We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pernera Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pernera Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Pernera Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 33005, Protaras, Paralimni, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Protaras
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“brilliant holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Just had a lovely, relaxing holiday.The hotel was next to the sea and there were some lovely walks nearby.The hotel is actually in Pernera which is a small but pleasant area with a few shops and bars etc. The food was lovely with plenty of variety in the main restaurants and we had a lovely meal in the gastro bar one evening with superb waiter service.
The room was very clean with air con,safe,hair dryer and fridge supplied.
The entertainment team were lovely and put a great deal of effort into shows etc (don't miss the fire show)
All the staff were great and nothing was too much trouble for them.
We will be returning to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    209
    62
    15
    3
See reviews for
199
231
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week here in early May. The hotel is not in central Protaras, but the much smaller Pernera which has a decent choice of shops, bars and eateries. You could walk to Protaras along the seafront in about 40 minutes or get a bus for 1 euro. The hotel itself has a great location next to the sea, with a small beach of its own next to the main one. There was a nice outdoor pool (the indoor one was shut for summer) and lots of lawns.

We paid a bit extra for a room with a partial sea view. It was well worth it as the view was lovely, across the bay. No noise at night from the bar either. There was a small balcony. Inside, the bed was very comfortable, the room itself spacious, with good storage and nicely decorated. The bathroom was small with just a shower but it did its job, although the cubicle screen had a habit of leaking. Note that all inclusive doesn't stretch to the room, the fridge stays empty and if you want bottled drinks you buy them in the shop.

The food quality was very high. All main meals are buffets and the choice impressive. A lot of the Greek style food and grills were excellent. In fact it was a very meat heavy menu. For evenings they have a different theme every night. The taverna which is used for lunch and dinner has a lovely setting and you can sit outside overlooking the sea.

The main bar has an outside and inside part, and is open all day. You can get fast food and snacks there over lunchtime and the afternoon. Ice creams are small but tasty little tubs. If you want proper branded lollies or cones you pay for them. Drinks were generally local or non branded, but fine all the same.

There is a small entertainment team. We can't comment on daytime but we enjoyed the evenings. Usually a kids disco, then a quiz and bingo, then the main act. The fire show in particular was superb. The team itself was talented and friendly, the MC had a nice sense of humour.

Very friendly and helpful staff all round. We had a couple of maintenance issues with the room and they were fixed promptly. The hotel could have been cleaned a little better at times (public toilets in particular) but it was very well maintained on the whole.

Most guests here were British, Russian, and then a few from Germany, Switzerland and Scandinavia. There was a real mix of all ages, and the atmosphere was very relaxed and friendly.

A great hotel on the whole, well done to all concerned.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Just spent a week in this hotel before the Cyprus holiday season really starts. The staff are incredibly friendly, helpful and cheerful. During our week here we experienced sharing the hotel with only a handful of guests at the beginning to the arrival of over 100 children with coaches for a football camp (this was amusing but made us pleased to be leaving and not arriving.)

The hotel public areas, restaurant, bar and pool area are spotlessly clean. The bedrooms are cleaned daily to a great standard.

Can't comment on the A la Carte restaurant as this was closed till the 1st of May. Shame our tour operator didn't have the ability to inform us of this in advance.

The location is stunning with awesome views out to sea, only a 30 minute walk to the nearest major town and this is along a boardwalk ideal for a daily stroll or jog.

The minor downside would be the poor bathroom : a very weak shower and poorly fitted shower screen which caused the floor to flood with water at each shower. This water on the tiled floor was very dangerous.

The major "complaint" is the food. At the beginning of the week whilst the hotel was quiet it was at best average. by the end of the week with more guest it improved in quality, variety and appeared someone had at least tried to plan a menu. If you are a vegetarian stay away, almost every dish contained meat.

If excellent food and chic dining is part of your holiday this is not the hotel for you. Other than that, fantastic location, cleanliness, staff and overall ambience.

Room Tip: Choose a room overlooking the sea and with a decent bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel numerous times and have enjoyed our holiday everytime. Sept 2012 was the first time since the refurbishment and going All Inclusive. We wondered what it was going to be like, but needn't have worried, the hotel had not only not lost its appeal but had got better. The refurbishment had been done very well and the change to all inclusive was good. The food in the restaurants was varied and well presented, the bar snacks were good although I would have thought crisps should have been all inclusive. The al a carte restaurant couldn't be faulted, the setting good, the food excellent and the service faultless. Staff in all areas were proficient, friendly and helpful. Special mention must be made of the cleaning staff and a thank you to all staff and entertainment team who made this once again a lovely holiday. Looking forward to visiting again in September 2013.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Perfect hotel! It deserves not 3 but 5 stars! Newly furnished interior, variety of tasty food, wonderful rooms, the possibility to use TWO different beaches!!! One beach is of sand and it`s lagoon, the second is the property of the hotel, you should purchase special boots to swim there, but the water is crystal clean and the view is amazing! Quiet and comfortable rest is guaranteed. We met there a charming couple from Germany and they stayed at this hotel for FOUR times already and they are planning to go there again. It is the indicator of success!

Room Tip: I think every room is good there
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My teenage daughter and I were both very impressed with the hotel overall. We went for a relaxing holiday as my daughter was off to university straight after our return to England. Upon our arrival to the hotel, we were checked in swiftly and were showed to the bar area where we were asked what we wanted in our sandwiches. Went up to our room and found the beds were comfy and had a beautiful sea view. After a very good nights sleep, we had a huge choice of breakfast. We then walked around the hotel and the grounds and found that we had so many choices of where to sunbathe and relax. We both wanted somewhere quiet to read our books and soon found a place. We also found the nearby beach very clean with little fish swimming around you. We preferred the sea. We decided to not use the pool. Lunchtime food was very nice and varied. Various salads and different meats and fruits and loads more. The evening meal was very special. The staff made it special. They were very charming. The restaurant setting is fantastic, overlooking the sea. The food was just what we wanted, varied and tasty. Wished we could eat more!!! While at the restaurant, we met other guests and became friends. Definately returning to the hotel again and again. We came to relax and that's exactly what we got. We went to all inclusive before but did not match Pernera. I have been reccommending to everyone. Thank you to all the staff at Pernera for making sure we had a good time during our stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Really lovely hotel. I have been here before and this year we went with friends who fell in love with the hotel. We always upgrade our rooms and we are never disappointed. Very clean and always a good choice of food. Pool are really lovely always get a bed by the pool. Entertainment staff really nice. Would go back again but. Still have many other countries to visit

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pernera Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pernera Beach Hotel

Address: PO Box 33005, Protaras, Paralimni, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Protaras
#10 Family Hotel in Protaras
#11 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pernera Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming hotel is located in "Pernera", a small area on the outskirts of Protaras, which has developed into a resort of its own. The hotel is right on the sandy beach of this quiet resort with restaurants, bars and many shops nearby. The Pernera beach hotel has a rich variety of sport and leisure facilities including:supermarket/souvenir shop, conference room, hairdressing salon, squash court, whirlpool bath, sauna, gym, massage room, two floodlit tennis courts, volleyball court, mini football ground, darts, games room, sun terraces, lounge bar, children playground, indoor swimming pool, a large outdoor swimming pool, children's swimming pool, a scuba diving center, water sports and a great variety of in-house entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pernera Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Pernera Beach
Pernera Beach Protaras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pernera Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.