We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Strand Hotel Fevik

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Strand Hotel Fevik to your Saves list
Strand Hotel Fevik
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Nedre hausland 80 | 10 Km From Arendal, Grimstad 4870, Norway   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
CONTACT US FOR BEST RATE
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grimstad
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We had a fantastic stay which included lovely pre-summer weather. The kids where sun bathing and also playing by the beach during the evening while the adults enjoyed the dinner with control over the children. The food has a high standard and the location is unique. Great breakfast and cosy villages in the 20-40 minutes drive away, including Kristiansand Dyrepark.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    22
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
18
2
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Old charming hotel, with great service. Nice reception and nice receptionists. The rooms in the modern part of the hotel are fantatic and delicious. They are very well equiped and the beds are fantastic. Nice view to the sea and fantastic suroundings to this hotel. Food/Beakfast are excelent. Love the New-england style. Over all a clean and delicious hotel. Looking forward to come back in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We knew, of course, after having celebrated our wedding at the hotel in 2009, that the family celebration we planned would be a success as well, when we once again booked Fevik Strand Hotel. I´m delighted to say that we were right. We were a party of 15 adults and 2 small children and celebrated with dinner in a separate room for our party only. Our guests were particularly satisfied with the food (our compliments to the Chef)
My husband and I together with our baby boy, stayed in a lovely apartment facing the sea.
Thanks for making this weekend a great one for me and my family.

Room Tip: The apartments in the new part of the hotel, facing the sea, are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

we stayed at this hotel the last week of July. It is an historic property that has had a nice upgrade for the public areas and spaces and has retained a lot of its original charm. The public areas are very nice and we really enjoyed the public beach that the property overlooks. It is used by the local population but to me that only adds to its charm. Wwe did not eat dinner in the restaurant but the breakfast buffet was a cut above the standard breakfast buffet fair in Norway and lunch on the patio was delicious.we also enjoyed the lawn and our room was quite large by Norwegian standards. excellent and helpful staff

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Spent one night at this hotel by chance, with my six-year old son. Had never heard of the place before and was really impressed upon arrival.
The location is secluded and beautiful, with a nice beach right outside. We did not swim, but many adults and children look to have a great time in the water!
The service was good, both on arrival and departure.
Our room was nice and spacious with a tiled bathroom. A great view from a good-sized window.

Personally, I would actually prefer a hotel in a "busier" location. Although beautiful, the hotel is a bit secluded and tranquil for my taste. With an active 6-year old, I shiver to think of what to do with him inside on a rainy day.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new wing and the room was very nice and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

If you are looking for a relaxing boutique hotel in southern norway, Strand Hotel Fevik is the one for you. Roald Dahl spent summers here, inspired by the view to write many of his greatest works.
I travel all over the world for business and this hotel rates in my top three. Comfortable luxury rooms, great view, amazing food and the staff bent over backwards to make sure my stay was perfect. Strand Hotel Fevik is a 10 on all fronts!

Room Tip: ask for seaside view in the newer section, preferably with terrace. if you are a family, request a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This hotel is and old renovated one. The rooms have a kitchen and one bedroom - with tv and sofa in the "living" room. It was new and fresh - and for all CLEAN.

The food was amazing and well put together for a group.

Wolud recomend this for friedns

Room Tip: Get a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Strand Hotel Fevik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strand Hotel Fevik

Address: Nedre hausland 80 | 10 Km From Arendal, Grimstad 4870, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Southern Norway > Aust-Agder > Grimstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Grimstad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Strand Hotel Fevik 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strand Hotel Fevik is more than a hotel. Since 1937 the place has appeared as an exotic refuge in the Norwegian skerries, inviting to both recreation and adventure. The hotel has a rich history and is one of the few remaining functionalist style buildings in Norway. With the sea and soft sand dunes waiting just outside your door, this is probably the closest you can get to a Mediterranean holiday in Norway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Strand Hotel Fevik reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strand Hotel Fevik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.