We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brill Holiday - Great Bar Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Memories

Save Saved
You added Sweet Memories to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sweet Memories
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Protaras Road, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 65 hotels in Protaras
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Brill Holiday - Great Bar Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Its 2.5 star but its clean and has a lovely pool and great bar with good food and the outstanding Steen's restaurant 5 mins away.
Air Con expensive but I would recommend this place to anyone who wants noce location away from main strip and doesn't want a pay a fortune.

Tina, George, Marie and Alex at the bar were fab and brill with our kids too -- Thanks for a great holiday

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    62
    29
    11
    12
See reviews for
63
75
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at Sweet Memories July 7th to 21st during a heatwave. The appartment was clean but not very well equipped but this didnt worry us as we were eating out for all our meals. We found all the staff very friendly , the were plenty of sunloungers but we had to act quickly to get a sunshade. The one thing that annoyed us but we had to have it ..was the air con , it said in the brochure air con to be paid locally which didnt worry us as we have been to places before and only had to pay a small ammount BUT at sweet mems it was 7 euros a night per room . As we had 2 rooms (a bedrroom and lounge for 3 people) that was 14 euros per night x 14 nights , almost 200 euros ! We booked this through Olympic Holidays and think that they should have warned us of the extra cost as this took a chunk of our holiday money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the top floor dont seem to have any ants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhôs-on-Sea, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

just got back from spending a week at the sweet memories appartments and i have to say, it was fab.
the staff are all very friendly and helpful and the appartment although basic was clean and comfortable.
i like the fact that it is not on the main strip, its quiet and relaxing but still only a short walk away from the main strip and bars.
thank you for a lovely holiday :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I had another fantastic stay at Sweet Memories. The hotel is located roughly 10-15 minutes by foot from Protaras centre, and is around a 5-10 minute walk from Yianna Marie beach, with the completion of a new dirt track at the side of the hotel that runs straight to the beach. The hotel is located on the main Paralimni - Ayia Napa road, and during weekends traffic can be very heavy on the road (Protaras is very popular with Cypriots coming from Nicosia at the weekend) but this didn't affect us as we were in a room set away from the road. There are some bars and restaurants located around the hotel - Steens down the road serves great food, and Cue Ball across the road (where Lisa, who used to work behind the bar at Sweet Memories now works) is a great snooker and pool bar, however most of the nightlife and eateries can be found on the main Protaras strip.

Reception is nice, and the minimarket at the side is great if you want the essentials. I was shown up to my room by Caroline, which was on the top floor and had great views inland over the pool and bar, and to the sea and over Pernera on the other side. Rooms at Sweet Memories are basic but clean and are a little dated, however, if you only use the rooms as a place to sleep on a night and to make a cup of tea/coffee then they aren't a problem. Kitchen has 2 cooking rings with a couple of pots and pans, a toaster, kettle and fridge with freezer compartment - all you need really. My bed (I had the sofa bed in the living area) was a little uncomfortable though, but most of the time after a fair bit to drink on a night, I didn't see this an issue! I have the feeling that people who give negative reviews based upon the rooms only, are the sort of people who spend too much time in them...

Pool area is nice and inviting and is cleaned every night. There are always plenty of sun beds and it has the sun on it for most of the day, with half of the pool and terrace going into the shade between 3-4pm. The bar is great and is well stocked. The bar also serves up good snacks, things like toasties and burgers, great for the hangover cures!

I paid just over £400 for two weeks here in July, and I had a great stay, staff are friendly, and I just want to thank everyone for a great holiday!

Room Tip: Try and contact the hotel plenty of time before you fly and try and get a room set away from the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

just got back from sweet memories, it was our second time there had a fab time. the hotel is clean and all the staff are very friendly especially Caroline on reception and Tina, Marie, Charlie,George and Alex in the bar had a great time with them all. the food in the bar is of a very high standard. we were also allocated the rooms we requested. thanks everyone will see you all again next year

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Booking

I stayed at sweet memories hotel in Protaras with another two female friends aged 24-26 between 23rd-30th June 2012 we booked through Thomas Cook who booked it through Olympic Holidays the cost per person was £229 each self catering with night flights from Birmingham including transfers .

Transfers / Flight
The flight took 4.5 hours from Birmingham UK and the transfer to the resort about an hour by coach only one other drop off and none on the way back.
Location
The hotel Sweet Memories is on the main road into Protaras it is quite a noisy road scooters buggies etc . The area around the hotel has a few bars and restaurants and is 5 minutes from KFC and 10 from MAC Donalds . Several of the bars and the beach are approximately 15/20 minutes away. Stay left when you walk out the hotel there is not much too the right.
Reception /Lobby
Fairly small with a little mini Market inflatable toys books to buy( rip off sold makers books) ,there are then chairs and sofas and a reception desk decor fairly dated . On arrival we had to wait 20 minutes to check in as there was so many people off our flight at once and only two people checking in . We didn't mind but some families were waiting outside in the hot sun because no room in reception . The check in was fairly quick did not keep passports and gave little information. We had no assistance with cases or getting to the room but we found it ok.
Lift
In main building only all others three flights of stairs and no lift . We were in main building lift was tiny only for 4 people ( see pictures)
Studio
We had room number 152 which is on the fourth floor of the main building was just one room with 2 beds the sofa which had been made into a bed. 3 tables a long mirror a big cupboard a shoe rack. The other side of the same room had. Basic kitchen area no kettle had a toaster hob and a fridge with tiny freezer compartment . Did not have a microwave . There was 4 sets of cutlery plates bowls and mugs two sauce pans a frying pan and a colander. The table was small and three chairs. We only had ONE plug in the whole apartment as the plugs are the same as the UK I strongly recommend bringing a extension with multiple plugs on it. There is also no tv or hair dryer in the room.
Bathroom
Very basic toilet struggled to flush bathroom very dated. Shower curtain mouldy. Shower a trickle so had to have bath.
Extras
Air con 42 euros a week and coke and water left in the fridge expensive . Take it back straight away or if you level it for 24 hours you have to pay for it all.
Balcony
Only two plastic chairs three of us. Would be unsuitable for a child as fairly wide gaps between the bars and on a high floor hugh gaps. View of sea and other apartments .
Pool area
Lots of sun bed and umbrellas kids pool and changing rooms and toilets . Also a kids play area. The pool is clean though a few broken tiles. No entertainment by the pool.
Snack bar
Nice food adult breakfast 5.50 euro induing toast and drink child's 3.30 euros with toast and drink
Bus service
Bus run from outside the hotel between 7-4 am so they run through the night ask at reception . You cam get to Aiya Napa for a euro and a 2.50 euro after 11pm same on way back also goes to the water park. Buses 101 and 102 taxis approx 20 euros to Aiya napa .
Overall
Enjoyed the holiday food and drink expensive so maybe stock up at Lidal ask at reception for directions . Hotel basic but didn't pay much would be furious if I paid more than £300 . Bring a hair dryer extension plug and if you have kids get a ground floor room .
Email me any questions :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clwyd
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This was our 3rd stay at Sweet Memories yes the rooms are basic but very clean the hotel is better than some 4 stars iv stayed in in Spain,rooms have everything you need and we were allocated the room we requested when we booked.Staff are lovely very friendly Caroline on reception Tina ,Marie ,Charlie and the 2 Cypriot lads in the bar were lovely the cleaners work very hard too.. We stayed whilst the Euro footy were on and had free nibbles and drinks for 2 euros. Dont know why people complaining !hope to visit again soon,all in all Protaras is very good value for money meals cheap and drinks too and bar owners remember you from previous visits which is nice hope to return soonx

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sweet Memories? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Memories

Address: Protaras Road, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 65 hotels in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sweet Memories 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Sweet Memories reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Memories Protaras
Sweet Memories Cyprus
Sweet Memories Hotel Protaras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Memories, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.