We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coast Road

Coast Road
Coast Road, Larne, Northern Ireland
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Larne
Attraction details
Larne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
479 reviews 479 reviews
212 attraction reviews
Reviews in 185 cities Reviews in 185 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Spectacular - and free!!
The road is wonderful, and much better than many more famous roads elsewhere. Terrific scenery and many interesting stops along the way.

I am lucky as I live along the road, but am guilty, like most locals, of not appreciating it more.

I cannot recommend it highly enough to a visitor. If you have time and are travelling from Belfast to the Giant's Causeway go all the way through Carrickfergus and Larne to Ballycastle and you will not be disappointed. Much better than the quicker inland route, which is very tedious.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    8
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Scenic coastal rout”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

You will love the drive up this coastal rout with lots of beautiful places to stop to many to single out

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fabulous drive & sites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We began our trip with a drive along the Coast of N. Ireland. Our first stop was the Carrick-a-rede Rope Bridge. I didn't think I could walk across that swinging bridge, but I did! Then we went to the Giants Causeway, took a tour of the Bushmills Distillery, and went to the Dunluce Castle before driving on to Derry. A very interesting and enjoyable day.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A bikers dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

An awesome road for any biker to follow, Spectacular scenery and if your luck holds, like ours did, we followed a pod of dolphins for 30 miles round the coast, Breathtaking.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehead, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
“I'd like to stop more!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

North of Larne you immediately find the amazing Cioast Road. The one thing I would like would be more places to stop and admire the view. Out to sea are lighthouses, and Scotland is there if the weather is right. To your left as the road swings about are cliffs of every colour. Now and again there is a small village where you can park and appreciate the view. Do watch out for teh famous arch. It was built long ago into the cliff and cars have to slow down and wait to go through, like it is one lane. It would be very nice in a photograph, but I saw nowhere to stop safely.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coast Road also viewed

Larne, County Antrim
Bushmills, County Antrim
 
Portrush, County Antrim
 

Been to Coast Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coast Road, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.