We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, Good location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Resorts Elamaris

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Resorts Elamaris to your Saves list
Crown Resorts Elamaris
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   Cape Greco Avenue | P.O. Box 33247, Protaras, Paralimni 5312, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value, Good location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2014

I stayed at the Elamaris at Penara 2 weeks in Oct this year on bed and breakfast as a single person.
I was in Block 2 on the 3rd floor West side so I had the sun in the afternoon the lower floors are not so good; the East side was noisier over looking pool and entertainment area. The studio apartment was a bit rough around the edges and dated, but saying that everything worked. The floor could have done with good steam clean as white socks didn’t stay white very long. The slamming of doors by other guests on this floor was very annoying as they could be closed quietly.
The so called hot breakfasts were appalling the processed bacon and cocktail sausages was generally over cooked and some looked to be from the previous day and too hard to eat the fried eggs were rubbery and had a skin over the top these were cooked before 7 o clock and could be on the tray until 10 o clock, and all this on a cold plate, I only managed to stomach 3 breakfasts hear the rest I ate out elsewhere. There were cereals and a small choice of continental type food if you like this type of food. There are numerous places to eat around Penara area suiting all tastes.
I had very little to do with staff apart from checking in and out and once when the lift broke down and the stairs were in darkness I asked them to get the lights working.
The entertainment was generally aimed towards the Russian guests.
Transport was pretty good with a bus service right outside approx every 20 minutes costing 1.50 euro’s for a single journey and 5 euro’s for an all day ticket. A taxi rank also outside costing 7 to 8 euro’s into Protaras depending on time of day. The beach Blue Bay is about five minutes walk away.
As a base this is a pretty good location, I would use this apt hotel again but wouldn’t eat here.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    55
    54
    46
    51
See reviews for
86
82
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014

I was one of the very few English people who stayed here. It is mostly a Russian hotel. Ok, so it may not be a 5 star hotel (and i have very high standards) but i had an amazing stay here. The rooms are very large and very clean. Beds, tv, kettle, fridge ect. The reception staff are lovely and helpfull and friendly. The food is not 5 star but i thought it was excerlent. The chef and waiting staff were spotless. A full english and continental breakfast with fruit. Eve meal was lovely, pork, beef, chicken, fish, lasagnya, chips, pots, veg, salad, onion rings, rice. Like i said - its not 5 star (more like a blackpool b+b) but it was absolutely fine. Id give it 2 days to settle in and then its like home from home. If i had to make one critasisum it would be the pool area. Its not very nice but it doesnt matter.
This is what i did everyday; after breakfast i walked to the beach (5/10 min walk). all the 3/4/5 star hotels at the beach allow you to use their pools and stay all day. It was great. But i also enjoyed comming bk to the hotel at 6pm to get ready for my evening meal at 7pm. Its such a relaxing hotel and everyone is friendly and no-one bothers you. I loved people watching (the russians) and loved watching their ways of culture) they just leave uou alone and most are friendly. I would recomend half board -breakfast and eve meal. If you like blackpool - you will be just fine here. Im going back next year! (I stayed a day at one of the 5 star hotels at the beach but got fed up of keeping up with the joneses and it was a relief to get back to my comfy home from home crown hotel.) Honestly - you will be fine staying here! Outside the hotel are supermarkets, shops and taxi and bus stops. Evetything you need - oh and the sound on the sky tv broke. I rang reception and within 5 minutes George the maintanance man arrived. Sorted!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2014

I booked this holiday being told by co-op travel it was a four star ,we found a leaflet in reception for crown resort hotels in area & the hotel we were show photo's of was the horizon hotel 5 miles away which is 4* , while there I was informed when complaining to manager they was not a star rating on this dump . the apartment was tatty and very dated, ,it look like it had been nice ten or twenty years ago. when taking a shower in morning no hot water(thinking it must be solar power heating) so you will not get hot water until later . décor very dated and in need of redoing . menu not varied if you like chicken nuggets, fish fingers & chips every lunch you will love it just like school dinners in the 1970;s ! you had a choice take it or leave it most English left it ! . We were all inclusive but ate out a lot. we did look at the meals every evening it did not change much, and desert was red melon, ,jelly or caramel crème every evening. The morning menu remain the same daily. pool area broken tiles people cutting feet, steel umbrella poles broken off at shin high, pool bar shuts down if staff needed in dinning area ,no entertainment in the day/ evening no kids club, gym equipment broken unusable ,no air-con in two blocks it just blows the air around in the room ,I had no sleep for 4 nights then told it worked in the main block (reception block) if you was somewhere to sleep great but if you want something to do you will have to get bus or taxi 5 miles down road to main night life ,or I will say is avoid, avoid ,avoid ,avoid

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2014

I book this holiday thinking it was a four star, while there I was informed it was only three star I thought it more like two or less. the apartment was tatty and very dated, ,it look like it had been nice ten or twenty years ago. It was not cleaned properly I found hairs in bath next evening when taking a shower .Carpet in bedroom was dirty and creased. sheets on beds clean but faded. décor very dated and in need of redoing . menu not varied onions with nearly everything. We were all inclusive but ate out a lot. we did look at the meals every evening it did not change much, and desert was red melon, ,jelly or caramel crème every evening. The morning menu remain the same daily. pool area washed once a week, dinning room once a week.

Room Tip: Inot this one
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

Booked an all inclusive 7 night stay for my girlfriend and me at this hotel as part of a package through travelservicegroup and just got back yesterday. They advertised it as 4*...in short, i'd rate it as "no star" or "-*".

The rooms are big but very dated (60s/70s furniture, dirty walls, bad plastering) the bathroom is dirty (disgusting stained bathtub, broken toilet seat, toilet seems like it's coming off the wall, shower not working properly - it gets hot and cold all the time and there is barely any water coming out of the shower head). The air conditioning is bad - only works if you close all windows, have to be in the room because there is no electricity in the room when you're not there (they have this weird slot in the wall that you have to stick the key in for electricity to come on), our second night there it wasn't working at all and I woke up in the middle of the night drenched in sweat and had heat rash all over me the next day. You'll also have to pay extra if you want to use the safe in the room, need an iron/ironing board, want to use WIFI (don't think it's even available in all rooms)...
In general the hotel is very dated (i.e. pool area, restaurant, lift...is all sort of 70s style).

DO NOT GET THE ALL INCL!!!! Breakfast is bad (most of the time food is already cold). You don't get a full English as some people said on here and there is also no Cypriot food there. Your options are: fried baloney, fried eggs, beans, fried mini sausages, cooked mini sausages (both are disgusting), cold boiled eggs, regular baloney, cheese, salad (tomatoes, cucumber), some oranges and grape fruit and cereal (THIS DOESN'T SOUND TOO BAD, BUT YOU CAN GET A NICE FULL ENGLISH FOR €2.50-€3.50 PRETTY MUCH ANYWHERE IN PROTARAS). Juices are also disgusting (some sort of dilute).
Lunch and Dinner is also pretty bad...you get similar things every day and it's generally bad quality food (AGAIN, RESTAURANTS IN PROTARAS ARE VERY CHEAP AND YOU'LL GET A MASSIVE MEZE FOR €15 pp)

The hotel is relatively close to a beach, but the nice beaches are on Protaras Strip (it's approx. 15 minutes walk). Entertainment in the hotel it worse than any other hotel in Protaras (but again Protaras strip is busy all night, every day of the week, with loads of bars).

The overall service in the hotel is OK. Some of the bar staff were a bit rude...ignoring anybody who is not Russian, but that improved when we complained to the supervisor). Staff don't really interact with you in the hotel, but i guess that's OK (if you're not expecting 4* service).

ALL IN ALL, ONLY BOOK THIS HOTEL IF OTHER "!!!NO STAR!!!" HOTELS ARE MORE EXPENSIVE

Protaras is very nice though!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

I am a British Greek Cypriot and have been here a couple of times. After reading mixed reviews I decided to Book again and take a chance. First impressions on arrival were good from the outside. The Hotel is very dated thou and could do with a total revamp. The main Language is Russian as is practically all the staff. You will find that you are really on your own. We went half board but ended up eating out most nights, as the evening meals were quite honestly very and didn't cater for the young. The all inclusive is a better option but still the evening meals are not child friendly. There is no Security or pool attendants. The rooms are basic, spacious, but functional. There are Loose tiles on Swimming area (Very Dangerous), The Entertainment is poor and un-organised. I have many complaints which i will take up with Crown Resorts rather than the Hotel as they really didn't care. This is no way a 4 star hotel and just about qualifies as a 3 star. If you want cheap and cheerful with no frills then this is ok but you will feel like part of nothing in an area that is clearly on the down. Pay a lil extra and try somewhere else. Cyprus is Beautiful and I feel bad that there are establishments like this on the Island.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We booked a (very expensive) all inclusive family holiday here in July 2014.
The hotel was filthy, dangerous in places,disgusting food (we ate out every day) and surely, unhelpfu Russian staff who (often with a fag in their mouths) would serve often serve fellow Russian guests with no regards to queuing or turn taking.
We've never complained or felt the urge to write a review before but vowed to let anyone who was willing to listen to take heed and avoid this hotel like the plague.
Please see the pictures, they speak for themselves!!!

Room Tip: Don't use this hotel, best advice I can offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Resorts Elamaris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Resorts Elamaris

Address: Cape Greco Avenue | P.O. Box 33247, Protaras, Paralimni 5312, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Paralimni > Protaras
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 66 Hotels in Protaras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Crown Resorts Elamaris 3*
Number of rooms: 174
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crown Resorts Elamaris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Resorts Elamaris Hotel Protaras
Crown Resort Elamaris
Crown Hotel Protaras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Resorts Elamaris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.