We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel, Worth a Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cavo Maris Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Cavo Maris Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Cavo Maris Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O. Box 33370, Protaras, Paralimni 5313 , Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Huddersfield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel, Worth a Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I have just returned from a stay at the Cavo Maris Beach Hotel and wanted to confirm previous reviews that this is well worth a visit. The location was fabulous, away from the hustle and bustle of Protaras but a lovely 20min walk to get to it if you so desire. The hotel was very clean, pleasantly presented and a great standard of room. We didnt get a beach view but was very pleased with the location of our room (471) as we got the afternoon sun so was able to sit and have drinks on the balcony at 5pm still in the sun. We stayed on a B&B basis and found this to be adequate as there was lots of restaurants and bars within the 20 min walk to visit and they werent expensive but had a high standard of menu and service. I recommend the Diva and Promises restuarants, excellent quality. Breakfast had a good variety of choice. Having drinking water station in numerous locations around the hotel was a fab idea and its certainly a plus when holidaying in the cyprus heat. I would definitely stay here again if and when we visit Protaras.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear HTFCHuddersfield
Many thanks for your very good review following your stay with us in June 2013 where it was “well worth a visit”.
We noted your comments:
- the location was fabulous, away from the hustle and bustle of Protaras
- the hotel was very clean, pleasantly presented
- a great standard of room
- Breakfast has a food variety of choice
- Drinking stations are a fab idea

We are particularly pleased that you consider staying in our hotel once again when if you visit Protaras. It will be a great pleasure to have you stay once again and we look forward to this occasion in the not too distant future.

Best regards
The Cavo Maris Beach Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    149
    51
    24
    9
See reviews for
209
132
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

This was our first time to this hotel and will not be our last. The hotel is so much better than the pictures depict, We arrived late mon june 10th and were greeted with a very friendly welcome on reception,Our room was a direct sea view ( 213 ) and was spotlessly clean with the most fantastic views. There was never a shortage of sunbeds and the beach was lovely and private.
The location was just right close enough to protaras strip but far enough away to be peaceful.We were on a b& b basis so walked into protaras every night but the bus service is exc too just 1 euro. the restaurants are amazing and so much choice and reasonable too,plenty to do here and preferred it to ayia napa where we were last june.
Next time we go we will up our board basis as we now know that this is a good hotel as breakfast always good ( loved the choc cake )
My husband had his birthday there and they gave him cake,card and flowers lol which was a lovely surprise.
To sum up we were not disappointed with anything about this hotel and just to add we think the free drinking water on every floor and pool bar is a great idea :-)
KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK we will return !

Room Tip: we had a direct sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear annay_10
Many thanks for your excellent review following your stay with us in June 2013.
We are particularly pleased that even though this was your first visit, it will not be your last. We especially noted:
- Greeted with a very friendly welcome
- Room was spotlessly clean with most fantastic views
- Never a shortage of sunbeds
- Beach was lovely and private
- Location was just right
- Breakfast was always good
- Free drinking water is a great idea.

We are very glad that your husband enjoyed his birthday surprise whilst on holiday. Furthermore, we note that you are considering staying in our hotel in the future and that you will up your board basis. Please do not hesitate to contact us for any information regarding the different boards we offer.
In the meantime we look forward to welcoming you again on some future occasion.

Best regards
The Cavo Maris Beach Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have been to Protaras many times, but this is by far the best hotel I have stayed in. The cleanliness is second to none. The staff are very polite and friendly and cannot do enough for you. Whilst the hotel is kept spotless by a team who are constantly, cleaning, mopping and painting. Very quiet spot, but main town only 20mins stroll away or 5 mins on the bus, which are every 20mins and very cheap. The 2 single beds in double room are a little disapointing, but would not put me off visiting again.

Room Tip: The room with the seaview was well worth the extra money. Fantastic. Also cooler in the afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Paul H
Many thanks for your very good review following your stay with us in June 2013.
We noted with pleasure that:
- You have been to Protaras many times, but this is by far the best hotel you have stayed in
- The cleanliness is second to none
- Staff are very polite and friendly and cannot do enough for you
- Hotel is kept spotless

Indeed the majority of our rooms do have 2 single beds. However, mentioning this to our Reception team would have enabled us to provide you with a mattress topper whereby converting the 2 single beds into a double bed. We are pleased that this has not put you off visiting again and we would be happy to provide this service for you on another visit to our hotel.
In the meantime we look forward to welcoming you again on some future occasion.

Best regards
The Cavo Maris Beach Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Larnaca, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Thanks for holiday.it's was nice. Just need to open refrigerator in the room. Needed. Try to make reservation again and in August it's will be full.but hope to make again vacation in this hotel. Thanks for a birthday cake.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Bookcyprus.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Irina A
Many thanks for your very good review following your stay with us in June 2013.
We noted with pleasure that you had a nice holiday and tried to book again for August unsuccessfully. August is always a very busy month being peak season however, we hope to be able to accommodate you on some other occasion.

With regard to the “refrigerator”, all our rooms are equipped with a “minibar”. Refrigerators are more common in self-catering apartments. Our minibars can be requested from Reception, whereby our guests are asked to order the drinks they would like, and we will be happy to stock it up for them.
We are glad you liked the birthday cake and look forward to welcoming you in the future.

Best regards
The Cavo Maris Beach Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, South Dakota, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The hotel itself is a bit dated, but it is not as if Cyprus is economically booming right now. The rates are very reasonable though and the beach is perfect for relaxing or snorkeling (they do scuba training about 100m out in about 15m of water).

The staff were very kind and attentive; also, I think that they work there all day....

It is a bit of a walk to get to the city center, but my wife and I wanted to avoid the crowds anyway. The food is good and prices were reasonable. Yes, there were a good amount of children at the resort, but we never had any noise issues.

We really enjoyed playing sand volleyball in the afternoon, which was put on by the staff. We were the first Americans they had seen in quite some time, but the cultural differences were minor and everyone spoke English other than the other guests.

It is a great hotel and location for the price, but don't expect the rooms or decor to be anything special.

Room Tip: Sea side views are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this review, July 13, 2013
Dear Jesse H
Many thanks for your very good review following your stay with us in May 2013.
We noted your very nice comments:
- The beach is perfect for relaxing or snorkeling
- Staff were very kind and attentive
- You enjoyed playing sand volleyball
- Great hotel and location for the price

We also noted your comments “the hotel is dated”. Perhaps you are not aware of this but in the last 2 years we have fully refurbished all our rooms, removed all carpets and replaced them with tiles, and installed (amongst many others) brand new flat screen televisions, to name but a few changes we have made. Some public areas have also been renovated and it is in our plans in the near future to renovate the Restaurant and Lobby areas. Our Air-condition system has been fully renovated and the bathroom fittings are being replaced now. We are constantly working on improving our standards and quality, something we are sure our Repeaters (around 35-40% of our guests) appreciate.

We would appreciate any note or comments from you advising us of what you consider necessary for upgrading so that our Hotel will not be considered as “dated”.
Many thanks again for your kind comments.

Best regards
The Cavo Maris Beach Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just got back from 1 week all inclusive (29 may 2013) at the Cavo Maris and have to say what a great hotel this is. It's spotlessly clean and the staff are so friendly! We stayed in a family room (2 singles and bunk beds) rooms could have done with being slightly bigger but we coped and had an amazing pool and sea view. Food was good lots of choice but the kids section didn't have as much choice. The hotel grounds are fab. Its about a 20 min walk into Protaras. This hotel deserves more than the 3 stars it currently has. The only negative I can give it was that the resort and hotel are over occupied by Russians!

Room Tip: We paid extra for a sea view. Well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Louise S,

Many thanks for your review following your recent stay with us in June 2013.

We noted with pleasure your very nice comments regarding:
- the cleanliness
- our friendly staff
- the good food with lots of choice
- the hotel grounds.

We are very grateful for your opinion that "the hotel deserves more than the 3 stars". Nevertheless, we assure you that our aim is to always do everything in our powers for all our guests to have a wonderdul stay with us.

Many thanks again for your very nice comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future.

Best regards

The Cavo Maris Beach Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed at the Cavo Maris for 10 days (may end to first week in june), the rooms are spacious and bathroom is fine, we had a sea view room on second floor.The hotel is a 20 min walk from the busy town that looks like Blackpool with sun, bars & more bars, shops & more shops.

The hotel food is great no doubt about that however,the wine (we were AI) was undrinkable, red in particular.

We do not have a maid at home and we always make sure that any hotel maid is given alternative days off as they work hard enough,its just our thing we do and we did it here.

The hotel staff are 100% focused on their job and help you as much as they can,a big thanks to Angela ( Angel face ) & the young gentleman Alisa ( did I spell that correct ) at the front desk.

People still reserving sunbeds and diving into the pool and wearing shorts (above the knee) at lunch and dinner, a notice is useless if people do not abide by the rules, they have to be told.

I understand it's about a three hour flight from Moscow to Cyprus and I estimate 70% of the hotel guests were Russian all with kids who loved to play on the balconies and move chairs about at 5 am !! great stuff !! ---Cyprus might expect a money bail out on their EU woes from Russia and if you Google Russia /Cyprus you'l get the picture ----but that's not the hotels problem .

No toilets at poolside or ground floor and this means a fair walk for people (it won't happen if your in the pool----hello !) and the new kiosk even further away .

Conclusion: The Carvo Maris is more a 'Family ' hotel and great if you have kids,
looks like I won't be getting a T shirt as a repeat guest---sorry.

Room Tip: choose a top floor ( if possible) with sea view to try and eliminate noise from kids and late bands...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prcavo, Public Relations Manager at Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear scotskilt

Many thanks for your very good review following your recent stay with us in May/June 2013.

We noted with pleasure your very nice comments regarding
- our spacious rooms
- the food
- our 100% staff.

However, it seems we did not manage on this holiday to meet your full expectations of which we apologise. We have noted your comments concerning having toilets on the ground floor and poolside, that guests are reserving sunbeds and the dress code we have for the main restaurant. We assure you that your comments will be taken into consideration. We do indeed tell our guests about our dress codes and reserving sunbeds by the pool, however, we cannot act like policemen!

We thank you again for your kind comments and we will nevertheless look forward to welcoming you on any future occasion.

Best regards
The Cavo Maris Beach Hotel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cavo Maris Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cavo Maris Beach Hotel

Address: P.O. Box 33370, Protaras, Paralimni 5313 , Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Protaras
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#14 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cavo Maris Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 243
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Cavo Maris Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cavo Maris Beach Protaras
Hotel Cavo Maris Beach
Cavo Maris Cyprus
Cavo Maris Hotel Cyprus

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cavo Maris Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.