We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not just the worst restaurant in cyprus probably the worst in the world” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The China House - CLOSED

The China House
69 Protaras Avenue, Protaras, Paralimni, Cyprus
03-832257
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“not just the worst restaurant in cyprus probably the worst in the world”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Worst and most overpriced restaurant i have ever been to! it really was an experience. we should have left as soon as we tasted the wine - more like vinegar/drain cleaner. Our starter never arrived, the mains were cold, burned, and unidentifiable, even my dog wouldn't have eaten it. We are just waiting to see if we all survive the night...

  • Visited August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    0
    5
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Needs to be shut down!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

This has to be the worst Chinese restaurant I have ever been to in the world! We were greeted by some scruffy old man who just pointed to a table and told to sit. The place looked awful inside - plus there isn't air con, so we were boiling! We should of left there and then, but we were hungry and ordered food. I so wished now we didn't - the food came within minutes and looked and tasted awful. Everything we had - had no taste, it was disgusting! The curry sauce we had was like dirty dishwater with bits in it!! I feel sick thinking about it. This place needs to be shut down! One of the waitresses came over and asked if everything was ok - we said no not really the food is awful, she just smiled and walked away. We didn't even finish our food, we paid and left. Please do not waste your money going here like we did! The food is un edable - you don't know what your eating! It could be anything- DO NOT GO HERE!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Southern Finland, Finland
1 review
“Big mistake”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Do not enter........,very few others in the restaurant, rice microwaved, owner dressed like a 70's disco dancer, no 'chinese beer' and the waitress coughing and spluttering while taking our order.... We were expecting a man to jump out and say 'smile your on candid camera'....... It was really bad !!!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Spin the table”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Well to start we sat in the dark as the power went the staff was very unhappy the manager or owner was only intrested in looking for tips and money then he would pounce food was tasteless cold the only excitement was playing with the spinning table trying to get rid of the minging wine stay away

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Worst Chinese EVER”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This isnt just the worst the chinese in cyprus this is the worst chinese in the world. The food was cold and disgusting. The food came out before our drinks which shows how fresh it was and during the meal the electricity cut out and we did not even receive an apology.The singapore chowmein was exactly the same as the vegetable chow mein and pretty much every other noodle dish. The wine was awful and the meal wasnt exactly cheap. The owner made the group feel uncomfortable as he followed the waitresses round to see if they had tips. Every single customer leaving the restaurant had a face of clear disappointed. The only good thing was the revolving table!! I would stay away.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The China House also viewed

 
Protaras, Paralimni
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The China House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.