We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hoilday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kapetanios Bay Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kapetanios Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kapetanios Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Protaras Rd | PO Box 33142, Protaras, Paralimni 5311 , Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 65 hotels in Protaras
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good hoilday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Went to hotel on 10 th April with mercury direct for 3 weeks had a great time .hotel was basic but very clean rooms were clean daily we had a superior room with fridge kettle over looking magic water fountains so had a free show very good.Food was better than many places I have stayed at and really enjoyed it .Staff were very friendly weather perfect enjoyed it that much have booked to go again in October just make sure you take tea coffee they don't provide any .Beaches are very good and spent many hours on them .Sun beds at hotel there were plenty so no need to get up early .

Room Tip: Choose superior room over looking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    56
    27
    16
    5
See reviews for
36
66
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The hotel is slightly dated but the food was good and the staff are helpful and just walk outside the hotel and everything is close at hand.The room was of a good size but the bathrooms are a bit small,the room was cleaned every day and the noise level was low.The pool area was never crowded . Overall the hotel seems to suit families and older couples.

Room Tip: The "side sea view" is a good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Jusr spent three weeks in Kapetanios hotel, was a bit doubtful after reading some of the reviews before going but need not have worried as it is not as bad as some would have it.
We found the best thing about it was the friendliness of the staff in all areas. We were initially allocaated a room overlooking McDonalds on a late arrival due to flight delay of one hour. We asked the night porter if we could change the to pool side of the hotel, he said we would have to wait until next morning, but he assured us that there would not be a problem and he was correct, next morning we went to the desk after breakfast and the lady receptionist transferred us straight away. Room 204 overlooks the carpark and also the swimmimg pool. Very efficiient air/con too. Room was comfy and clean with a small but adequate balcony with 2 chairs and a small table. Sheets changed about every 3 days.
The bathroom was small everything worked as it should, but it was difficult to use the wash basin as there was a small glass shelf pretty close above it, shower was good with a constant supply of hot water.and towels changed most days.
Dining room when we went in early, it was always easy to get a table, in fact we sat at the same one for most of our stay. Breakfast had something for every taste. Dinner was not so varied day to day, but plenty to choose from.Only complaint, the food was never very hot, apart from the soup. That was scalding.
There were a lot of East Europeans in the hotel during our stay. They like their food and plenty of it, they soon demolished the grapes when they came in.
Dancing waters at the end of the hotel started at 9pm to 10pm. but we never heard it from our room.
The beach which is one of the best we have seen on Cyprus so far is not on the doorstep as one reviewer put it, but is a ten to fifteen minute walk away depending on your fitness and is a gentle down hill walk. We found it tiring walking back up after mid day, but we are getting on a bit now. The beach front has all been updated with a good promenade right up to Fig Tree Bay from the jetty and a good way in the opposite direction.
The only real downside to our stay at this hotel, I have to say its the cigarette smoke inside. It drifted out of the offices behind the desk in reception and it was in the corridors upstairs, it also came in through the balcony into our room.
There is a no smoking sign stuck on the mirror over the dressing table, when you look at it closer, it says in small print at the bottom IN BED. OK if you are a smoker I suppose, but not very nice if you have just got over a chest infection as we had.
In general, its a small but comfortable hotel right in the centre of bars and restaurants. One good place to eat if you want a change, try Mr Cod just round the corner from the hotel. We were on half board but we went and can highly recommend it. They do Sunday roasts too.

Room Tip: rooms on the poolside are quiter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowplain, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The staff are very helpful,diningroom gets quite crowded at times,but food adequate,the rooms are bit dated but understand some are being reovated.
my husband and i recommend The Greenery pub for a drink and snack jhe staff there are very friendly. for eating out try Ripples just up the road good good and comfortable atmostphere.

Room Tip: superior are slightly bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We looked for cheap hotel in the centre of Protaras and we choosed this one. We asked room with pool view, because other side is oriented to the nain street. Rooms are little bit tired, but we only sleep there, so it was not important for us. The food was very very good, staff excellent especially waiters.And the room was cleaned every day, if you want and the tavels changed. So, we have got the best for our money. And that is the reason for the 5points.

Room Tip: choose the room with pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ne england
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed here for 11 nights returning on the 30th September and found the hotel perfectly adaquate, the room was comfortable (bathroom a bit tired but clean), the food was really good plenty of choice and not repeated very often and the staff were very polite and helpfull The positition of the hotel was excellent right at the top of the strip, would definately go back again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Just returned from a short break with B&B. The hotel is very central to all amenities, is a little dated but is spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were superb. The staff were all friendly and helpful. Will definitely return, due to its excellent location and value for money

Room Tip: twin bedded rooms are larger, book a fridge in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kapetanios Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapetanios Bay Hotel

Address: Protaras Rd | PO Box 33142, Protaras, Paralimni 5311 , Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 65 hotels in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kapetanios Bay Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Otel, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Kapetanios Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kapetanios Bay
Kapetanios Bay Protaras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kapetanios Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.