We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice but not brilliant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Sands Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Silver Sands Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Silver Sands Beach Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   P.O.Box 37034, Protaras, Paralimni 5312, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 67 Hotels in Protaras
Harlow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“nice but not brilliant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

me and my partner went on 18th june and found out that weekend the day we arrived was water festival for all the locals .. very busy and very loud..
rooms were ok , but not enough space to put your clothes in , all you get is 1 small wardobe and 2 small drawers . no way near enough room for 2 people to put clothes in . bathroom was bit tired , but the shower was very good and powerful always had hot water . you dont need european plugs when here as all the same as in uk .
me and my girlfriend are both light sleepers and whenyou fancy an early night , all you can hear is the banging of the bar called rockafellers which play copycat dross every night and as most rooms are side inland view , i would not go if i new how noisy and annoying it gets when trying to sleep .
the food was ok but a bit the same each day and restuarant felt like back to school .the so called gym was a joke and they should not even mention they have got one , worst i have ever seen in hotel . the jacuzzi was just a scummy looking bath with the holes in it .dont thin they have ever been down and cleaned it .
my girlfriend complained about the noise to the manager and he upgraded us to a see view room at the illiada next door which was really really lovely , you can tell the difference big time from one place to the next .
had nice holiday , but if you dont like it too noisy in evening i would not stay at silver sands , you definately need a sea view room to combat the outside noises ,
protaras is a lovely place to go and would definately recomend , will be coming back again in few years but not to this hotel .
ps they charge for use of the fridge at 2 euros a day .. i found by using the handle of the teaspoon we had opened it no problem :-0) free of charge hehe

Room Tip: only stay sea view in this place or regret it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    126
    71
    30
    10
See reviews for
95
195
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

Just got back from the silver sands in protaras and would thoroughly recommend the hotel. Have been to protaras seven times and thought this was the best value for money hotel I have stayed in. (last 2 visits stayed at the Illiada next door) Rooms were great, and decorated and finished to a good standard. Maid service was excellent and indeed whole hotel was spotless. As i was only bed and breakfast, as i like dining out everynight, i cant comment on all the meals, but breakfast was very good with many choices. The pool bar was great for lunches and yes i have seen comments that drinks etc were dear, but no more expensive than other hotels. Yes you could get cheaper on the strip but i prefer to dine around the pool area. The pool and the sunbeds were first class. As a walkway is being finished by the beach there was some heras fencing up but at no time did any of the work interfere with my holiday. And the great thing about protaras is that its a nice family/couples resort with no lager louts. Would thoroughly recommend this resort and this hotel

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rainham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

The silver sands is a great hotel. I have stayed there twice now with my girly friends. The hotel has been updated since my first stay but its still just as nice. The rooms are nicely decorated & spacious sleeping 2. All have mod coms inside with a large enough balcony to get 4 chairs on. Plus the maids do a great job and the rooms were always cleaned before lunch
The pool has been updated with 4 poster canopy beds, single or double padded loungers & umbrellas around and plenty of sunbathing space for everyone. Plus the hotel is on the beach too.
This hotel caters for all - we saw every walk of life here and everyone seemed happy in relaxing or taking part in the poolside activities.
The only problem for us was the bar was a little overpriced but with "Happy Days"shop up the road selling cheap drink we didnt mind too much.
The hotel was very accomodating (staff are friendly) with putting all my friends in rooms next to each other in the hotel and being half board they allowed us to swap lunch for dinner so we had Breakfast & lunch paid for and went out on the town for dinner. This was nice of them and ideal for us as the food is delicious and the portions are huge. The hotel even let us eat lunch for free on our last day which was generous of them. Would again go back

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

went 24may for 2wks excellent hotel, staff brilliant nothing was too much trouble for them rooms spotless,pleanty of choice at mealtimes, staff at reception & bar excellent going back in august & cant wait Linda& Tony moore south wales

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
middlesbrough
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

just got back from 2weeks holiday at silver sands loved it.we went with friends.we were booked in at the iliada hotel next door on a half board basis.they had a special offer on.we were up graded to all inclusive for free if we moved to the silver sands.which we did.we then had the choice of useing both hotels.both hotels were great.food was very good we struggeld every lunchtime you order from menu very large portions we often shared a meal ANDREAS GEOGIOU is the restaurant manager he spoke to us everydayhe has lovely staff at silver sands he is very keen that everything is ok for you if not he would like to hear about it to put it riight.both hotels were great i would find it hard to choose when we return.thereis a lot of work going on in protaras.but we would love to see it when its finished.

Room Tip: we had side view room got to see pool beach and fg
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

We booked this hotel because of the reviews on Trip advisor and other sites.
First impression was disappointing because all the pictures we had seen on various web sites including Thomas Cook showed a grassy pool area tumbling down to the beach. This was one of the main reasons we chose this hotel because of having 2 small children in our party. Unfortunately, there was extensive work being carried out all along the beachfront of Protaras. The access to the beach was difficult and extremely hazardous. Admittedly, this was not the hotel's fault and all the beach front hotels were affected in the same way. There was also extensive work going on just past the hotel on the beach front and large dumper lorries, cement mixers and diggers were driving past our room at 6am. This also caused lots of noise and there was a smell of diesel fumes around the pool area most days. This is on going work and is nowhere near finished although I heard that the work was being suspended for the main season.
Many of the interior photos of the hotel were also out of date. The lounge and bar had been refurbished but was too modern and uninviting. There was never more than a few people in there and it had no atmosphere. The seating area outside was
better and had excellent views. Happy hour was from 8 til 12pm. Trouble was the drinks were so weak you couldn't taste any alcohol!
The rooms we had were tired and apparently had been refurbished in 1996. There had been an attempt to 'tart them up' a bit by putting in a shiny headboard and purple velour chairs. Not very practical if you have been at the beach or pool and are covered in sun cream. The storage was very poor. A very small wardrobe and two tiny drawers. Most of our clothes stayed in the suitcase. The bathroom was in need of refurbishment.
There was a large hole in the ceiling, chips on the bath and mirror and very poorly painted with old runs and drips on the door and floor. Even the (very cheap) pedal bin was broken. This must have been noticed as it was emptied every day.
Our party had three rooms and none of us had a full compiment of bath towels, hand towels and bath mat on most of the days. The room and bathroom was in need of a good clean as there was always water marks around the sink area and the floors were always gritty and were obviously not cleaned properly. There was also pillowcases missing from the pillows and the beds were not changed very often( if at all). The patio door in our room was very hard to open as the runners had gone. One of the main things about the room where children are concerned was the balcony. It was very small and had 2 chairs and a small table. A small child (which we had in our party) could easily climb on a chair and his next foothold would be the top of the balcony wall. There were rails but these were not safe enough. Also the lock on the room door was not child proof. You could lock it from the inside by turning a knob but this was cancelled as soon as you pulled the handle down. Easy for a 2 year old. The door had to be blocked by the buggy. The extra bed in that room was a campbed and was put right across the patio doors so that you could hardly get out on the balcony. Admittedly it was the only place to put it because of how the room was laid out. The rooms are not suitable for 3 beds.
The doors to the lifts were too quick to close and trapped our buggies in them numerous times.
The '4 poster' beds around the pool were hardly used and the space could have been put to better use. The sunbeds on the grassy area were fine and plentiful but I wish the hotel implemented their policy of no towels on the sunbeds before 8.30am.
While we were there the hotel installed more metal bases for parasols at the front of the grass. These were round and stuck out of the ground by about 2-3 inches. There was no safety guard around them and were very dangerous.
The kiosk prices were expensive as mentioned in other reviews. Beer was 3.80euros, frappe 4euros and a toastie was 8euros! In Cheers up the road 2 large beers and 2 toasties was 9.70euros. The music from the kiosk also drove you mad. The same 2 cds repeating all day. This was especially annoying when the Activity co-ordinator started playing very loud music to denote 'fun time' and you could hear both at the same time.
She even called us lazy for not joining in even though we had 2 young children in our party that needed constant looking after. This was exercise enough. Holidays are for relaxing and recharging your batteries not being badgered into doing 'fun activities' like quoits and water volleyball. Fine if you want to join in but you should be left in peace if you don't want to.
I know this all sounds very negative but I actually really enjoyed the holiday. On a positive note the beds were comfy, the shower was powerful enough and was always hot enough. There was a very good choice at breakfast although I agree that the fried sausages were often underdone. The hotel could be so much better with very little effort or cost.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same as far as I can tell
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Location
Great location in the centre just off the main strip, but its not directly on fig tree bay it’s a few minutes walk, but its on the beach and its still nice.

Rooms
Our room was a side sea view, but very basic with twin beds a couple of chairs and a table. You have to pay for the TV and the fridge but our fridge was not locked and we could use the TV without the remote. The bathrooms are old fashioned and could do with some modernising and a good clean. The beds were very comfortable. Rooms are too small for 3 people and the balcony is tiny unless you get a room at the very front.

Food
The food is average but gets boring same sort of things everyday, the drinks are really expensive at dinner time and charge more than the bar upstairs, we just took down bottled water to dinner each day.

Pool Area
The pool area was very good, and clean. The best sunbeds are around the pool we always managed to get a bed but the hotel wasn’t that busy. The entertainment is not very good and the music blasts out the same CD when its Aqua aerobics and volley ball etc.

We enjoyed the holiday, but the hotel rooms could do with some updating.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Silver Sands Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silver Sands Beach Hotel

Address: P.O.Box 37034, Protaras, Paralimni 5312, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 67 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Silver Sands Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Silver Sands is superbly located in the heart of Protaras center and primly set directly on one of the most beautiful crystal clear sandy beaches of Protaras. The hotel appeals to families and couples who seek a cozy, contemporary, stylish hotel, offering a relaxing retreat by the beach in a hospitable and welcoming atmosphere. The plunge pool with its private cabanas and the popular beach bar are the ideal spots for the ultimate relaxation. Enjoy from the lobby bar terrace the beautiful sunsets and magnificent views of the Mediterranean Sea, along with your favorite cocktail. The ideal choice for a truly memorable beach holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Silver Sands Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silver Sands Beach Protaras
Hotel Silver Sands Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Sands Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.