We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Harbour Inn B&B and Grill

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Harbour Inn B&B and Grill to your Saves list
The Harbour Inn B&B and Grill
25 Olderfleet Road, Larne BT40 1AS, Northern Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Larne B&B and Inns
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband and I were in Ireland & Scotland for our 25th, had a wonderful over night stay here and the best Irish breakfast! Our room was perfect, Liz was so welcolming and informative, we needed to make the ferry to Troon and she was a great help, Larne is a cozy little town, and the Harbor Inn is a great B&B!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
22
5
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Missouri
Top Contributor
290 reviews 290 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 185 cities Reviews in 185 cities
520 helpful votes 520 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Harbour House Inn is a great place to spend the night before you catch the ferry to Cairnryan, Scotland. The Inn is just two minutes from the P & O Ferries. Liz, our hostess, helped us carry our bags up the stairs, explained everything to us, and even connected me to the Wifi while my husband was unloading the car. We were desperate for news from home because our previous B&B didn’t provide internet service as advertised. Our room had a nice sized bathroom and shower. Coffee and tea were available in the room as well as a flat screen TV. There was a double and a single bed which was nice because we are used to a king-size bed at home and this gave us more room. Everything was sparkling clean and inviting. There is a restaurant downstairs that serves food from 6 a.m. till 8 p.m. and you can grab a cold soda out of the machine. Liz made breakfast for us at 6 a.m. so we could catch the 7:30 ferry and be there 45 minutes earlier to check in and go through security. Breakfast offered a variety of cereals, breads and jams, and we were also able to choose hot breakfast items from a menu. Everything was delicious and included in the price of the room. I was so exhausted when we checked in, I failed to take any photos of the Harbour House Inn. But take my word for it, it's a great place to stay.

Liz gave us a big hug and came outside to see us off. She is a lovely person and a terrific hostess. I highly recommend the Harbour House Inn if you are planning to catch a ferry from Larne in Northern Ireland to Scotland.

Room Tip: Tell Liz what you need and she will do her best to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
299 reviews 299 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
242 helpful votes 242 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I was able to book the Harbour Inn on short notice on a recent trip from Scotland to Ireland and back. The hotel is located right at the harbour, so one literally pulls out of the parking lot of the hotel and into the entrance of the Ferry.
The place must do great business as it was fully booked on the night when we stayed there.
We were warmly greeted and shown to our room which was up several flights of stairs. There was a sitting room for guest use on the second level.
The room suited our needs perfectly. It was quite cozy and comfortable. No view, but we were only there overnight.
The shower door did not close, and the shower was an electric shower. It got hot enough, but as most of these type of showers, did not offer much water pressure, but it was comfortable enough.
Breakfast offerings were cold cereal as well as a full english cooked breakfast. No porridge. No fruit.
The price was certainly quite reasonable.
We had arrived around 7:00 p.m. and I had hoped to dine on site, but the owner informed us that she had closed the kitchen for the night. She directed us to the local hotel that had a restaurant on the premises. There were also some fast food chains around if you don't mind that kind of meal.
Parking was right outside the hotel and there was no extra charge.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This was second time staying here. Liz is a wonderful host. The rooms are very nice and clean. If you can, get there in time to eat at the grille. Liz makes a delicious grilled chicken breast with a pepper sauce. Great place at a great price!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Our week-long tour of N. Ireland ended in Larne. We chose this B&B because of its close proximity to the Ferry Terminal. We were warmly welcomed by Liz, who then showed us our room, which was very clean and comfortable. Parking was convenient--right in front of the Inn. At Liz's recommendation we drove to Carrickfergus and went through the castle, which was very interesting. The next morning we enjoyed Liz's famous breakfast--and we agree--it was delicious and a great start to our day! Liz is very energetic, hospitable, and always smiling. We enjoyed our stay and will return if our travels ever take us back to Larne.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stopped by here many times and reccommended to many. Liz, Mandy and the gang are freindly and we feel we know them on a personal basis. The ''Choke a donkey'' sized breakfast, is the the best I've come accross ever and would set you up for the rest of the day if you can manage to eat it all. with a friendly atmosphere, handy parking and less than 100 yards to the Larne Cainryan ferry crossing, I will continue to reccomend. FIRST CLASS.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

If you want to see Belfast and the Giant Causeway and then head to Scotland--this is the best place to stay. It is a one block walk from the train station and the ferry terminal. We took the train the Belfast and then drove the next day to the giant causeway. The ferry ride to Troon, Scotland is just 2 hours. Liz is a wonderful owner (thanks for the extra tea)!!! You will not find a better B&B in Ireland...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Harbour Inn B&B and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbour Inn B&B and Grill

Address: 25 Olderfleet Road, Larne BT40 1AS, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Antrim > Larne
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Larne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run B&B Grill in Larne Co. Antrim at the start of the coast road 1 min walk from ferry port to Scotland Good home cooking in our Grill. All rooms En Suite free wifi, freesat, TV’s in all rooms early breakfasts available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Harbour Inn B&B and Grill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Harbour Inn B&B And Grill Larne, Northern Ireland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Harbour Inn B&B and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.