We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kapetanios Bay Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kapetanios Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kapetanios Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Protaras Rd | PO Box 33142, Protaras, Paralimni 5311 , Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 65 hotels in Protaras
Peebles, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Back again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We returned again to this hotel in May 2012 for the 5th year running. Again, no complaints. It always feels like going home, the staff are so friendly and make you so welcome. We were again on half board basis, and the food was up to the high standard as before. Lots of it and a very varied selection. The poolside was clean, many sunshades and beds available. We hope to return next year.

Room Tip: You can upgrade your room at at an extra cost if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    56
    27
    16
    5
See reviews for
36
66
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I visited this Hotel in June'10, I have no complaints regarding the Staff, and found them to be Helpful, friendly, courteous and very accommodating, Which made for an excellent stay!! Food choice a bit limited, but several choices of menu available, Hey your not in the UK, (Try the Local Quisine, very good and reasonabley priced.. ), Table service, cleanliness, Excellent... Pool and Area, kids pool, spotlesssley clean, very relaxed safe area... Shop adjoining Hotel, for those forgotten bits, papers etc, Supermarkets within 100mts.
Bedroom, although a little dated, by Uk tastes? Very Spacious, Air-con / Heater, Ensuite Spacious, Balcony with table and chairs, and fantastic views, out to sea and over town, room Cleaned Daily..
Nicely located at the top of 'The Strip', easy reach of, Beach, bars, etc, Nice walks, Hot!! Lots to do and see in Area, Beautiful clean Golden Beaches, Boat trips, etc!! I found all the Cypriot people to be friendly, helpful and Laid Back, nothing was a problem!!!
Hire cars very cheap, shop around, pick up at Airport, adds extra, short walk and ther is several Car Hire Companies, I hired a car and visited, lots of different places, on the Island, Troodos Mountains, Paphos, etc!, Which worked out a lot lot cheaper, than airport transfers, coach excursions, plus you can come and go as you please!!
All in all, I had a Brilliant stay, thanks to ' Staff and Management, of the Kapetanios Bay Hotel' and the, Friendliness, Humour and the Compassion, the Cypriot People show for there country,
( a bit like England was) !! Drive on the Left, Uk type 3pin sockets!! did not use fitness centre?? I would definateley reccomend staying here, and hope to return, for a longer stay, in the Autumn.

Room Tip: There are 2 blocks here, around the Pool, one for S/c-Families, I stayed on the 3rd floor, At the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

My husband and I came here for our honeymoon (Oct 08), it was a last minute booking so didn't have chance to read reviews beforehand. It was cheap so wasn't expecting much, it was a standard hotel, the food was very basic and what you'd expect from a cheap holiday. However there are a number of good restaurants near by. The location was perfect, minus the Mcdonalds on our doorstep. I'd stayed at the Cavo Maris just down the road on a previous holiday some years ago, which was a much nicer hotel, however this one was right on 'the strip'. The customer service was above average. Would not stay there again, but for what we paid, and what we got out of our holiday it was fine. Cheap and Cheerful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

stayed there end july and enjoyed cyprus from this hotel! center of protaras, 5 min walk from the beach, swimming pool- what else do u need to a have a nice vacation!
Yes, more sun and good food to make it unforgettable!
good service, free wifi at the reception made the holidays really good!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Dont be put off by negative reviews great hotel rooms cleaned every day yes the bathrooms are small and rooms dated but good value,we had a pool view room,pool is clean and a good size plenty of sunbeds and no need to get up early to put towels on staff very helpful The hotel is at the top of the Strip so handy for all places to eat and drink,Ripples bar at Top over from hotel is good great service and good mix of Music but not loud and they have sky sports,Also try Captain Panikkos Boat trip better than the others with wine and snacks for 10 euro great litle trip goes from the jetty take the first left off the strip from the hotel to the beach we would go back to stay at Kapetanios.

Room Tip: Ask for Pool View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Agree this is a basic hotel but your rooms are cleaned every day. Dont agree that the rooms at all. Plenty of space in bathroom as well so surprised at one of the comments on here. Nice balcony space, we actually got to see the water show next door for free - 17 euros pp if you go to it! Great location if you want to be near everything, beach 5 mins down road, any type of restaurant you desire is within spitting distance. Pool area is fine, plenty of sunbeds to choose from. Very quiet so if you're after a loud noisy atmosphere prob not the place for you. Nice to chill out. Breakfast plenty and good choice, even if you prefer cooked English every day, it's there for you! The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful and booked our taxi to the airport whereas the Tourist Office just gave us the phone number - very poor! The Cypriots are always very welcoming to the Brits. It's not the Caribbean and you dont get white sand on the beaches but you don't pay the price for the Caribbean either! Do the trip to Famagusta if you can as it's worth seeing the North side of the island.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

we returned from our holiday at the kapetanios bay hotel yesterday (mom.11th july 2011) it was a last minute booking through Thomas cook and it was all sorted in a week. we have never booked a holiday this way before, and so we were apprehensive to say the least.. On arriving at the hotel we did think what have we done as it was right next to mc donalds, but we were soon put at ease when we walked into a very pleasant reception area and from then on our holiday just got better, we had a room with a small balcony overlooking the pool area and a side sea view. The bedrooms are quite basic and the bathroom small and needs updating but having said that they are kept very clean as is everywhere in the hotel. We were H/B and there was always a decent variety of evening meals, breakfast was continental or full english and of course cereals. pool area is very pleasant and most of our days were spent there chilling out., all staff are very polite helpful and work very very hard would we stay at this hotel again YES and we have already recommended it t to friends, my husband and I are late forties but this hotel is for all age groups. had a lovely holiday Lel,& Pete west mids.

Room Tip: ask for a room at the side( Pool area side )or at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kapetanios Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapetanios Bay Hotel

Address: Protaras Rd | PO Box 33142, Protaras, Paralimni 5311 , Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 65 hotels in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kapetanios Bay Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Tingo, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Kapetanios Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kapetanios Bay
Kapetanios Bay Protaras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kapetanios Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.