We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kapetanios Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kapetanios Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Kapetanios Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Protaras Rd | PO Box 33142, Protaras, Paralimni 5311 , Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 68 Hotels in Protaras
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
191 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

For 37quid,we stayed overnight on a half board, 2 adults and a child, and even watched the dancing water show from our window, show costing 65-70 eur for 3 people!
Reception was friendly and fast.
Room basic with a mini fridge, hairdrier, basic bathroom amenities.
The hotel has a small market on site, and its next to macdonalts and the beginning of Protaras touristic area.
There is a restaurant a swimming pool and 5 minutes from one of Cyprus nicest beaches.
Evening food was average but very good for the price we paid. Service was okay and it was full. There was a cypriot night with dancing and entertainment.
Breakfast was less busy and again good quality.
Overall very pleased with our stay and will definitely come back!

Room Tip: 125 or 126 which is direct view of the dancing water show!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    68
    42
    17
    5
See reviews for
52
79
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tyne & Wear
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Revisited Kapetanios Bay in May 2014 after first visiting in 1993. Nothing much changed in the interim 21 year, rooms still pretty basic but location makes it a good place to stay, and frankly it's cheap (worked out about £40 a night B&B for me & the wife). Okay when we visited it was completely over-run by Russians, probably about 90% of the rooms were taken by our eastern-European neighbours - not really a problem unless you're ultra-xenophobic (the other 10% were UK Saga brigade BTW - being late forties I felt quite young !!!). B&B food adequate, although 10 a.m. cut-off a bit of a pain for us night-owls ! If you want sun in the afternoon ask for a pool facing room.

Room Tip: Pool facing room = sun in the afternoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We stayed here at Easter arrived friendly greeting were upgraded to two rooms instead of a family apartment after initial reservations were given two sets of keys for both rooms hotel staff were very friendly rooms spacious and very clean, pool was very clean and lots of beds to choose from the only negative thing was the price of the beers small bottle was more expensive than larger bottles in the bars near to hotel. The hotel is ideally situated with a short stroll to fig tree bay. Would definitely book again

Room Tip: Ask for a pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

I booked Superior Room Side Sea View in that hotel only for 2 nights in the beggining of May. On arrival we were given Double Standard Room instead of booked Superior Room with Side Sea View. The receptionist was very "surprised": "Oh,my God! Really? How could it happened???Sorry, sorry but we don't have available Superior Room for you now." She also mentioned that we can change room to our booked room only next day! She also offered help to move our luggage etc. Next morning I went to reception to find out when our Superior Room will be ready and who will help us to move (we are family with 2 small children); the manager Nicos spoke to me in a rude impolite manner accusing me in last minute booking! Despite the fact that the reservation was done exactly 1 month before! No help offered with the luggage. DO NOT STAY IN KAPETANIOSBAY HOTEL! SAVE YOUR NERVES!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abingdon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

we have been to Cyprus and this resort before but it is the first time at this hotel. As previous comments state the rooms are not large, and if you can opt for a room with an overhanging balcony as they are slightly bigger.

There are no tea making facilities in the rooms, you have to rent a kettle cups and spoons, at £14 per fortnight,unless you have a superior room, which also includes a fridge, which when we booked was only £20 more through the holiday company but €12 per night when we arrived here and we regret now not upgrading then.

wi-if is also chargeable, €20 for 5 days and can only be used on one device,and there seems to be a block on streaming blink box and Amazon movies, also I could receive but not make Skype calls and for a maximum of 15 mins only It is slow and cuts out often, so beware of that.All the local bars have free wi-if.

Having said all of that they are details to consider but the hotel,is very clean, linen changed regularly, the staff are VERY friendly and helpful and the food is good and there is lots of it. Again see previous comments re location, which is perfect. Try to get a room not overlooking McDonalds, as we have had quiet nights the whole time. recommend this place for value, cleanliness and staff if they could sort out the details it would be perfect. We would come back again with no hesitation.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

stayed in this hotel before, room better this time. breakfast was ok reasonable choice. we stayed B & B. short walk to beach plenty of restaurants and bars close by. resort is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Low Cost Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

First time we have stayed in this hotel from 2nd oct .
Very noisy on the Mcdonalds side. Location good as it is cental for most things. Needs a lot of updating. Very basic rooms air con very noisy to .Only thing good was the food it was excellent with a lot of choice also the staff were friendly. Would'nt go again

Room Tip: Rooms are quieter facing the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Protaras hotels
1.4 mi away
Adelais Bay Hotel
Adelais Bay Hotel
#38 of 68 in Protaras
3.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amore Hotel Apartments
Amore Hotel Apartments
#37 of 68 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Artemis Hotel Apartments
Artemis Hotel Apartments
#43 of 68 in Protaras
3.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Antigoni Hotel
Antigoni Hotel
#53 of 68 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 stars 513 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vangelis ApartHotel
Vangelis ApartHotel
#50 of 68 in Protaras
3.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mandali Hotel Apartments
Mandali Hotel Apartments
#51 of 68 in Protaras
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kapetanios Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapetanios Bay Hotel

Address: Protaras Rd | PO Box 33142, Protaras, Paralimni 5311, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 68 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kapetanios Bay Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Kapetanios Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kapetanios Bay
Kapetanios Bay Protaras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kapetanios Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.