We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Derrin Guest House B&B

Save Saved
You added Derrin Guest House B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Derrin Guest House B&B
2 Princess Gardens, Larne BT40 1RQ, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Larne B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

'Ivy welcomed us after our long drive, settled us in to our spacious and very clean room and booked a table at the nearby Caffe Spice. A lovely continental breakfast awaited us before we boarded our early ferry. The kids loved the super fast wifi and the guest lounge!'

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    25
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
41
47
11
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed here like many others en route to Ireland/Northern Ireland arriving or departing by ferry. Helpful service, good breakfast and happy to accept our dog. Rooms compact but well appointed with en suites .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bikeville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at Derrin for our tour of Nothern Ireland. It was a great base to have and Ivy was a huge source of local knowledge. Breakfast was well presented with a good choice if your vegetarian and the rooms had everything you would require. We would certainly recomend a visit.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Stayed here preparing for a wedding in Ballymena. Comfy rooms although the one we booked last minute was a little small. Still, very good value for money. Proprietors very welcoming and did a great breakfast. Even let us check out late due to needing to get ready for a wedding. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are possibly a little small if you like your space but one benefit is that you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OptimisticLarne, Owner at Derrin Guest House B&B, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We hope to see you again in the future, Unfortunately, we do have limited parking at the back of the house. However, there is generally adequate parking on the street which is free and very safe. We usually manage to provide off street parking for those who require it especially if they put in a request at the time of booking. Best wishes. Ivy & Siebe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Nice spacy rooms, clean and comfortable and tastefully designed. Lovely breakfast, lots of choice, including a full Irish breakfast. Free wifi in all rooms.
The owners, Ivy and Siebe, made us feel very welcome from the moment we arrived. We would have stayed longer if we could have.
There's a lot to see and do in and around Larne. Larne is on the Causeway coastal route. Lots of sandy beaches nearby. Island Magee. And check out the magical view from Cairndhu Golfcourse if you get the chance.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We found this B and B excellent. The room was spotless, the beds comfortable and the shower room a good size. Breakfast was first class with a good choice to suit all tastes. Our only regret was that we could only stay one night as we had to catch the ferry. We will certainly stay again if back in Ireland.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My family and I recently stayed at the Derrin guest house for the second time. We received a very warm welcome despite a late arrival and the rooms were clean and fresh. It is very convenient for the Glens of Antrim and the famous Antrim Coast Road. Breakfast was excellent with choice and variety including pancakes with fresh fruit and bacon as well as the traditional Irish breakfast and a range of cereals and fruit. Thank-you for a very pleasant stay,

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Derrin Guest House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derrin Guest House B&B

Address: 2 Princess Gardens, Larne BT40 1RQ, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Larne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Larne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Derrin House is a beautifully appointed, award winning Bed and Breakfast (B & B) offering four star accommodation in a quiet residential area close to the bustling town centre of Larne and the ferry terminal. WiFi and internet access available. "One of our favorite places to stay in Northern Ireland" by the Routard Guide.We are also very close to trains and busses to Belfast. We can arrange pick up from our house for tours to the Giant's Causeway! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Derrin Guest House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derrin Guest House B&B Larne, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derrin Guest House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.