception was small and dated and the public toilets were dirty and the smell was disgusting. The pool was small, which wasn't a problem, but it was dirty with slime at the bottom of the pool,
There were plenty of sunbeds,but the cushion coverings were really dirty and although there were umberallas, there were no pins or hooks to keep the umberellas up.
Our one bedroom appartment was large but again very dated. A cleaner came in every 2 to 3 days to change the towels, but the appartment was never cleaned The bedding had holes in it and there were layers of dust and dirt everywhere. We had an infestation of ants and had to buy a spray
to try to get rid of them.
We love Cyprus and have been coming to Protaras for 8 years staying in different star hotels, but I can honestly say we have never stayed in such a scruffy dirty hotel. We will definitely not be going back. to sweet memories.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ballymena
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Sweet Memories is a basic hotel but is good value for money. We have stayed there twice and will stay there again on our next visit. Its about 10 min walk max to protaras centre.Its a good location. There is even a Lidl store not too far away. The staff are nice and friendly and the maids are lovely.

Room Tip: You can ask for a sea view apartment but we had one overlooking the pool which was nice as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We booked this for a last minute break in the sun. Apartment was big and spacious but SO HOT! Air con is a must (payable at reception, roughly £50 for week for one room). Staff are all very friendly, which really compensates for the rather ugly first impression of the buidling / reception area. In fact, all the public areas are quite unattractive in terms of decor but all are spotlessly clean. Pool was nice and warm and plenty of sunbeds available.Bar was good for snacks and breakfast (all a bit English though, would have been nice to see more Cypriot food options rather than Sunday Roasts, Full English etc!). Mini market by reception was good, wish it stocked more fersh stuff though! Fresh bread and fruit seemed to be like gold dust in a lot of the supermarkets.
Housekeeping was minimal - sheets & towels changed once in the week we were there.
Pillows are awful - if you have space, pack your own. I was glad to get home to my own bed.
It's the staff that make this place - a lovely team :)

Room Tip: brochures seem to say most rooms have inland view. Ok, our balcony faced inand but we had the most b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUMFRIESSHIRE
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Trip Advisor is all about opinions but I would like to offer a different one to the lady from Northern Ireland who was there at the same time as us. I thought all the staff ( especially Tina & Alex ) showed a great deal of care and attention to the people staying who had special needs. They deserve a holiday the same as you and I and it was great to see them enjoy themselves.
Now onto Sweet Memories itself. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves once again! Yes, it is basic, but it is spotlessly clean. If you want 5 star then pay 3 times as much as what we paid for a hotel down by the beach. Clean towels every 2nd day & sheets changed twice a week. The staff Charlie, Tina, Marie,Carlos, George and Sweet Caroline are all great and looked after us well during our stay. I can't leave out young Alex who kept us all entertained with his mimicking of the Scots language & his superb card tricks--amazing!!
We noticed the Hotel was really trying hard with food this year. We ate there quite a lot during our stay & even took up the half board option for 3 days. It cost 10 euros per head a day which was great value for a cooked breakfast and choice of a 2 course meal at night. We also had the special a few times. A main course and a pint of Keo for as little as 5 euros.
Sweet Memories is situated in the older part of Protaras. An easy 10 minute walk to the busier strip. We looked back at where we mainly ate and drank and it was actually in the older part. Our 2 favourite pubs are The Malmia and Ripples. Our 2 favourite restaurants are Anatolia and Super S. We actually went twice to Super S due to the meal being that good the 1st time.
To sum our holiday up. We had an excellent time at The Sweet Memories and met loads of nice people,many of them repeat visitors like us. This says it all really!!

Frank & Marion,
Dumfriesshire.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

me & my fiance stayed here for a week and chose hotel apartments because we weren't too bothered about being around the complex much as we already know a few bar owners & places to go etc, but we ended coming back early every night to have a few drinks before bed because the staff were lovely and there was such a good atmosphere there. I doubt we would stay anywhere else in Protaras now and would love to go back. Pool was lovely, prices reasonable and food was sooo nice. Close to everywhere you ever need to go! Thanks to everyone who became our friends for making our holiday!! :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sweet Memories? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Memories

Address: Protaras Road, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sweet Memories 2*
Number of rooms: 216
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Sweet Memories reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Memories Protaras
Sweet Memories Cyprus
Sweet Memories Hotel Protaras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Memories, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.