We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You need to pay for wifi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kapetanios Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kapetanios Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Kapetanios Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Protaras Rd | PO Box 33142, Protaras, Paralimni 5311 , Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You need to pay for wifi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

It is a nice hotel, with friendly people and very nice food. The only thing is that you need to pay for wifi, from €3 an hour or €5 per day. This is not acceptable in our days. I hope they change this policy.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    64
    36
    16
    5
See reviews for
48
68
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We booked at the Kapetanios Hotel as a local couple wanting a holiday. I was dismayed when I saw the lobby area as everything looked like it came out of an 80's holiday leaflet - very dated. However - the hotel overall has a clean feel to it. Keeping a brand new hotel clean is not so difficult, but keeping a very old hotel clean is at the very least commendable. The room facilities weren't great, but generally the room had a good feel to it despite its age and the air conditioning worked well, which was pretty much all we needed. Beds were not uncomfortable, either. We're staying there again this weekend as we think it's great value for money, right on the beginning of the main Protaras road. Another thing worth mentioning - the staff were very helpful. Our beach towel blew off the balcony where it was drying and when we asked reception if they had found it on their grounds below (they hadn't), the receptionist told us to visually check the balconies of the rooms below us and let them know. We checked, spotted the towel, gave reception a call and surely enough, 10 minutes later we had our towel delivered to us. They could've just not bothered, but they did, and we thank them!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

this hotel whilst clean; and the food was reasonably good; the decor thru out is very 60s 70s; the staff were very helpful; and polite;; the bedroom we stayed in was tired and needed moderenising very very dated;; the bathroom was atrocious; very small ; the shower was a joke; it not tilt and was almost impossible to get under shower head; and a stupid glass shelf above the W.H.B mean;t you could not stoop to the basin to rinse your face; you had to leave bathroom door open; to try and make this tiny space function;; the price we paid for one weeks B/B in this hotel thru thomas cook was a rip off almost £1400.00 ;; COMPLETE RIP OFF FROM THOMAS COOK ans also we saw a sticker from your selves recommending it;;

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

For a cheap deal the hotel is not too bad. The facilities are decent and clean and the pool area is pleasant, however I have many concerns about my stay here. Firstly when we arrived we had asked for a double room but were given a single room instead. When we stated this the receptionist told us we had no choice but to stay there as all double rooms were fully booked. when arriving at our room there were several problems that were addressed immediately. Firstly, the air con was very weak and barely made a difference to the temperature of the room. Worse than this the dial to change the settings was broken as was the built in radio. There was only two very small lifts in the whole hotel and one of them was rarely working and always seemed to be stuck on the third floor. The breakfast was cheap and disgusting. Most of the food had already gone by the first hour and refills were rare. The worst part about my stay here was of course the fact you have to PAY FOR WIFI! Not only was this a major inconvenience at times but the signal was weak and kept disconnecting. On one occasion I could not obtain a days wifi as they were out of 24 hour wifi cards. After several hours of asking, they eventually managed to restock on cards, however the internet server had gone down at this point and they could not offer me any internet any as a result. After all this incompetence I respectfully asked if I could have the wifi for free instead. The receptionists then had the cheek to demand 5 euro completely ignoring my request. This was dealt with in a very unprofessional and unfriendly manner. Overall I would strictly recommend STAYING AWAY from Kapetanios bay hotel. I understand that this hotel is usually a cheap deal, however this gives no excuse for the rude behaviour of some of the members of staff. Other than this you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Protaras, Cyprus
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Requested a room overlooking the Magic Dancing Waters. Room 126 and 127 were directly overlooking it! cost €49 for HB for 2 adults and a child - cheaper than the €65 entrance fee it would have cost to go and see the Dancing Wates.
Situated at the top of Proataras strip and next to McDonalds and Dancing Water Show.
Rooms were small, basic but clean. Lovely pool. Food was simple but good. Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice basic 3*, would stay again.

Room Tip: 126 and 127 overlook the Magic Dancing Waters Show.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Basic Half Board basis... Meal was mediocre, not excellent, but good..Restaurant needs modernising. Breakfast was simple and kept me alive - limited choices. The room was wonderful and the bed was comfortable and hot water was sufficient. The Hotel view was ok, thriving busy street, but not that noisy. The Rooftop after dinner was a hovering of curious guests looking for the Magic Fountain Show - was very amusing, but lovely throng of people being entertained for free.. I enjoyed the show for 45 minutes. The great thing about this Hotel is the location and friendliness of the staff - especially Reception girls, jovial and happy genuine smiles. The bus was so convenient...7.30am to Paphos, 2.5 hour journey, and just cost a silly 7 EURO for a 110 mile journey!!!!..Cheap as you like! Only one bus, but under used I see, such a shame. I would stay here again, but Fig Tree Bay is not an amazing beach in my opinion, its nice - but that is it. Thank you!! It has a great main strip for shopping to great nightlife - family orienated.

Room Tip: High Floor for great views!..Not the Mcdonalds View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
303 helpful votes 303 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

For 37quid,we stayed overnight on a half board, 2 adults and a child, and even watched the dancing water show from our window, show costing 65-70 eur for 3 people!
Reception was friendly and fast.
Room basic with a mini fridge, hairdrier, basic bathroom amenities.
The hotel has a small market on site, and its next to macdonalts and the beginning of Protaras touristic area.
There is a restaurant a swimming pool and 5 minutes from one of Cyprus nicest beaches.
Evening food was average but very good for the price we paid. Service was okay and it was full. There was a cypriot night with dancing and entertainment.
Breakfast was less busy and again good quality.
Overall very pleased with our stay and will definitely come back!

Room Tip: 125 or 126 which is direct view of the dancing water show!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kapetanios Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapetanios Bay Hotel

Address: Protaras Rd | PO Box 33142, Protaras, Paralimni 5311 , Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kapetanios Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kapetanios Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kapetanios Bay
Kapetanios Bay Protaras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kapetanios Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.