We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday 2011” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kapetanios Bay Hotel

Save Saved
You added Kapetanios Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kapetanios Bay Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Protaras Rd | PO Box 33142, Protaras, Paralimni 5311 , Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 65 hotels in Protaras
Peebles, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Holiday 2011”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed at this hotel again, 4th year running. The first comment from the staff was 'welcome back', and we were happy to be there. Yes, the hotel could be upgraded in the rooms, as the toilet is rather small, but the cleanliness and the overall stay at the hotel was again very pleasant. The staff are excellent, and are always ready to please. Whether it be to serve in the restaurant, sort out any problems we may have, or just be there for a blether, they always have time for you. This year again we stayed on half board basis. The food was plentiful, lots of it, and very tasty. Local transport is very cheap, 2 euro ticket per person for all day travel. If you want to see the island, this is recommended rather than taking an operator tour which can be costly. Protaras is a quieter resort compared to Ayia Napa. Fig Tree Bay is beautiful with a massive sandy beach. There is now a walkway along the beach leading down to Pernera, and is also being built further up the coast. This is a real boost to the area as it is lit in the evenings and makes a relaxing walk along the shoreline. I would recomment this hotel and resort.

Room Tip: email the hotel previous to your holiday
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    56
    27
    16
    5
See reviews for
36
66
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South Yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

Yes, it is dated and in need of some modernisation but for the price it is a bargain. Our room was quite outdated but the bathroom was quite modern and everything was very clean. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast was plentiful. There was some noise from the nearby 'Sphynx' but it didn't disturb us too much. If you want a cheap, clean well located hotel this is for you.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

I have been staying at this hotel for the past 15 years and when i first came here there was no macdonalds, no water show and no sphinx bar. Protaras was only a tiny place which has been built on since. If i was coming to protaras now i would probably quail at the horrors of the dreaded elvis tribute shows etc. i still go there despite the built up nature of this resort because of the fantastic staff in the hotel, and the effort they make to help you enjoy your holiday. if you want to get the best out of cyprus try and learn a little greek such as please and thank you as a little goes a very long way and unlike the spanish costas the cypriots are pleased that you have come their island. it's not a cheap place to get to which does bump up the cost of your holiday, but once there exploring the surrounding villages, secluded beaches and tavernas is great fun, so don't think that cyprus is all about these trashy bars - use the kapetanios as a base to see the island from, and you will get far more from your holiday. yes it probably is a bit old fashioned in parts, but they added on a completely new wing and dining room to the building and built a large pool at the side. The original pool wasn't much bigger than the bedroom !! come and try this small and friendly hotel and if you are expecting the ritz - go there.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Arrived at the new airport in October this year. A smooth transfer with a very nice coach driver. The hotel ( which we have stayed at a number of times before ) is very dated and in need of an urgent refurbishment. The bathrooms in the old part of the hotel are extremely small in fact tiny. Our room was not vacummed for a week as the apple pip which was there when we arrived lasted the whole week. The general condition of the room was sub standard for the price paid.The staff were friendly and obliging in most instances. We were upgraded by our tour operator to half board for just 28 pence for the two weeks. The food was in general was ok, we have eaten a lot better and a lot worse, if you eat later ( after 8.30pm ) then the choice of what is left is limited. The hotel is rated as 3 star and some of the guests arrived for evening meal in cut off tee shirts, shorts and flip flops, not particularly tidy.Breakfast on most mornings was cold. The location is very good for this busy resort with plenty for all. Plenty of bars and restaurants offering a wide choice of fare.
It appears that the hotel is going to have a facelift and, in spite of the poor decor and general condition we will return again, hopefully.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

having just come back from this hotel ..... what can i say . this was our fisrt time abroad and picked this hotel for location and were not disappointed at all ... very close to all ammenities night life and very close to mc donalds for an evening snack. The hotel was very clean. and the staff very helpful. On our arrival to the hotel we were greeted by the night receptionist PHANOS well l what can i say about him except, what a lovely friendly man he is who always had time for a chat when ever he was on duty.. Danny the bar man was also very nice always chatting away to you whenever he could. We went HB and would highly reccommend it as the selection of food was amazing. the beach was only a 5 min walk away and very clean.If you are planning a trip to protaras we would reccommend you look this hotel up you wont be disappointed and we are palnning on going back again in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

I stayed here for one week, 22nd August 2010 with my sister (both aged early 30's) used hotel as base as visiting family who live near by and my children who were staying with them.
This hotel is in a fantastic location for Prot, at the start of the strip located directly behind MacDonalds,
Positives: good position, food really good and varied, has air con, staff friendly and helpfull,
Negatives: rooms are a bit dated, can be quite noisey (by loud bars and water show) til midnight/1am. No tea/coffee facilities or fridge in room. You are able to hire tea/coffee for a week at 16.00 euros - which we did all you get for that is a kettle and two cups! If you want tea bags/coffee etc you have to buy from their shop (downstairs) and if you buy any milk it will go off quickly in the room! - you are able to hire fridge for about 30 euros!
TIPS FOR FAMILIES: - My two young children were also living nearby with their father for 3 weeks and i was there visiting them, If you want to go to the waterpark i recommend the small local family water park in protarus (not the main aquapark) It is much smaller but friendlier and suitable for all ages including toddlers, you can see them and the slides from any of the sun loungers, was a really lovely day out and alot cheaper too!

Overall the hotel wasnt bad but could have been better! I have stayed at lots of hotels/appartments in Prot over the years and the best so far for me has been ALVA apartments - located bang centre, lovely spacious rooms and great value.
If you go with children you want an apartment with fridge/kitchen etc.. not a hotel room.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

YASSAS!! We stayed for one week at the Kapetanios Bay Hotel, Protaras, Cyprus, from 25th August until 1st September 2010. It was myself (I am a 22 year old girl) and my parents. Flight there was horrific. We flew from Birmingham with Thomson's Airways and we had absolutely ZERO legroom (we are all 6ft plus.) The transfer from Larnaca Airport however, was great. We landed at approx 12.30am and were tired. The Thomson's rep realised this and was lovely and the driver was hilarious - and it was a smooth transition from Airport to hotel. (Took around 1 hour 20 mins.) Now to the Kapetanois Bay Hotel itself .... We arrived there about 2.30am and were greeted in Reception by a really lovely Greek man with a twinkle in his eye! We were given our key and directed to the family apartments, which are in an annexe next door (about 20ms from Reception.) The annexe has 4 floors which are served by stairs and a lift. The room was basic to say the least. Very dated decor straight out of the 70's!!! However, it was SPOTLESSLY CLEAN and the beds looked comfortable and inviting. We had a 1 bedroom family apartment which has Air Con, a small kitchen area with sink/cupboards/fridge (with tiny freezer compartment)/kettle/utensils/crockery/little 2-ring cooker/cutlery/dustbin. The main bedroom was very large and had a double wardrobe, dresser, mirror, stool and air con. The lounge area has 2 comfy chairs, a double sofa bed and a single bed; as well as a coffee table and dining table with 4 chairs. The bathroom is small but adequate - with a bath/shower/toilet/dustbin/sink/storage shelf. PLEASE NOTE: No need to take european adapters as all the plug sockets are ENGLISH!! We also had a balcony (all rooms have a balcony) with a little plastic table and 2 chairs. We were happy with the cleanliness and size of our apartment but did not think it was quite upto 3* standard. We were on the 3rd floor and the view from our balcony was of the side of the main Hotel building, the 'Sphinx Bar' next door and we could see a slither of the large McDonalds sign (which is opposite the Hotel.) The annexe does have sea/pool views, but there are only 4 apartments which have those views.
We stayed half board and were satisfied with the Hotel food. The restaurant has air con and is bright and welcoming (also dated decor..but it doesn't matter!) The restaurant staff are FANTASTIC. Friendly, helpful and always smiling. Breakfast is served from 7.30am - 9/9.30am. It consists of fruit, yoghurt, cereals, orange cake (DELCIOUS!), bread, cheese, jams/spreads, cold meats, bacon, sausage (small chipolata ones!!), eggs, beans, hash browns (in chunks), mushrooms and sauces. There is a coffee machine and also a fruit juice machine serving orange and grapefruit juices. Dinner is buffet style also, served from 7.30pm until 9pm. There is a different 'theme' each night. For example, 'Tex Mex' night, 'International' night and 'Traditional Greek' night.There are lots of different salads, fish, meats, olives/peppers, soup, bread, pasta, vegetables, rice, potatoes.....we even had spring rolls and yorkshire puds (although not at the same time of course!) The food was great, especially the desserts - try the cold rice pudding! It sounds grossbut it's amazing! If you're staying half board, you can choose to have lunch instead of dinner - we did this once and it was great. A smaller selection but still tasty. You have to buy your own drinks at lunch and dinner. A house bottle of wine costs 10 euros. A bottle of still water (serving 4 people) costs 1.50 euros. We thought that was fine. On Friday we were there they had entertainment on in the restaurant which was traditoonal Geek dancing ( a bloke balancing a stack of glasses on his head!!!) was crazy but very loud and we ended up taking part - despite protesting!
The hotel staff are lovely and the maids are brilliant. They do a fantastic job and are so friendly. Our towels/sheets were changed every 2 days and the maids came daily as well to make our beds/tidy our room. They even folded my pj's which I thought was sweet!
There is a bar next to Reception in the Hotel, as well as pool bar which serves drinks and snacks throughout the day. The pool itself is average in size for the Protaras area. Perhaps a little too small for the number of guests staying though. There is a fair amount of comfy sunbeds surrounding the pool, all with shades. The pool is open from 9am until 5.30pm. The maids clean it every day and it always looks spotless.
The week we stayed in Protaras(last week of August) it was BOILING HOT. Around 39/40 degrees every single day. We found the heat really oppressive so the air con in all the shops and our apartment was a godsend.
Protaras itself is a very touristy area - quite similar to Skegness and Blackpool in England!! The Hotel is situated at the end of the 'Strip' next to the very loud Sphinx bar (which has Madonna/Michael Jackson/The Beatles/Elvis tributes on every night!!! DEEP JOY!) The 'Strip' is full of bars, shops and restaurants. They are mostly bold and brash places with neon signs and karaoke night adverts, which cater to the 'beer and burger' crowds. We struggled to find an 'authentic' Greek restaurant. (eventually we did find one at Fig Tree Bay beach which was great)
We found supermarkets in Prrotaras to be VERY EXPENSIVE. A 6-pack of yoghurts for 3.50 euros!! A litre bottle of coke for 2.50 euros!! A block of cheese for 4 euros!! NOT CHEAP! A 4 pack of Carlsberg beers was approx 6 euros. A single bottle of smirnoff ice was 1 euro 50 (and that's the cheapest I found.) 'Happy Days' supermarket does a good offer on beer, a 6 pack of local beers for 4.50 euros (best we found.) Beer from a bar, however, is fairly priced. In most bars you pay 2 euros for a pint of Keo/Leon/Carlsberg (all locally brewed.) We thought that was pretty good! You pay more at beachside bars, of course (3 euros per pint.)
The Kapetanios Bay Hotel is situated 10 MINS walk from Protaras beach and about 25 MINS walk from Fig Tree Bay beach (worth extra walk!!!) there is a bus stop outside McDonalds which can take you to end of the 'strip' if you don't fancy walking. It's about 1 euro or less.
Fig Tree Bay beach is BEAUTIFUL. Golden sand and lovely clear calm waters. Great for young children. Felt like I was in the Caribbean when I first went there, as the water is so bright and turquoise. Just heavenly to swim in. There are also rocks to explore/fish to look at through a mask. Sunbeds are 2.50 euros each and an umbrella/shade is also 2.50 euros. We found that as the shade moved around, we struggled to fit 3 sunbeds under 1 shade. 2 beds per shade is best. STAVROS WATERSPORTS are on the beach and they are brilliant. They do banana boats rides, pedal boats, etc etc. They also do parasailing, which we did on our final day. It was FANATASTIC!!! 30 euros each for a tandem parasail. Geat value for money considering how long you get up in the air and a brilliant experience. You can even buy a photo of your 'flight' from Stavros for 5 euros afterwards! They also give you a certificate which was good to pin up in your office when you get home!
There are LOADS of trips available whilst you're in Protaras. Ask your Thomson's Rep, the Receptionist in the hotel or just pop into one of the travel agents along the 'Strip'. We booked an excursion through 'ThisVi' and it was 34 euros each for a day trip called "Discover the Island". Was great to get out of Protaras for a day and see the REAL Cyprus. We went to Limassol, Nicosia, Lania, the Troodos Mountains and to a lovely little church. Wasn't enough time in each location to see it properly (you could hire a car instead for 2 days - at 79 euros) but was still good to see the old parts of the Island. The mountains are a must-see.
There is a water park near to Ayia Napa that is about 32 euros (adult price) for the whole day. We didn't go but we heard from other people that it was a great day out.
Overall we had a great holiday. We were shocked by the heat and the expensive supermarkets. We also DIDN'T think it was worth the money that we paid though (we paid £1600 for 3 of us half-board) and we also think the Kapetanios Bay Hotel needs modernising. However...good company and decent Hotel food overrode all the money we spent and Fig Tree Bay is STUNNING and is definitely worth going to Cyprus for. You don't get that kind of water in the U.K. that's for sure!! We are unsure about whether we would go again, perhaps if the value of the euro against the pound improves. Staying next to the 'Sphinx' Bar was a little bit annoying (the latest it goes on to is about 2am though..so not too bad!?!) but the Hotel is also next to 'Magic Dancing Waters' which is a sight to behold! On every night 9pm-10pm. Watch it for free over the hotel wall!!! We did!!(cheapskates!) Otherwise I think it's about 9 euros each to watch in the stadium.
Our holiday was an experience to say the least. We are all open-minded and have been on a lot of package holidays before. We don't expect fancy touches and basic is all we require. However, even we thought that the Hotel needs a lick of paint and a bit of a refurb. We made the most of it though and let's face it the decor wasn't as important as spending quality time away together. Would reccommend the Kapetanios Bay Hotel to families with children, as well as older couples. If you can get a good deal (i.e. less than what we paid) and you're up for neon lights and Madonna tribute acts, then you will have a great time!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kapetanios Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kapetanios Bay Hotel

Address: Protaras Rd | PO Box 33142, Protaras, Paralimni 5311 , Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 65 hotels in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kapetanios Bay Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Kapetanios Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kapetanios Bay
Kapetanios Bay Protaras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kapetanios Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.