We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel but pity about some staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brilliant Hotel Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Brilliant Hotel Apartments to your Saves list
Brilliant Hotel Apartments
Cavo Greco Avenue | P.O.B. 3043, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Hotel but pity about some staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed in the middle of August.with two kids (7 and 4). We arrived in the early hours and was met by a rather curt English male receptionist. Having read all the other reviews about the friendliness of staff I was instantly disappointed. He may have been having an off-night! Unfortunately this attitude extended to a couple of other members of the waiting staff. That said, our room maid, the other staff and the Thomson reps were all excellent.

Okay, moan over.

When we got into our room we had a view of the main road at the back of the hotel. I asked for a change of room the following day and this was granted on the Wednesday (the main departure day), and we were told about the change of room by a friendly phone call to the room by our rep. The apartment was as everyone else has described - spotless, spacious and well-equipped. Beware those of you with little ones - the only English channel with a half decent picture was BBC World news and no kids channels to keep them occupied while we got ready in the evenings. Thank goodness for the Ipod.

Protaras is a fantastic resort. Having been to Cyprus on several occasions in the past this is by far the nicest and the beaches are stunning. Loads of restaurants and bars to choose from. Our 'local' became TeeJays, directly in front of you from Eden Square. Great staff and good pub grub. Above Teejays is Zucchinis - the best steak I have ever had with superb service.

For the kids, there is a bar / restaurant on the strip on the northern side of the resort towards McDonalds (near to the large fountain and 'Bottoms Up' liqour store) which has 4 bouncy castles and loads of amusements. The cost for the bouncy castles is 2 Euro and the kids can stay for as long as they like. Also, at the very northern end of the resort is an 18 hole mini-golf course, again with amusements for the kids.

A couple of excursions not to miss - the Black Pearl pirate ship in Ayia Nappa harbour which is fantastic (google it and see the reviews) and also the Waterworld water park in Ayia Nappa. They are both fairly costly but if you buy a copy of the Cyprus Weekly newspaper for 2 Euro, there are vouchers in there for 7 Euro and 5 Euro discounts for adults and kids respectively for the water park. This saved us 24 Euro at the gate meaning we only paid 80 Euro for a family of 4. The buses cost 2 Euro for a go-anywhere ticket which lasts all day and kids are free - use them as they are a great way to see the other towns

All in all, an excellent holiday and accommodation. Even better if all ther staff were friendly.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    146
    29
    6
    5
See reviews for
239
136
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We have just returned from the Brilliant having spent 2 glorious weeks there. The weather was superb and so was the accommodation. The locate of the Brilliant apartments is excellent. Just a short walk through Eden square takes you to the main strip and then the 2 beautiful beaches, Protaras and Fig Tree Bay. Although Fig Tree Bay is stunning, it does become very busy and we preferred to go to Protaras. However we did find a lovely restaurant at Fig Tree Bay - "Mamas", the food was a little pricey but well worth it.

We had a 1 bedroom apartment and it was spotlessly clean, spacious and modern. We could not find any fault with the apartment. The pool is superb and by far the best around. The pool entertainment was really good fun and although we prefer the beach, we did stay around the pool a few days as the children didn't want to miss water polo and volley ball. Yana does a great job. The food on the complex was really good too . We were pleasantly surprised how nice it was. Good value and generous portions. The evening entertainment was ok and not overpowering. The magic night on a Monday is hilarious - not only was the magician really funny, his tricks were excellent too.

Good places to eat were: Yianna Marie (located on Protaras beach front where the boats are harboured) they served Traditional Greek food and numerous other meals, really excellent. Georgias Steak house, we ate there a couple of times, and each time had excellent steaks. The Japanese restaurant in Eden Square - really entertaining, as you watch the chiefs prepare and cook your food in front of you. The food was really good too. Zucchinis - don't be put off by the view of the new hotel being built - the food was superb and the service was excellent. El Basilico, excellent Italian restaurant.

Overall we had a fantasic time and would not hesitate to return to the Brilliant.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool view and you can see the sea - other guests had views of Lidls shop which wasn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

The brilliant is clean with friendly staff and has an excellent standard within the rooms. It is a short walk from all bars and restaurants and has a handy Lidl for shopping over the road. The only down side is lack of sunbeds and parasols around the pool. We was having to go to the pool at 6.30am to get sunbeds and sit on the towels until after 8am. If you didn't make it down till 7am all sunbeds were taken up which meant a trip to the beach at a cost of 15 euros for a family of four per day. If you left your towels unattended before 8am they were removed and taken to reception. This situation needs monitoring and managing effectively either by the hotel or tour operator. There was also other people from outside the hotel coming in and using the pool area and sunbeds which didn't help the situation. On returning we feel we need a holiday for a holiday which should have been a relaxing time. We were pleased to return home for a lie in.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

just returned from the brilliant apartments on sunday and im missing it already!
we arrived on a sunday and it was a quick check in which was good as it was late and when we arrived in the room there was a starter pack with water, bread, a few tea bags, milk, biscuits which cost around 16 euros but i thought this was a good touch when you arrive late. The next day we went round the pool which was lovely, we stayed round the baby pool and this is one of the best baby pools ive seen, it was really big, and there was a little park for the children too. We stayed self catering but wished we went half board as the food in the hotel was the best we had in protaras, the omelettes are the best ive tasted and my partner had the rib eye steak and it was the best he had, everything we ate was nice. Try the BBQ night 11 euros and there is loads. the weather was really really hot, you couldnt walk in it for long but if you stay round the pool you should be ok. cannot fault this hotel and wish i was back there now!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Hotel was absoloutely amazing! I am sat in the hotel writing this review and believe me its great! The staff are really friendly and everybody talks good english. The only problem we had here was the sunbed situation, if you was to go down early in the morning you would have to stay there to pratically gaurd the sunbeds because the hotel staff come before 8 oclock and remove your towels if not, and they will be waiting in reception. Other than that the hotel is Brilliant!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We stayed in the Brilliant apartments for 2 weeks with our 2 children(12 and 16). We stayed on the 3rd floor overlooking the pool. The rooms have been renovated recently and are excellent. The apartments are equiped with a microwave, toaster and plenty of cutlery. There is a 32inch TV in the lounge area, which has 2 sofa beds in, with plenty of storage below.
The bedroom was large, again with plenty of storage space. The bathroom is not the largest, but the shower was excellent.
This is probably the nicest self catering apartments we have stayed in, the whole place is spotless and well finished.
The pool area is suberb, with a grass area to the rear that gets the sun till very late. There is entertainment in the pool ( volleyball and water polo) daily, for the adults and kids. There is music around the pool, which is kept very low, so no problems if you want to chill.
You have a Lidl supermarket just across the road, ideal for water etc.

The main strip is about a 5min walk, through Eden square. there is a good mix of 'Brit bars' and more relaxed tavernas. There is also a good mix of traditional restaurants, and international restaurants. The ones we enjoyed most were: Promises, Andama, Island Afair and the Kyklos Meze( very traditional). We went to the Japenese in Eden square, although pricey, we had a fantastic experience and food. (Teppanyaki )

We went to Fig Tree bay beach, which is beautiful. About a 10 - 15 min stroll, but be there for no later than 09.30 to ensure you get a bed. 4 beds and 2 sun umbrellas cost 15 Euro a day. A good choice of water sports on the beach, pedaloes, Kayaks and motor boat inflatables.

We would defineatly return to these apartments if we come back to Protarus, but we like to try different countries to holiday in.

Room Tip: Ask for pool view. Room 304.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kildare, ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011 via mobile

Myself and my Husband and 12 year old daughter stayed at the Brilliant Apartments for 2 weeks. The apartments are beautiful and the housekeeping staff were great. The location is great 5 mins from the main strip and 10 mins to the beach. The food was fine we were b & b and we had lunch a couple of times. The only issue was the sunbeds there were people getting up at 6am for beds so to get a bed you would have to be down by the latest 8 a bit frustrating when you are on holidays and to make matters worse some people who reserved beds early didn't even use them during the day. It is a wonderful hotel with great staff who really made you feel welcome.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brilliant Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brilliant Hotel Apartments

Address: Cavo Greco Avenue | P.O.B. 3043, Protaras, Paralimni 5310, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Protaras
#5 Romantic Hotel in Protaras
#5 Family Hotel in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Brilliant Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brilliant Hotel Protaras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brilliant Hotel Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.