We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very ancient ;;” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Kapetanios Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kapetanios Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Kapetanios Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Protaras Rd | PO Box 33142, Protaras, Paralimni 5311 , Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Western Ireland, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very ancient ;;”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

this hotel whilst clean; and the food was reasonably good; the decor thru out is very 60s 70s; the staff were very helpful; and polite;; the bedroom we stayed in was tired and needed moderenising very very dated;; the bathroom was atrocious; very small ; the shower was a joke; it not tilt and was almost impossible to get under shower head; and a stupid glass shelf above the W.H.B mean;t you could not stoop to the basin to rinse your face; you had to leave bathroom door open; to try and make this tiny space function;; the price we paid for one weeks B/B in this hotel thru thomas cook was a rip off almost £1400.00 ;; COMPLETE RIP OFF FROM THOMAS COOK ans also we saw a sticker from your selves recommending it;;

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    64
    36
    16
    5
See reviews for
48
68
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

For a cheap deal the hotel is not too bad. The facilities are decent and clean and the pool area is pleasant, however I have many concerns about my stay here. Firstly when we arrived we had asked for a double room but were given a single room instead. When we stated this the receptionist told us we had no choice but to stay there as all double rooms were fully booked. when arriving at our room there were several problems that were addressed immediately. Firstly, the air con was very weak and barely made a difference to the temperature of the room. Worse than this the dial to change the settings was broken as was the built in radio. There was only two very small lifts in the whole hotel and one of them was rarely working and always seemed to be stuck on the third floor. The breakfast was cheap and disgusting. Most of the food had already gone by the first hour and refills were rare. The worst part about my stay here was of course the fact you have to PAY FOR WIFI! Not only was this a major inconvenience at times but the signal was weak and kept disconnecting. On one occasion I could not obtain a days wifi as they were out of 24 hour wifi cards. After several hours of asking, they eventually managed to restock on cards, however the internet server had gone down at this point and they could not offer me any internet any as a result. After all this incompetence I respectfully asked if I could have the wifi for free instead. The receptionists then had the cheek to demand 5 euro completely ignoring my request. This was dealt with in a very unprofessional and unfriendly manner. Overall I would strictly recommend STAYING AWAY from Kapetanios bay hotel. I understand that this hotel is usually a cheap deal, however this gives no excuse for the rude behaviour of some of the members of staff. Other than this you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Protaras, Cyprus
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Requested a room overlooking the Magic Dancing Waters. Room 126 and 127 were directly overlooking it! cost €49 for HB for 2 adults and a child - cheaper than the €65 entrance fee it would have cost to go and see the Dancing Wates.
Situated at the top of Proataras strip and next to McDonalds and Dancing Water Show.
Rooms were small, basic but clean. Lovely pool. Food was simple but good. Staff were friendly and helpful. Nice basic 3*, would stay again.

Room Tip: 126 and 127 overlook the Magic Dancing Waters Show.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

Basic Half Board basis... Meal was mediocre, not excellent, but good..Restaurant needs modernising. Breakfast was simple and kept me alive - limited choices. The room was wonderful and the bed was comfortable and hot water was sufficient. The Hotel view was ok, thriving busy street, but not that noisy. The Rooftop after dinner was a hovering of curious guests looking for the Magic Fountain Show - was very amusing, but lovely throng of people being entertained for free.. I enjoyed the show for 45 minutes. The great thing about this Hotel is the location and friendliness of the staff - especially Reception girls, jovial and happy genuine smiles. The bus was so convenient...7.30am to Paphos, 2.5 hour journey, and just cost a silly 7 EURO for a 110 mile journey!!!!..Cheap as you like! Only one bus, but under used I see, such a shame. I would stay here again, but Fig Tree Bay is not an amazing beach in my opinion, its nice - but that is it. Thank you!! It has a great main strip for shopping to great nightlife - family orienated.

Room Tip: High Floor for great views!..Not the Mcdonalds View!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
304 helpful votes 304 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

For 37quid,we stayed overnight on a half board, 2 adults and a child, and even watched the dancing water show from our window, show costing 65-70 eur for 3 people!
Reception was friendly and fast.
Room basic with a mini fridge, hairdrier, basic bathroom amenities.
The hotel has a small market on site, and its next to macdonalts and the beginning of Protaras touristic area.
There is a restaurant a swimming pool and 5 minutes from one of Cyprus nicest beaches.
Evening food was average but very good for the price we paid. Service was okay and it was full. There was a cypriot night with dancing and entertainment.
Breakfast was less busy and again good quality.
Overall very pleased with our stay and will definitely come back!

Room Tip: 125 or 126 which is direct view of the dancing water show!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Revisited Kapetanios Bay in May 2014 after first visiting in 1993. Nothing much changed in the interim 21 year, rooms still pretty basic but location makes it a good place to stay, and frankly it's cheap (worked out about £40 a night B&B for me & the wife). Okay when we visited it was completely over-run by Russians, probably about 90% of the rooms were taken by our eastern-European neighbours - not really a problem unless you're ultra-xenophobic (the other 10% were UK Saga brigade BTW - being late forties I felt quite young !!!). B&B food adequate, although 10 a.m. cut-off a bit of a pain for us night-owls ! If you want sun in the afternoon ask for a pool facing room.

Room Tip: Pool facing room = sun in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed here at Easter arrived friendly greeting were upgraded to two rooms instead of a family apartment after initial reservations were given two sets of keys for both rooms hotel staff were very friendly rooms spacious and very clean, pool was very clean and lots of beds to choose from the only negative thing was the price of the beers small bottle was more expensive than larger bottles in the bars near to hotel. The hotel is ideally situated with a short stroll to fig tree bay. Would definitely book again

Room Tip: Ask for a pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kapetanios Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapetanios Bay Hotel

Address: Protaras Rd | PO Box 33142, Protaras, Paralimni 5311 , Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kapetanios Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kapetanios Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kapetanios Bay
Kapetanios Bay Protaras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kapetanios Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.