We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Vangelis ApartHotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vangelis ApartHotel to your Saves list
Vangelis ApartHotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34 Hotels Avenus, Protaras, Paralimni, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 67 Hotels in Protaras
Plymouth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It's OK!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Ok this is not a 3/4 star hotel at best it's a budget 2*. But don't be put off. If all you want is a good base in a great location so you can walk across the road to the beach, spend your holiday euros having great cypriot meals,wine & cocktails, have an abundance of great restaurants on your doorstep, the beach accross the road and you don't do all inclusive then it's great. The breakfast offering was good and plentiful. The staff are older efficient but do not go out of their way to engage with you, they are more interested in clearing things away. We stayed in block A which faces onto the main strip above an Italian restaurant. We had a huge 1 bedroom sea view apartment 1201, with a balcony, equiped with enough cooking things to self cater if you so wished. It is dated, the towels are thin but they still dry you, it was very clean and everything worked. There was no noise to disturb our sleep as the bedroom was at the back of the apartment but even sitting on the balcony there was not a great deal of noise it was very interesting people watching and watching the sun rise and set. The pool area is adequate, there are brollies with tape around them with "Broken" written on them, why they don't remove them is beyond me. The rest of the facilities that you pay for in a 3/4* hotel and never use like the sauna, indoorpool etc are grim and am not even sure they were working. On the whole if you hardly spend time in your accommodation because you are on holiday and want to make the most of the sun then it's more then adequate.If you have cash to splash and want flunkies running around after you, fluffy towels etc then there are plenty of 5* hotels accross the road facing the beach, whose facilities you can use for free anyway, like their sun beds if your funds don't stretch to a beach lounger. I would recommend this hotel's apartments in block A, you get what you pay for as they say.

Room Tip: Block A is probably one of the better positioned blocks as it faces the sea, there are no loud bars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    93
    88
    38
    30
See reviews for
154
89
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Having read some review on Vangelis I didn't quite know what to expect. However on arrival we were pleasantly surprised by the friendly welcome and every question we posed was answered with no problems. Stayed in Block C with pool view and it was excellent. Towels changed regularly and the cleaner was very friendly. Could not have faulted the position of this place - exactly what we wanted - on the main strip - with all the amenities close at hand. Would certainly return again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was really worried about going here after reading the reviews but I have had a fab time. The furniture in the rooms is very dated and could do with a makeover but the room was clean, we were in c block so away from the main strip a little, which was noisy till 1.30 every night. The food was always really nice although there wasn't a lot of choice and between 5pm and 7pm you couldn't get any snacks, also you had to buy your bottled water which was cheaper from the supermarket, it was in an excellent location with plenty of bars with tribute acts if you fancied a night out and plenty of restaurants, gift shops and supermarkets, the people were really friendly, I felt that a few things did let it down such as you did not get any pool towels, a hair dryer and the entertainment staff were rubbish. I would say that people need to remember it is only a three star so if you go expecting better than this you will be disappointed, a few other people that we met did have a few problems with noise and the views from their balcony especially in A and B blocks but we had a good time and would go back.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We are a family of four, who have previously stayed in 3 star accomadation and I would not consider myself to be fussy!
The hotel is much smaller than it looks in the photo's. The dinning area is small and the food quality is extreamly poor! The waiters and bar staff are so rude, to the point of making you feel akward for asking for anything! The drinks were not up to much either! The reps work hard but the entertainment or should I say lack of entertainment, resulted in us having a few early nights! The pool was lovely however many of the poolside parasoles were torn and looked really shabby! Our family room was a good size and cleaned regulary and the aircon was great! Because of where the hotel is, it's very noisy and music can clearly be heard untill 2am but you do get used to it after a couple of nights!
I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone and in my opinion I think it needs to be changed to a 2 star!
Honestly if you've not yet booked....then don't bother!!
Just as a warning.....if you are offered a day trip to Famagusta, don't go! We found used needles on the beech where children were playing!!

Room Tip: Get a room in a different hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

We spent 3 nights here. in September 2012. The hotel remided us of Only Fools And Horses' Nelson Mandela House. The room was dingy with stains on the furnishing, a mirror with silvering coming off and the floor looked as if they had cleaned the whole floor with the same bucket of water and our room was the last one to be done. The rooms are in 3 blocks,but we only went in one. It seems they never open the windows anywhere in corridors which smell of smoke. The first thing we did was go out and buy airfreshener. They allow smoking in the rooms and you can't open the windows because of the noise.

The hotel is just off the main street and in a very noisey location. It overlooks and arcade, a sprots bar and a Karaoke pub so when the Hi-Di Hi entertainment in the hotel stops the row from the local nightlife starts (till the early hours). The arcade serves a "side entrance" to the Hotel so anyone could walk in. The entrance to A block was also off the street and always open and unmanned. So it would be wise to pay the extra and get a key for the room safe but don't loose the receipt for the deposit otherwise you won't get your money back when you try to check out. This anyone can walk in or out without going through reception may also be the reason you can't charge anything to your room and settle up at the end.
There was an airconditioner there but water leaked from it when it was in use. It had been leaking for some time and had leaked over a chipboar wardrobe, swelling the "wood" and leaving it damp. The solution had been to place a towel above the wardrobe to soak up the water. On the plus side they did mend it after I complained.

We were all inclusive and the food was edible, buffet style, and uninteresting. As a previous reviewer said, bottled water was not included. We considered ourselves luck in that we only stayed here 3 nights and eat out two.

Room Tip: "A block" rooms with a "sea view" also have a view of the rear of the local amm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

My family and I arrived at 3.30am on 19/08/2012 for 14 nights, by 07.30 i was in reception demanding they moved me from the room they allocated as this room smelled horrible had a balcony that was overlooked by a amusement arcade and would see no sun through the tree that shadowed it. We were moved 2 floors up with a sea view this room was just about bareable for 2 weeks but it looked like the decor was from 20 years ago, anyway after this disappointment we were determined to make the best of it. Entertainment was the poorest I have ever seen during the day, and at night it was worse comprising of 1 game of bingo, play your cards right and an entertainer that was so poor it was embarassing there was absolutely nothing for my teenage daughters except talk to friends they had met, Food at this hotel is quite frankly dreadful it is the same virtually everyday and has no spices that would reflect Cyprus, in the end we could not face breakfast at all, we ate small parts of the lunchtime and evening buffet ending up with us getting pizzas from down the road, Drinks from the bar comprised of draught lager which was fine with me but the cocktail menu had us in bouts of laughter if you could imagine orange squash with some kind of vodka/spirit and then finished with a colouring agent that would be a fairly acurate look and taste for all the cocktails served here quite simply horrible, Staff behind the bar oh! buy the way there is only one bar in which everything is served from were both slow and very unattentive to say the least apart from a couple of staff that did actually try. One last moan before I summarise, we went all inclusive, however this hotel offers everthing from self catering to All inclusive which meant if you were AI the food you ordered at bar was completly different to the guests that were paying, so your cheese burger would be a rather horrible mini burger while the other guests paying would receive a big quarter pounder this was the same for all food on the bar snack menu which is a quite frankly a cheat and disgrace it was also rather embarassing, anyway to summarise this hotel it should in our opinion be rated as a 2 star max and be a self catering facility as it cannot supply either food or drink to any sort of standard, Cyrus and especially Protarus is a beautiful place with pleasant people and lovely weather but if you stay at this hotel you will remember your hotel more than the weather and beauty.
Regards P.R

Room Tip: Book Block D donot stay in room 1001 in block A it is a dungeon
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Me ,my husband and 17 year old son came back yesterday after 2 weeks at vangelis .we ended up staying here as your holidays .com had booked us in wrong apartments but after sorting things out we changed again and ended up booking here and so glad we did as its very clean as apartments are cleaned 6 days a week which included clean sheets and towels also free air con in bedroom and living area .The pool was great as a great size we were in there every day there is never a shortage of sun beds either .we stayed self catering as right on the door step to main strip so ate out in evenings mainly at cheers pub as meals were great prices for the amount of food you got.
My son made 10 new friends staying here ,everyone is so friendly and all ages come here so great for everyone so dont hesitate and book vangelis as best holiday we have had so far and will be booking for next august :)

Room Tip: Room 2308 was end room so larger ,ideal for familys ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vangelis ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vangelis ApartHotel

Address: 34 Hotels Avenus, Protaras, Paralimni, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 67 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Vangelis ApartHotel 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Vangelis ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vangelis Apart Hotel Protaras
Vangelis Aparthotel Protaras
Vangelis Aparthotel Hotel Protaras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vangelis ApartHotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.